We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but not 4 star.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali to your Saves list
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Photo Session
Ranked #60 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Nice Hotel but not 4 star.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This is an older hotel but it is clean and the staff are very freindly. It is definatly a solid 3.5 star hotel but perfect for the price and surrounds. We got bumped to this hotel because the one we wanted was booked out. It's located about 10 minutes walk to Kuta and all the restaurants and about the same to Legion. You are not in the middle of the nightlife area's but far enough for piece and quiet. There is not much near the hotel except a small food court and McDonalds so if you wanted a restaurant to eat you had to walk quite a bit each night. For some reason the hotel restaurant was almost empty each night. The beach is just across the road which was good but the road was sometimes difficult to cross but generally was not such a problem. Breakfast was good and the selection was varied. The breakfast area overlooks the beach but the local authorities have recently built a wall along the length of beach from Kuta to Legion so the views are not as good as mentioned in earlier reviews. Staff at breakfast were very freindly but not too attentive as you had to continually ask them for a refill of coffee or tea. Everything else was self serve from the buffet. The rooms were clean and spacious. The aircon was quiet and worked really well. There was mention of the Hot water being slow to come through but we found it was fine after 1 or 2 minutes, not 15 as mentioned in other reviews but that was our rooms. We had the standard Delux rooms in the 600 wing. I would stay here again if required but I would add that there is a huge Sheraton hotel complex just starting to be built next door. There are these massive cranes currently working around the clock. Once the complex starts to go up I would imagine that it may be more noisy and dusty. At the moment it's just a hole in the ground so not too bad and currently quiet. They did have Wifi around the hotel and we managed to have a connection in our rooms. not super fast but ok for what we needed. It also was free. The pool area was old as expected but with kids water is water. The only problem here was that there was not enough pool chairs in the area and not much shade in the middle of the day. As I said I would stay here again if it was a family holiday but If I went again to Bali with my partner I would probably look around for something more modern.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    289
    126
    41
    41
See reviews for
121
222
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Have just returned from 11 days at the Grand Istana. I think it has alot of good things going for it but when we first arrived the smell from the bathroom was overpowering. It took about 4 days for me and others to get used to it (it was always there). I did tell reception and they sent someone to clean it but I think the problem is actually something to do with there plumbing or it's something in the bathrooms. We had 5 rooms in total and everyones bathroom stunk. The good things were the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a good size, the pool area was quite good even though some tiles are broken off in the pool and a few people got cuts whilst we were there, the breakfast was okay too for the price you pay. The rooms were cleaned each day and they were very helpful with prompt room service. It's close to the nightlife and lots of restaurants and lots of shopping. Also the beach is just across the road so at the end of the day you can pop over and buy a drink and watch the sunset. It's on a one way street but we didn't find it a problem. It can get busy but we mostly walked everywhere so it didn't matter. Overall our stay was pretty good but the smell awful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Ihave been to Bali 8 times and usually like to try somewhere different each time. The only thing this place has going for it is its opposite the beach. But that can be a pain because of the traffic problems it creates. The hotel is very tired looking and rooms are extremely small for 3 people. The servicing of the rooms was terrible, we were constantly ringing for a towel or loo paper or something they had forgot to do. The linen is absolutley disgusting the towels being a dull grey and paper thin.The shower is a trickle with the water barely ever hot. The breakfast is aweful mostly catering for an asian taste. Always having leftovers from the night before eg; Beef Rendang or Green Chicken Curry. Rarel had any descent cereal, usually junk that only Kids would eat.
I found the Hotel very dissapointing and would never stay here again. Also Front counter staff in particular a girl called Eva is very rude and shouldnt even be working at a Hotel in that position. Also dont eat at the restaraunt unless you really have to , the food is revolting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

This hotel lived up to all our expectations, value for money. The rooms are big, comfy and cleaned every day with fresh linen etc. The staff are happy and friendly wanting to meet your every need. The buffet breakfast is faultless, if you can't find something here to please you then you have a problem. The pool is huge, clean and cool or it is a spit to the beach over the road. Most nights there is entertainment of some kind on the front balcony bar which is a good place to watch Bali go by. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was our first hotel in Bali and it did not disappoint. Rooms were clean and I love how it smelled like frangipanis! Location is perfect. Kuta beach is right across the street and while the hotel is located in the heart of Kuta, I like how it's slightly away from the hustle and bustle. McDonalds is a short 3 minute walk. I also love the breakfast buffet. It has a little bit of everything including my favorite, donuts! One thing to keep in mind is that the main street is one way, so taxis would have to circle around the area which takes awhile. On our first night, the concierge hailed a non-metered cab and we had to negotiate 400,000 rupiah (around $4 usd) to get to the nearby Paddy's club. On the way home, we hailed a metered taxi and it only cost us less than $2usd! So a tip for everyone vacationing in Bali, get a metered Taxi (Bluebird is a good company) or else prepare to sharpen your bargaining skills!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I travelled to Bali for a 5 day girls holiday to meet and spend time with other friends from Oz, they were booked into the Alam KulKul just up the road also on the beach front.

I usually avoid big hotels choosing smaller boutique places but as I booked last minute just three days prior and during mega peak season there was little option available which is how I ended up in a large hotel like Istana Rama. After reading reviews I had relatively low expectations and was very pleasantly surprised.

It is a very traditional Bali style place with nice rooms, good breakfast and good service. The room was clean and spacious with a nice balcony overlooking gardens. The staff were friendly and housekeeping did a good job of cleaning the room daily during my stay. If I had the do not distrub sign up I was not disturbed once, otherwise be prepared for housekeeping at arrive at 8.30am to clean your room or shortly after you remove the sign from your door. They were happy to come back later upon request.

When I arrived late at night I found that the toilet continued running after being flushed and the kettle did not work. Upon calling reception to report these two things their response was amazingly fast and both were fixed within 3 minutes and there was no further issues.

Furthermore my friends were badly disappointed with the service and hotel at Alam KulKul and they changed hotel as soon as possible to the Niksoma which was expensive but nice with an amazing trendy pool and restaurant area. I spent most time by their pool as the pool area is a little tired looking at Istana Rama but if no other option would have been fine.

The food was ok and room service was good, but with so many options at your doorstep we ate out almost every lunch and dinner.

The value for money was great, excellent service and I would stay here again and recommend to friends. I was departing in the evening and when I asked for a late checkout I was very impressed they gave me a 4pm late checkout for free.

What a sensational, relaxing stress free holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were a party of six - three sisters and our husbands on our first visit to Bali. After scouring the net we settled on the Grand Istama Rama - and HIT GOLD.

* The position is SUPERB, right across the (narrow one-way)road from the main Kuta beach - literally a stone's throw away! This beach road is lined with hotels and restaurants all right next to one another - the Grand Istama Rama seemed the most spacious of all - even has a big security-controlled parking area to one side facing the beach!. (Can't imagine that will be around for too long..such valuable real estate!).It is a few minutes walk to lanes lined with clothing stalls, massage places and little restaurants that serve cheap but delicious food. The main modern shopping mall and big supermarket is maybe a 20 minute walk (along the beach road or along the beach -the traffic is very congested there in the centre!)
* The breakfast buffet is amazing with the best bacon I've ever tasted - all enjoyed looking out at the sea.
*The staff are friendly and helpful , cheerfully greeting you as you come and go all day.
* We had garden rooms with little patios screened by tropical plants. Here we relaxed with a drink or tea/coffee as we planned our day. - nice spacious clean rooms with lovely big revamped bathrooms( shower pressure not too great but so what!).
*Absolutely fantastic pool area and most important , unlike most Bali hotels IT IS NOT IN FRONT OF THE BEDROOMS -. The bedrooms "blocks" are separate and private (so no noise from the pool). The pool area is near the restaurant so you can easily nip back from the beach to the pool.
*Best of all is the massive airy reception area giving a true Bali feel on arrival - with stunning carved reception desk, exquisite carved detail on doors, etc, big water "bowl" with floating flower petals welcoming guests.
*The travel desk was good - petite little Kumang was a special treasure, going to endless trouble ensuring we got the best deal on a trip to Yogjakarta and Borobodur.

Our stay at the Grand Istama Rama was perfect - everything we could have wished for. - we did not want a state-of-the-art sterile hotel chain that could be anywhere in the world - we wanted a Bali holiday and that is what we had.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#38 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.