We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana Hotel Bali

Save Saved
You added Fontana Hotel Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fontana Hotel Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Dewi Sri 68, Legian, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 337 hotels in Kuta
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fontana for one week in January and absolutely loved it! The room was really nice and modern, perfectly clean with a great shower and very comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice of European and Indonesian options, freshly made pancakes, omelettes and pastries. We stayed at 2 much more expensive hotels later on during our trip but none could match the breakfast at Fontana. The restaurant menu is great too, many different options and very good value. The service was excellent too, very friendly and professional. Lovely pool with relaxed music playing at the restaurant so you really get in holiday mood! The only negative would be the location: it's a bit out of the way so you have to get a taxi everywhere (or hire a bike) but it will only cost you £2 to get to Seminyak and takes about 10-15 min and the friendly staff are always happy to call one for you. Overall, I would absolutely recommend Fontana!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanahotelbali, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Greetings mariki1983,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your visit was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience


Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    85
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
47
81
23
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

having stayed at lots of mid range hotels in Bali; i have decided to try this new hotel. service is great, room is nice (except i could not find how to switched off all the light). the only minus is the hot water.. i had shower twice without hot water but the water wasn't cold.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanahotelbali, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Greetings Balihgh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us, your review has been a great input for us in improving our service & product.

The room information is available in the room, and our guest service will very happy to assist you for any in-room information needed ; including the master switch and also the hot water.

We trust that we will be able to welcome you back to Fontana Hotel Bali in the near future with detailed improvements we have made.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is new and the decor is really arty. My room is well-spaced, and faces the pool which was really nice. There are some rooms which faces a wall though. There is no bathtub but the bathroom and room are very well equipped. The bed is really comfortable. The staff were very polite. I asked for a quiet room but maybe they didn't quite understand English, they gave me a room next to the spa which was undergoing some touching-up construction. The breakfast was pretty ample but there wasn't much for vegetarians. As for location, it took about 10 to 20 minutes to Seminyak, depending on traffic. This hotel is on a quiet street so it took a couple of minutes to get a cab. But it is near to main street such as Legian Street where there are restaurants, bars and shops. Overall, I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanahotelbali, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Greetings Freebird,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. Your review is a great input for us to constantly strive in improving our services and products. Additional touch up were conducted during day time to maximizing our brand new hotel. but rest assured, there wont be any noise during the rest hour.

I trust that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so you can see the improvements we have made.


Regards,

Manageme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel's design is awesome. The most exciting spot is the Portabella resto that displays so many unique decorations and off course the good food. The room is comfortable and clean. Smiles are always showed on the crews' face, excellent service. The spa was under renovation so i hadn't tried it. Overall, Fontana gave me a wonderful time in Kuta and it's recomended for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanahotelbali, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Greetings fliex88,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your visit was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back and also to experience our Suma Spa.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

stayed there for a weekend -- great service, friendly staff, nice layout, comfortable bed, pretty good food and well-located (only 15 mins to/from airport and couples of mins to/from seminyak area). I would def recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanahotelbali, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Greetings tlukmanto,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your visit was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience


Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

love the design, especially the italian restaurant. the food is excellent.
Pear pie at the cafe, yummy.
Free wi-fi for all areas in the hotel, not only in the lobby, but in room as well.
nice spa too at level 4, couples must try it. we try it & feels like another honey moon.
friendly people around the hotel, room are spacious.
overall its feels like staying in resort hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanahotelbali, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Greetings Bmuliadi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your visit was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience


Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

For a newly build hotel, i can say..wow !!!

I stayed for 3 days and 2 nights, started 15th Dec 2012 for the grand opening...i cant review much at that time, but surely Fontana really set the OPENING very well. They changed the Hotel Lobby, Lounge, and Restaurant into High Class Club. Recommended for u guys who wants 2 set some event in this Hotel.

Have 3 floor, i stayed on 1st floor, i stayed in the room 122 ( i guess it heads east ), coz when i woke up it the morning, i saw the sun rises from my room balcony.

Just like said on the title...yes it was a very artistic hotel, they mixed wood architecture and nature with modern lifestyle, result ? Not only u'll get a calm place 2 stay 2 relieved all your stresses and exhaustion, but the ambience will really spoiled u away and make u feel dont want 2 leave the hotel.

Food ? There're Portabella Bistro, still there u can find a modern-wood architecture, i only ate there for breakfast, surely it has the best breakfast bacon and sausage.

For me, i prefer 2 have some food and beverages at the cafe, "Sunny 16 Cafe", right next the Portabella, either at nite or day, it feels like eating and sitting in my own private dining-room.

For the location of the hotel, yes it has a very strategic place but far away from noise even on the lobby, the only sound i can hear inside the hotel was the x'mas theme music, since its almost X'mas :).

For the room, i can say its cool, but most importantly, it has clean and far from noise, so u can have a quality sleep there.

For the service, same like other Bali's Hotel hospitality, its good, and surely still need a lot of improvement, since its still new.

Unfortunately, i missed the spa, :(, if not, i will definitely write.

So the conclusion is, yes its a newly built hotel, and still so many things they should improve, especially the service, its not that they have a bad service, but average for a hotel with a very cool and artistic place 2 stay.

Ready for business ? I believe, they will catch up or even compete with other famous hotel in Bali soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanahotelbali, Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Greetings Flash P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable stay experience with us. We Love to hear that your visit was enjoyable, will definitely share with the team as they will be delighted to have enhanced your stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back and amaze you with another memorable experience with a chance to try our Suma Spa

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontana Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel Bali

Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Bali Kuta
Address: Jalan Dewi Sri 68, Legian, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Kuta
#30 Business Hotel in Kuta
#35 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontana Hotel Bali 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana hotel offers an affordable Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way. A collaboration masterpiece by environmentalist architect Popo Danes and the formerSuper Potato Tokyo’s designer Nobuyuki Narabayashi,Fontana is uniquely designed to accommodate a modern lifestyle in Bali while maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese nature.Located right at the center of Kuta area, just one block away from Legian area, 20 minute away from the Ngurah Rai International airport, Fontana gives you an opportunity to experience the true Kuta without having to fight the crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Fontana Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.