We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HQ Restaurant and Hotel

HQ Restaurant and Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta no. 1 Kuta Beach | Inna Hotels, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
+62 877 8384 7878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 459 Restaurants in Kuta
Cuisines: Indonesian, International, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Apopka, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great food, excellent service and all for the right price. It's right on the beach. Eat, drink, or soak up some sun. A must in Kuta Beach!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Terry18211,

We all love having customers like you at HQ !

Everyone here enjoys reading comments like yours and we only strive to please with every aspect from our ambience, service and products,

Thank you so much for highlighting the growing reputation of HQ Kuta Beach Club 'Headquarters'


Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    23
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Visited HQ twice when staying in Kuta. Chilled atmosphere, friendly and welcoming staff, with great food. We spent most of a day at HQ relaxing by the pool situated on Kuta Beach, without being hassled to keep buying food and drink. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area for a laid back afternoon on the sun loungers! Excellent!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi William,

Thanks very much for highlighting some of the main aspects that make HQ a place for people to escape, enjoy, relax and experience excellent service from a team of people who care,

Because of people like you, HQ only has an enhanced awareness to new or potential customers, I can only thank you in return and ideally, one day see you and your group with us on Kuta Beach again in the future,

Very much appreciated,


Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great vibe, nice break from crazy Kuta Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We really like this place. Kuta Beach can be crazy, lots of people trying to sell you blow guns and hats and cheap towels, and HQ was a great haven. The food was good -- we opted for Western comfort food (fish and chips) which were great. The staff was awesome, in particular the host/ proprietor Barry who was constantly circling, checking in with diners, etc. Prices were good, and best of all, they have a pool you can use for free. So we got to relax post-meal and take in the sun and surf, without being asked to buy mangos or bows and arrows. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Craig C,

An entertaining, concise and an original post, thanks very very much for finding the time to post your enjoyable experience via tripadvisor,

The original features of HQ, I believe, you have listed the fundamentals regarding the 'vibe' / pool / cuisine / price / quality and different facilities. So glad you and co. enjoyed yourselves and only had a positive outlook of your time with us,

It makes all the effort and thought worthwhile,

Thanks ever so much, the team and I are extremely grateful of your thoughtful comments,



Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Came down here for drinks last night as we were staying in the hotel behind HQ.

Positives:

Location is excellent, on the beachfront which is perfect for sunset drinks

The manager is friendly and talkative and likes to have a chat with his customers which is great. Seems like a nice guy who is open to positive criticisms to improve the bar.

Bar staff were generally friendly and welcoming to the guests, collecting empty glasses quickly and asking if we needed anything else

Negatives:

Multiple bar staff didn't understand "sprite", "margherita" and "Mai tai". I understand that English isn't their first language (understandable of course as we are visiting their country) but I've never had any language issues with ordering standard drinks at a bar before. We ordered 4 small bintang beers and a sprite and the waitress had to repeat our order 5 times before getting it right

My Mai tai tasted super weak, and had a cough-syrup flavour to it which is a bit disappointing as the drinks were about $10 AU each (cheap for Australia but on the slightly more expensive side for Bali). The margherita glass came half full and did not taste like a proper margherita.

The staff were quite rude about who could use the toilets (I know that beach goers use the toilet, but I witnessed male staff rather rudely demanding evidence that a female was a customer before allowing her begrudgingly to use the bathroom - at least ask politely with a smile?).

Furthermore the toilets were not really up to standard for such a bar.
Out of the two female toilets, one had a broken toilet seat and the other was overflowing.

All in all a nice place for a few sunset bintangs but wouldn't recommend the cocktails. I hope I just had a bad experience as I can't fault the atmosphere and location!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear LozRoz94,

Thanks for your post on HQ Kuta Beach Club on Tripadvisor,

After reading through your profile, it is disappointing to see your experience when we are the only current review of yours in the Kuta area,

As positivity and negativity are favourite topics of mine, I take it as a positive that you came to us from your much frequented, Seminyak area,

I agree, the location is perfect for sunset drinks amongst other aspects within our facilities,

In regards the bar staff, I am sorry to hear of a communication issue [first I have heard of it] I will monitor the situation closely, thanks,

Though, I am pleased to hear of the friendly and attentive nature that the staff in general impressed you with,

I do wish you made a point of any 'positive criticisms' in person as I do not recall any. If you did raise these issues in person, I assure you, they would have been dealt with immediately,

As for your waitress, I can only fathom that you were served by a new employee [recently recruited from college] who has been with us for ten days, I am really sorry to hear that you had to repeat your order,

Please do come back and see me in person, I will set up a 'cocktail taster session' with you, family/friends on me and then please judge your experience then. [we do have many fans of our cocktail lists new and old] I am very disappointed and surprised to see your description]

It is with regret to hear of your view point and I am sorry for any inconvenience.

I can only predict that you experienced an issue to the fast growth of our new business and we failed to meet your standards on this occasion due to the bedding in of new staff and testing situations for all, from existing and non - customers,

Plus points with Location, Beers but overall, I am glad you made your comment on our 'atmosphere' I really appreciate your 'balanced' opinions,

I do hope we can meet again at HQ in the near future,


Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We decided to go to this bar because we heard some tourists raving about it!!
we were not disapointed!!
We chilled all day by the pool which is right on the beach, we had chilled house music the best mojitoes we have tasteed in bali!! and the food was delish!!
we loved bali and we loved HQ bar!!! can't wait to comeback and visit, The staff were fun and friendly and Barry was a great help

One of the classier bars in kuta!! love this place

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryHeadquarters, General Manager at HQ Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Shentz,

Your review is great to read, thanks for uploading a review to tripadvisor,

I am glad you enjoyed yourself and your comments on the popular 'HQ Mojito's' / Location, staff and ambience are a joy to read,

Plus, thanks for highlighting your opinion of how we differ for Kuta,

Hope to see you return to HQ one day,


Best Regards,



Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HQ Restaurant and Hotel also viewed

 

Been to HQ Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HQ Restaurant and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.