We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk on by .... very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa to your Saves list
Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Dewi Sartika | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 183 Hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Walk on by .... very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from 8 nights at Melasti Bungalows - 2 mums and 4 kids aged 8-13. We stayed in deluxe rooms which were clean and roomy. However the views were "limited" to say the least. The rooms across the corridor from us faced straight into the art market next door so were very dark - TVs were old tube type with bad reception. The best thing about the Melasti Bungalows the staff - friendly and helpful to the max. On the whole the hotel is dark, dated and dingy, The restaurant is awful - dirty and, yes, dark. Breakfast IS limited, When I saw the reviews about the bad brekky, I thought "how can you complain when at home you probably just have toast and cereal anyway?". Well, even toast and cereal at the Melasti is awful!! Chewy cornflakes and toast that has the consistency of clay! The egg station was good, tho. The 'restaurant' was Smokers Central - yuk - no separate areas for non smokers. The hotel is like 3 different buildings cobbled together - the traditional Balinese bungalows and 2 ugly concrete things. The small pool in the garden is nice, however the sunbeds and the pergola there are really old and indesperate need of an update (and a good clean). The toilets in the pool area stink. The large pool is bizarrely built under one of the concrete buildings and is also in need of a serious update. The lobby is being renovated - white and full of mirrors (a bit like being trapped in a disco ball!!) - All in all, I would not recommend this hotel. As I said, the staff were wonderful, but that's about it. Disappointed kids, disappointed mums .....

Room Tip: Avoid "deluxe" rooms on the second floor that look out onto the art market
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    44
    27
    16
See reviews for
26
32
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just stayed at the Melasti Beach Bungalow and Spa for a week and certainly will be back.
Walked past many times but didn't know just how big it was.
Had a choice of rooms which was a change from a take it or leave it that you get from most hotels.

Rooms are huge bigger than normal.

Pool good. The only down side was the breakfast not great.
Good spa with great prices, best facial I've had in ages for $9 and they use great products.

Really great position close to many great eatery's.

Price pretty good too.

Room Tip: Great position close most places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family stayed here for one night in September 2012. The hotel was much below our expectation (to describe what kind of travelers we are, our budget is USD 60-120 per night.) We could not change hotel as it has already been paid by our agency.

Our room: We stayed in Superior Rooms at the ground floor of an apartment-like building. The rooms are spatial but the floor was not clean.

Toilet: Very old and stain at tiles, bowl, bidet, bathtub. The toilet door was rotted. Towels also look old.

Breakfast: Foods were lack of variety. Orange juice was from concentrate, not fresh fruits. A lot of fruit flies on cold foods and sweets. Most (if not all) tables are provided with ashtrays – so we cannot escape from people smoking.

The only good things here are helpful staff and free wifi.

All in all, this hotel does not deserve 3 stars and it is not worth paying USD 60 for a room here. You can find other better hotels in Kuta at similar price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well, the major thing about this place is it's great location. Only 10 minutes on foot to Kuta beach, and 5 minutes to mall.

The size of rooms is large enough, but the property are terrible. They are still using old tube TV !!! And that old furniture and other amenities, perhaps they still used a -more than a year - towwel !!!

Owh, if you like to swim, it offer you 2 swimming pools. I prefer the small one, with garden surrounding it. Unfortunately, it didn't have a pool bar, otherwise the pool will be a great spot to relax.

There's nothing really special about breakfast, nor the other menu.

Staff service? Need a lot more improvement. Don't expect on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

located on the centre of kuta, but its old and dark, i feel quite disappointed because some of the review said this hotel is good. i left it on the next day and never come back.
dont go there, its terrible

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We (my son and I) have just spent 6 days at Melasti Bungalows in Kuta. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

The Bungalows are in a great location, close to great shopping, the art market, waterbom, restaurants, Kuta square - all a short stroll away.

The room was clean, sheets and towels were clean, although they didn't look shiny white any more. The rooms are very quiet, so although there was a lot of noise in the corridores, traffic, music, talking etc. when you closed the door, all was silent. The staff were very obliging and helpful. One phone call to reception always sorted out any issues. The pool and surrounding area was clean.

The spa at the front of the Bungalows is well worth a visit.

There is construction work happening, but it looks like there always will be.... Knocking down bits to build new rooms. The restaurant at Melasti provides great food. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The location of this hotel is superb!!!! Great!!!! Right in the middle of everything in Kartika Street Kuta. Waterbom, which is my all time favorit spot, is just few minutes walk. And so many other restos, spas, etc. The hotel is renovating its lobby. The room I stayed in, to my surprise, was pretty big for a superior room. It has pool view. The bathroom was new I think but the furniture in the room was a bit old.

The aircon position which was above the entrance door made the room not that cold. The tv is a bit old and need replacement. There were 2 pools in the hotel. The pools were nice, though I didn't have time to use them. The breakfast was very standart. Well, what do you expect. You get what you paid. The staffs were friendly. There is a mini market right in front of the main gate.

Overall, if what you're looking for from a hotel is the superb location and the price is moderate, this is the place to choose.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa

Address: Jl. Dewi Sartika | Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#69 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you so much for selecting Melasti Beach Bungalows as your home away from home. Build and founded among set of tropical garden and exotic plants, Melasti Beach bungalows & Spa, Provide you a sense of calm holiday and peace of mind. Just 5 minutes drive from airport on the Kuta Beach, close to the biggest shopping area on Kuta, Waterboom Park and Yes! Kuta night life. When Balinese hospitality meets western comfortability, you can have the word "Melasti" in mind meeting all of your expectation available in various rooms categories : Suite Room, Deluxe Room, Superior Room, and Standard Room for those who wish to have the whole comfortability at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melasti Beach Bungalows And Spa
Melasti Beach Bungalows Hotel Kuta
Melasti Beach Hotel
Melasti Kuta Bungalows And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.