We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service, Great WiFi, Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samudra Homestay

Samudra Homestay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Samudra Homestay to your Saves list
Samudra Homestay
Jl. Kartika Plaza, Gg. Samudra, No. B.2000, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 178 Hotels in Kuta
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible service, Great WiFi, Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in room 9 on second floor. We were picked up from the airport which is only 5-10 minutes away. The staff seemed great at first. As it turns out, they do not understand very much English. There was not a sign provided for "do not disturb' and the first day away, we came back to find our room completely in disarray. The staff had gone through ALL of our things, moving everything, ruined a sweater by hanging on a sharp hook and even went through our medications. The bath towels were disgustingly dirty. There was no soap provided and no bath matt but tile floors. Breakfast was okay but only 4 choices and took a long time. They only gave us a tiny bit of toilet paper at a time- about 1/4 a roll. I complained about them being in my room and everything they did and they just stared at me blankly. Our guide translated and there was still no apology. The bathroom door would only close if you locked it with the key and was difficult to get in and out. There were only two outlets and two lamps, one of which did not have a bulb and neither had switches- you just plugged and unplugged. No phone in the room. Room door did not lock properly each time, had to double check. No top sheet, just a comforter that is made for twin bed and used on our full size bed. Across street from mall that has grocery store downstairs, 5-10 minute walk to beach- try Pantai restaurant- great cheap food! 20 minute or more walk to boardwalk and nightlife area. WiFi was very good, sign in to all three networks so you can stay connected all the time.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have been stayed at Samudra homestay 2 times, first time my boyfriend and i stayed for 3 weeks and the last time we stayed for 1 week. I love this place because staff are so friendly the owner Bapak Made and his wife Ayu they are just like my family, they even let me walked her puppy Koa to the beach and it was so kind of them. Room is big and clean, A/C, fridge, TV all good. Breakfast is so so, but what do you expect for 40 bucks a night? over all I will definitely stay at samudera homestay again for next holiday.

Room Tip: next to grocery mall, 5 minutes walk to the beach, inconvenience store is around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My bf and I always stay at Samudra homestay everytime we come to Bali, first time we stayed for almost 2 weeks. Really nice place to stay, the staff and owner made me feel like im home, helpfull and so friendly, especially when Made the owner let me walked his mini pom ( Koa ) to the beach, it was so kind of him. We will def come back again, very recommended place to stay for such a cheap rate/night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

i stayed for 3 nights with my mom, my brother and sister. And this is my second time to stayed here. It's located next Lippo Mall, and you also can reach Discovery mall, waterboom, and kuta beach about 5 minutes walk. You can rent a car and driver there, you also can get a discount.
It has a nice staff and it feels homey. If i go to bali again, i will come back here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cubao, Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Samudra homestay is a very affordable place to stay in Kuta, Bali but ammenities will not be sacrificed. The place has a hot and cold shower, a cable tv connection and a decent wifi connection for people who like to surf the internet. Although it lacks the elegance and clamour of the bigger resorts in Kuta, it will provide backpackers a nice place to stay in Bali.

The place is situated near the main center of Kuta so you wont be left out of the festivities. And is right in front of a big mall so buying for supplies wont be a problem.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in April 2013, very large rooms with clean and comfortable beds, big bath rooms, overall value for money, in main Kuta area just 5 mints from airport. Owner family is also very co operative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a good value for money! Location is ok, but if you want to party then you should stay closer to Poppies street 1 and 2. The beach is a 5 minute walk away. You can walk to the discovery mall in 10 minutes and a taxi to the main center is around 15 k rupies. We did try two great restaurants nearby. Mozzarella and Queens of India. Both were excellent! There is some construction work next to the hotel, but just during the daytime. The only bad thing about the hotel was the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samudra Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samudra Homestay

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Gg. Samudra, No. B.2000, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 178 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Samudra Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samudra Homestay Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samudra Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.