We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Hi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa

Save Saved
You added Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Dewi Sartika | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 337 hotels in Kuta
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bali Hi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having just returned from 12 majical days in Bali, I can honestly say I have found my 2nd home Bali Hiiii!
As first timers to Bali it was all a case of getting our bearings & after a short jaunt from the airport in the comfort of a/c vehicle made simple by our private driver Gnurah, we soon found ourselves in Kuta & approaching the reception desk of the Melasti beach Bungalows. First impressions to the not so open minded could have this traditional indonesian boutique accomadation being judge as simple. Its not until you approach the desk & the flurry of beaming smiles are you first ingredient to a perfect holiday. The undivided, friendly assistance complimented by the welcoming feeling of a home away from home make this a great couples, family or travel alone hotel. The melasti Beach Bungalows in Kuta has a range of accomadation to suit all needs & budgets it's location is perfect for strolls along the beach, shopping, dinning out or the most basic requirements. The rooms are well equiped A/C & maintained with cleanliness being of high priority with all you need for your down time. The lush surrounds with balinese feel along with natures very best on show are a delight & choice of 2 swimming pools makes relaxing effortless. Melasti's on site spa, restaurant & bar means feeding the mind body & soul are easy, very enjoyable while still remaining inexpensive . I personally now regard the Melasti as my 2nd home & magement & staff as my Melasti family. The Melasti was recommended to us by Family & friends who have frequented Bali & it's many locations resorts & hotels which all in themselves offer something to personal choice but for us the Melasti looked after us & provided us with every comfort & first time visitors needs a BIG TICK for this little hotel & its staff I returned home feeling totally rejuvinated.

Room Tip: We asked for a superior room & large bed, we where accomidated with a 2nd floor bungalow room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    42
    40
    22
    9
See reviews for
23
25
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Deepwater, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed there for 25 nights in October ,my second time.I had a big room, which was comfortable. Good size Bathroom. The real attraction is the location to all the Restaurants and shops. No beach access , but only 5 minute walk. Breakfast is very basic, compared to other places I have stayed at. I paid $80 per night for b+b, which I thought was a bit much considering the high Australian Dollar. The grounds are lovely, and you do get the seabreeze. The Lobby renovations look cheap I think- too much glitter for Bali, and the privacy is not there any more when you take out the safety deposit boxes.Getting back to Breakfast,nearly forgot to mention, the Butter is Rancid, we ended up buying our own Margarine and brought it to Breakky daily. No matter how many times we told Staff it should be kept on Ice----It only worked for a day or 2. The Lobby staff were pretty casual , our cleaning staff were friendly, although Pool towels were always scarce.

Room Tip: Any Delux room is good, they are at the back ,off the road, and a good size if you are staying longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights. At first was very disapointed as room was old and dingy and not all that clean. Room I booked was for a renovated room.Staff were very accomodating and showed us to another room which was worse. Eventually settled on a room. Overnight the air conditioner broke down and next day it was unable to be fixed.
Despite my constant request to speak to manager we were told "is no manager".
Staff eventually showed us a renovated room and what a surprise it was very nice.
So again we moved and very happy with this room. The sheets and towels required attention as although clean they did not look it. We visit Bali often and the water can not be blamed for this. Not sure what the problem was.
Breakfast is something we look forward to when travelling but unfortunately this hotel mainly caters to asian style breakfast. The sachets of butter were also not placed in ice so toast was out as well. It was rancid.
Did speak to the restaurant manager and he ensured for the remainder of our stay that it was iced and was so helpful. They offered us cheese slices and bacon each morning which was lovely. ( Even though we didn't always want it). Can't speak highly enough of the restaurant manager. He tried really hard as did all the lovely restaurant staff.
Reception staff were mostly good but the one or two who only wanted to help when someone in charge was around did make it a bit difficult at times. The stand out was one of the security guards, nothing was too much trouble and he went out of his way to be helpful.
We eventually got to speak with the director/manager who explained about the renovations and various things that had gone wrong and was most apologetic.
The pool bar was non existent and not many people used the pool. Although small it was nice.
We did notice that things around the hotel were changing for the better as the manager was there each day and it did make a difference. Hotel is in a great location 5 min walk from the main shopping mall and water bom and restaurants everywhere.. Easy to get around on foot, bike or car.
I had decided I wasn't going to stay here again but after chatting with manager I can't wait to go back and see all the changes as I do believe it will be sensational.
Was going to use the massage centre but the tax surcharge hidden on a sign by overgrown garden put me off.

Room Tip: Rooms near street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just had 13 nights staying at the Melasti....yes undergoing renovations, but disregard that, soon to be completed.....the staff went out of their way to make my stay relaxing and pleasurable....The massage centre WOW... Beny, Ibel, Gita and Suri, plus all the other staff very professional in the work and attitude. From morning breakfast to the evening dinner a smile greeted you everytime. I have no hesitation in recommended this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for seven nights and there were 9 of us and we loved it, service was amazing and the spa excellent, location was great , they have restaurants every where and markets around the corner and a mall also. They even had a little convenience store at entrance of property to get drinks and toiletries . And across the rad and down the ally a laundry service that was wonderful she even did a big bag of laundry the day we left so we had no washing to do. The staff were so helpful and rooms serviced to perfection every day, just loves it, we got room service at all hours and it was always good. Wonderful for a family as everything you need is a stones throw away even waterbom park is less than 5 min walk. Loved it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

i stayed one night - extremely disappointed particularly given the price - the room (supposedly superior) was dark, dingy, old, had to ask for towells, old tv, air condtioning really struggled to cool down. although a great location extremely over rated. not sure why they do not open the entrance to the beach, a long way to walk to the beach, when from my balcony you could access in a couple of minutes. will definately never stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and myself had originally planned to stay in a neighbours house whilst in Bali, however due to unforeseen circumstances we had to find a last minute hotel for 12 days. We wondered up and down the street for a good hour until we found somewhere that had a vacancy!

As a family of 5 we required two rooms, which they provided, right next to one another. The location wasn't great (next to the pool pump, which generated a fair bit of noise) however, we were a stone throw away from the pool. The rooms were clean and tidy, no complaints there. The A/C worked perfectly. Realistically, we would only be in the room at night to sleep.

Breakfast was average, there was a variety, enough to keep you full until lunch time.

The location of the hotel is great, 3 minute walk from the famous Waterbom Park and less than 5 minutes away from local markets and department stores.

I am going to Bali again in November and have decided to stay here again.

Great for families on budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa

Also Known As:
Melasti Beach Bungalows Hotel
Melasti Beach Bungalows Hotel Kuta
Melasti Beach Bungalows And Spa
Melasti Beach Hotel
Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa Bali/Kuta
Address: Jl. Dewi Sartika | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 337 hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Otel, HotelsClick and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.