We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch this space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa to your Saves list
Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Dewi Sartika | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 177 Hotels in Kuta
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“watch this space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights. At first was very disapointed as room was old and dingy and not all that clean. Room I booked was for a renovated room.Staff were very accomodating and showed us to another room which was worse. Eventually settled on a room. Overnight the air conditioner broke down and next day it was unable to be fixed.
Despite my constant request to speak to manager we were told "is no manager".
Staff eventually showed us a renovated room and what a surprise it was very nice.
So again we moved and very happy with this room. The sheets and towels required attention as although clean they did not look it. We visit Bali often and the water can not be blamed for this. Not sure what the problem was.
Breakfast is something we look forward to when travelling but unfortunately this hotel mainly caters to asian style breakfast. The sachets of butter were also not placed in ice so toast was out as well. It was rancid.
Did speak to the restaurant manager and he ensured for the remainder of our stay that it was iced and was so helpful. They offered us cheese slices and bacon each morning which was lovely. ( Even though we didn't always want it). Can't speak highly enough of the restaurant manager. He tried really hard as did all the lovely restaurant staff.
Reception staff were mostly good but the one or two who only wanted to help when someone in charge was around did make it a bit difficult at times. The stand out was one of the security guards, nothing was too much trouble and he went out of his way to be helpful.
We eventually got to speak with the director/manager who explained about the renovations and various things that had gone wrong and was most apologetic.
The pool bar was non existent and not many people used the pool. Although small it was nice.
We did notice that things around the hotel were changing for the better as the manager was there each day and it did make a difference. Hotel is in a great location 5 min walk from the main shopping mall and water bom and restaurants everywhere.. Easy to get around on foot, bike or car.
I had decided I wasn't going to stay here again but after chatting with manager I can't wait to go back and see all the changes as I do believe it will be sensational.
Was going to use the massage centre but the tax surcharge hidden on a sign by overgrown garden put me off.

Room Tip: Rooms near street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    43
    25
    13
See reviews for
25
32
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just had 13 nights staying at the Melasti....yes undergoing renovations, but disregard that, soon to be completed.....the staff went out of their way to make my stay relaxing and pleasurable....The massage centre WOW... Beny, Ibel, Gita and Suri, plus all the other staff very professional in the work and attitude. From morning breakfast to the evening dinner a smile greeted you everytime. I have no hesitation in recommended this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for seven nights and there were 9 of us and we loved it, service was amazing and the spa excellent, location was great , they have restaurants every where and markets around the corner and a mall also. They even had a little convenience store at entrance of property to get drinks and toiletries . And across the rad and down the ally a laundry service that was wonderful she even did a big bag of laundry the day we left so we had no washing to do. The staff were so helpful and rooms serviced to perfection every day, just loves it, we got room service at all hours and it was always good. Wonderful for a family as everything you need is a stones throw away even waterbom park is less than 5 min walk. Loved it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

i stayed one night - extremely disappointed particularly given the price - the room (supposedly superior) was dark, dingy, old, had to ask for towells, old tv, air condtioning really struggled to cool down. although a great location extremely over rated. not sure why they do not open the entrance to the beach, a long way to walk to the beach, when from my balcony you could access in a couple of minutes. will definately never stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and myself had originally planned to stay in a neighbours house whilst in Bali, however due to unforeseen circumstances we had to find a last minute hotel for 12 days. We wondered up and down the street for a good hour until we found somewhere that had a vacancy!

As a family of 5 we required two rooms, which they provided, right next to one another. The location wasn't great (next to the pool pump, which generated a fair bit of noise) however, we were a stone throw away from the pool. The rooms were clean and tidy, no complaints there. The A/C worked perfectly. Realistically, we would only be in the room at night to sleep.

Breakfast was average, there was a variety, enough to keep you full until lunch time.

The location of the hotel is great, 3 minute walk from the famous Waterbom Park and less than 5 minutes away from local markets and department stores.

I am going to Bali again in November and have decided to stay here again.

Great for families on budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from 8 nights at Melasti Bungalows - 2 mums and 4 kids aged 8-13. We stayed in deluxe rooms which were clean and roomy. However the views were "limited" to say the least. The rooms across the corridor from us faced straight into the art market next door so were very dark - TVs were old tube type with bad reception. The best thing about the Melasti Bungalows the staff - friendly and helpful to the max. On the whole the hotel is dark, dated and dingy, The restaurant is awful - dirty and, yes, dark. Breakfast IS limited, When I saw the reviews about the bad brekky, I thought "how can you complain when at home you probably just have toast and cereal anyway?". Well, even toast and cereal at the Melasti is awful!! Chewy cornflakes and toast that has the consistency of clay! The egg station was good, tho. The 'restaurant' was Smokers Central - yuk - no separate areas for non smokers. The hotel is like 3 different buildings cobbled together - the traditional Balinese bungalows and 2 ugly concrete things. The small pool in the garden is nice, however the sunbeds and the pergola there are really old and indesperate need of an update (and a good clean). The toilets in the pool area stink. The large pool is bizarrely built under one of the concrete buildings and is also in need of a serious update. The lobby is being renovated - white and full of mirrors (a bit like being trapped in a disco ball!!) - All in all, I would not recommend this hotel. As I said, the staff were wonderful, but that's about it. Disappointed kids, disappointed mums .....

Room Tip: Avoid "deluxe" rooms on the second floor that look out onto the art market
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just stayed at the Melasti Beach Bungalow and Spa for a week and certainly will be back.
Walked past many times but didn't know just how big it was.
Had a choice of rooms which was a change from a take it or leave it that you get from most hotels.

Rooms are huge bigger than normal.

Pool good. The only down side was the breakfast not great.
Good spa with great prices, best facial I've had in ages for $9 and they use great products.

Really great position close to many great eatery's.

Price pretty good too.

Room Tip: Great position close most places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa

Address: Jl. Dewi Sartika | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#60 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melasti Beach Bungalows Hotel Kuta
Melasti Beach Bungalows And Spa
Melasti Beach Hotel
Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melasti Beach Bungalows & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.