We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa de daun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa de daun to your Saves list
Villa de daun
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Raya Legian, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After booking in to a 1 bedroom deluxe villa which was great,the noise of construction work which seems to go on till the early hrs,we made a complaint and management and staff done their upmost in moving us to another villa where we could not be disturbed.The upgrade was to a 2 bedroom villa which was out of the world for us,we only wanted to move to a quieter villa or for construction work to end at a reasonable time,so really impressed with staff trying to make our stay more comfortable,also offering us few extras,ie 2 massages,day trip for 8 hrs,which we were happy to refuse.The service delivered to villa,breakfast,afternoon tea was excellent,cannot fault the staff here from reception to cleaning team,pool cleaner,butler etc.We had barbecue at villa which was excellent,they brought a little table and chairs making it very romantic,we were very happy to do nothing and spend our time lounging around.Full marks to the team here,review of spa to follow

Room Tip: Far away from construction work as possible,roosters don't disturb me but people hammering away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed at Villa de daun on several occasions over the last 5 years. The staff have always been wonderful, the complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea is of high standard and I really like that it is delivered to the Villa instead of 'mass dining' which is not for me first thing in the morning. The Dala Spa would be one of the best spa's I have been to anywhere-though nail polish colours are limited. I have to agree with others about the noise of the dogs and chooks
though it has never bothered my sleep (beds are beautiful).
Some of the villas are tired and definitely need renovating, when you are paying $800 per night for a villa you expect it to be fresh not run down looking.
The location is right in the middle of everything-though there is construction on both sides of the laneway into the villas which is definitely not safe to walk down- in fact one of the cranes being used collapsed into the laneway whilst we were there!!
Overall a great property, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

When we arrived at villa de daun, they said we have upgraded you we thought wow but when they took us to our villa which was a three bedroom instead of the one bedroom it looked old and tired, it was large and a big pool too but it was too big for the two of us, so we asked if we could move to the one bedroom villa we had booked that's when we found out that the villa was double booked and that's why they up graded us which wasn't really an upgrade and we had booked our villa months before so we stood our ground and asked if we could get our villa back after a bit of twoing and throwing we got it and it was a lot nicer, we settled in and it was very close to shopping and massages but the lane to the villas is down a little lane way from legian street and there was building going on both sides and that was quite scary, they don't have the safety barriers that they have in Australia. The staff was friendly and helpful overall if you like staying near the night life and the hustle and bustle of legian street then you would love this place.

Room Tip: The deluxe villa but not one at the back of the restaurant it's too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend four nights at Villa de daun in Kuta, after spending a week in Nusa Dua. The deluxe pool villa we had was lovely and the staff were friendly and very helpful. We booked a few restaurants during our stay and were very happy to find that Villa de daun offered a free drop off service in the Kuta, Legian and Seminyak areas. The only deal breaker for us with this villa was the incessant noise from a rooster and barking dogs in the property next door, which seemed to go on all day and night. As our villa backed on to this property, we had four nights of very disturbed sleep and at times found it impossible to relax by the pool. When we mentioned this to the staff they apologised and said that unfortunately there was nothing they could do about it. They offered us ear plugs to sleep, which were gratefully accepted. This is a beautiful property in a fantastic location, however at $420 US a night, we did expect to be able to sleep well and relax. If you do decide to stay at Villa da daun, make sure you ask for a villa away from the noise!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great place,wonderful setting.Staff were wonderful,extremely helpful. Personalised stay, all the staff knew us by name. One of the most private places we have been, loved every minute of our stay.Our thanks to the staff for their professionalism. We would definitely return to Villa De Daun. To walk from the busy streets of Kuta to a absolute paradise seemed at times surreal.Spa facilities were of a high standard and one of the best we have been too, very relaxing. The pool was wonderful, enjoyed swimming at night and in the early morning.No issues with privacy. The food was of a high standard, we enjoyed all the meals that we had at the Villa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa de daun for five nights in May 2013. We have been to Bali many times, but decided to "splash out" and stay in a Villa as it was our first wedding anniversary over the time that we stayed.

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa de daun. The staff were wonderful and extremely helpful.

The Villa itself was out of this world! We stayed in the One Bedroom Pool Villa. It had a large bedroom and huge bathroom each of which was extremely clean. The pool was a great size for the two of us and again very clean. The Villa was extremely private and we enjoyed having such a large space to ourselves!

The breakfast that was cooked especially for us and delivered to our patio each morning was delicious. We were not "home" for the afternoon tea, so I cannot comment on that.

The Villa was in a perfect location - close to shops and restaurants and with a mini mart over the road, but once you returned to the Villa, the hustle and bustle of Kuta was left behind and you couldn't hear anything.

The only negative thing I have to say, is that the Villa we stayed in backed onto a residential part of Kuta and they had a couple of roosters, who carried on all day. I understand that that is not the Villa's fault, but it did detract from what otherwise would have been a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the roosters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Before talking about the accommodation I must say how delighted I was to see how much Bali has recovered from the awful bomb in 2002. We had been there four weeks before the attack and we felt desperately sad about the needless fatalities and the devastation to the Balinese tourist business. Clearly the people have worked hard to re-build this paradise and there is a huge amount of development. They just need to make sure that the infrastructure (roads etc) keeps pace with the boom.

Anyway to the Villa. There is nothing to complain about. The villas are very private and we didn't really see the other guests. Andre our butler was so charming and helpful. But the rest of the team were wonderful as well. The location is also ideal. You can indulge in the hustle and bustle of the strip and then escape to your villa when you want to relax and chill.

A word of caution is the two reasonably large buildings under construction (probably hotels) on the way to the villa. I assume the villas will be protected from these 'hotels' but I'd suggest you check that out before booking.

However, this trip to Bali will go into the memory bank as a great treat and staying at the Villa de Daun was a great choice.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 9. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa de daun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de daun

Address: Jalan Raya Legian, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa de daun 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa de daun is a stylish property that prides itself on offering a unique villa living experience by delivering gracious hospitality and service excellence. We have just 12 luxury villas, each set within a Balinese styled private garden compound complete with a private swimming pool and outdoor leisure area. A personal Butler is assigned to each villa to anticipate guest’s needs and ensure that they feel comfortably at ease throughout the duration of their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa de daun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Daun Hotel Kuta
Villa De Daun Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa de daun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.