We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa to your Saves list
Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Dewi Sartika | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 198 Hotels in Kuta
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just had 13 nights staying at the Melasti....yes undergoing renovations, but disregard that, soon to be completed.....the staff went out of their way to make my stay relaxing and pleasurable....The massage centre WOW... Beny, Ibel, Gita and Suri, plus all the other staff very professional in the work and attitude. From morning breakfast to the evening dinner a smile greeted you everytime. I have no hesitation in recommended this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    48
    30
    19
See reviews for
29
39
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for seven nights and there were 9 of us and we loved it, service was amazing and the spa excellent, location was great , they have restaurants every where and markets around the corner and a mall also. They even had a little convenience store at entrance of property to get drinks and toiletries . And across the rad and down the ally a laundry service that was wonderful she even did a big bag of laundry the day we left so we had no washing to do. The staff were so helpful and rooms serviced to perfection every day, just loves it, we got room service at all hours and it was always good. Wonderful for a family as everything you need is a stones throw away even waterbom park is less than 5 min walk. Loved it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

i stayed one night - extremely disappointed particularly given the price - the room (supposedly superior) was dark, dingy, old, had to ask for towells, old tv, air condtioning really struggled to cool down. although a great location extremely over rated. not sure why they do not open the entrance to the beach, a long way to walk to the beach, when from my balcony you could access in a couple of minutes. will definately never stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and myself had originally planned to stay in a neighbours house whilst in Bali, however due to unforeseen circumstances we had to find a last minute hotel for 12 days. We wondered up and down the street for a good hour until we found somewhere that had a vacancy!

As a family of 5 we required two rooms, which they provided, right next to one another. The location wasn't great (next to the pool pump, which generated a fair bit of noise) however, we were a stone throw away from the pool. The rooms were clean and tidy, no complaints there. The A/C worked perfectly. Realistically, we would only be in the room at night to sleep.

Breakfast was average, there was a variety, enough to keep you full until lunch time.

The location of the hotel is great, 3 minute walk from the famous Waterbom Park and less than 5 minutes away from local markets and department stores.

I am going to Bali again in November and have decided to stay here again.

Great for families on budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from 8 nights at Melasti Bungalows - 2 mums and 4 kids aged 8-13. We stayed in deluxe rooms which were clean and roomy. However the views were "limited" to say the least. The rooms across the corridor from us faced straight into the art market next door so were very dark - TVs were old tube type with bad reception. The best thing about the Melasti Bungalows the staff - friendly and helpful to the max. On the whole the hotel is dark, dated and dingy, The restaurant is awful - dirty and, yes, dark. Breakfast IS limited, When I saw the reviews about the bad brekky, I thought "how can you complain when at home you probably just have toast and cereal anyway?". Well, even toast and cereal at the Melasti is awful!! Chewy cornflakes and toast that has the consistency of clay! The egg station was good, tho. The 'restaurant' was Smokers Central - yuk - no separate areas for non smokers. The hotel is like 3 different buildings cobbled together - the traditional Balinese bungalows and 2 ugly concrete things. The small pool in the garden is nice, however the sunbeds and the pergola there are really old and indesperate need of an update (and a good clean). The toilets in the pool area stink. The large pool is bizarrely built under one of the concrete buildings and is also in need of a serious update. The lobby is being renovated - white and full of mirrors (a bit like being trapped in a disco ball!!) - All in all, I would not recommend this hotel. As I said, the staff were wonderful, but that's about it. Disappointed kids, disappointed mums .....

Room Tip: Avoid "deluxe" rooms on the second floor that look out onto the art market
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just stayed at the Melasti Beach Bungalow and Spa for a week and certainly will be back.
Walked past many times but didn't know just how big it was.
Had a choice of rooms which was a change from a take it or leave it that you get from most hotels.

Rooms are huge bigger than normal.

Pool good. The only down side was the breakfast not great.
Good spa with great prices, best facial I've had in ages for $9 and they use great products.

Really great position close to many great eatery's.

Price pretty good too.

Room Tip: Great position close most places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family stayed here for one night in September 2012. The hotel was much below our expectation (to describe what kind of travelers we are, our budget is USD 60-120 per night.) We could not change hotel as it has already been paid by our agency.

Our room: We stayed in Superior Rooms at the ground floor of an apartment-like building. The rooms are spatial but the floor was not clean.

Toilet: Very old and stain at tiles, bowl, bidet, bathtub. The toilet door was rotted. Towels also look old.

Breakfast: Foods were lack of variety. Orange juice was from concentrate, not fresh fruits. A lot of fruit flies on cold foods and sweets. Most (if not all) tables are provided with ashtrays – so we cannot escape from people smoking.

The only good things here are helpful staff and free wifi.

All in all, this hotel does not deserve 3 stars and it is not worth paying USD 60 for a room here. You can find other better hotels in Kuta at similar price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.5 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#54 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kuta Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
0.1 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
#8 of 20 in Tuban
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa

Address: Jl. Dewi Sartika | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#76 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you so much for selecting Melasti Beach Bungalows as your home away from home. Build and founded among set of tropical garden and exotic plants, Melasti Beach bungalows & Spa, Provide you a sense of calm holiday and peace of mind. Just 5 minutes drive from airport on the Kuta Beach, close to the biggest shopping area on Kuta, Waterboom Park and Yes! Kuta night life. When Balinese hospitality meets western comfortability, you can have the word "Melasti" in mind meeting all of your expectation available in various rooms categories : Suite Room, Deluxe Room, Superior Room, and Standard Room for those who wish to have the whole comfortability at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melasti Beach Bungalows And Spa
Melasti Beach Bungalows Hotel Kuta
Melasti Beach Hotel
Melasti Kuta Bungalows And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.