We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Kuta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali to your Saves list
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta, Bali 80032, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 181 Hotels in Kuta
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A week in Kuta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This Hotel is an older Hotel and when I booked my week holiday I took price over luxury. However, I very much enjoyed my stay at the Istana Rama Hotel. The room was clean and did not have the moldy smell usually associated with Bali Hotels. The bed was comfortable and the room serviced every day. There is good atmosphere around the pool and it's a natural spot to relax and enjoy reading books along with eating and drinking, plus swimming. The staff were friendly and helpful. Moreover, the location is superb both for the beach and the countless cafes and restaurants. The new Sheraton Mall is about 50 meters away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    256
    114
    41
    38
See reviews for
104
195
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Its a nice n gr8 hotel where u cn relax hve fun n enjoy ur life to d fullest wid jst relaxing in hotel r taking massage ........... n yes d service of grand istana rama hotel is worth i must say.... i really enjyd staying there wish i could go again n hve d sme experience

Room Tip: '' deluxe rooms wil be d nice choice r for Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a short trip to Bali for our 1st anniversary. We stayed for only 2 nights but had 3 full days of activities. That meant we needed a place to stay that was comfortable and ensured a good night's rest. This hotel fulfilled that 100% We stayed in the superior ground floor which faced the gardens and had its own terrace (perfect for drying our towels and swimsuits). The grounds were lovely, the room was spacious, and extremely clean. The AC was fully functional and did it's job well though it was a bit noisy - that didn't bother us as we slept the second our heads hit the pillow. Pillows were hard but again didn't notice it for too long. We took advantage of the hotel pool one afternoon and wanted to stay later but did not have enough lighting. All in all the stay was perfect. I do have to mention one disappointing thing. We had booked our hotel through an online hotel agent and paid for the entire stay before coming but, when we were checking in we were surprised by a policy the hotel had for a deposit in a (what we thought) was a large amount: Rp. 1.000.000 or roughly $100. We did not have this prepared as we were on a budget and had already paid for a lot of the things we were planning to do ahead of time. We were upset because this policy was not informed ahead of time, and in this case we had no other choice since we had already paid for the hotel and could not resort to moving to a different one. We refused to pay as it would've been impossible for us to do anything for the next 3 days. I voiced my concerns to the receptionist, and he completely understood our situation. So, I would like to give a shout out to the best staff member we met, IRVAN. He PERSONALLY accommodated to our situation and said that he would accept whatever amount we were able to provide for the deposit and would take responsibility if there was any damage upon our check out. Of course, we did our absolute best to not make any mess in the room and made sure to give him a little souvenir on our way out. He was the one that made the stay possible, literally. So, THANKS IRVAN! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will ABSOLUTELY stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location opposite Kuta Beach...friendly & helpful staff, great value for money for Bali only $40 AUD a night

Far enough away from the pushy market people who did understand what the word "no" means in any language.

Best please I've stayed while in Bali

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was my first trip to Bali, however was my partners 5th. We booked at the last minute through expedia and was very impressed for what was offered for the money we spent. Large room with a king bed, TV, A/C, Safe, Minibar, bottled water. Bathroom was a little dated, but we managed. Property was clean and staff were very friendly. Restaurant was very well priced. We really enjoyed our stay and would visit again. For a hub and a place to call home while we slept, it was great.

Room Tip: A/C a little noisy, however very effective. Something to be mindful of during the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in October/November. It was very humid and the air conditioner in our room was barely working. Needless to say, we didn't sleep well the entire week and felt very uncomfortable and dehydrated a lot at night. The bed was comfortable but very squeaky whenever we moved, and the end of it kept falling through the base. There were room service plates left out the front of rooms for days. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the general cleanliness of the rooms is pretty good, the location is brilliant. We won't stay here again due to the air conditioning problems, but I would recommend it to someone who is trying to save money and not too bothered by the humidity.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location opposite excellent beach ...not too busy., friendly staff, interesting cooking and language class provided free of charge.
Lovely big clean pool. Rooms are spacious but bathroom needs revamp for 4 star rating.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta, Bali 80032, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.