We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispy fries and tasty burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Monkeys - Fresh Burgers & Cold Beers

Five Monkeys - Fresh Burgers & Cold Beers
Jalan Legian 350, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62-361-764-507
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 459 Restaurants in Kuta
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Crispy fries and tasty burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a place to seek out when you get a bit homesick for a good old-fashioned burger but want to avoid the multi-national corporation styles. The restaurant is decked out in a rustic style, reminiscent of an old-fashioned country diner. We had the curly chili fries as an entree, a dish I had never tried before but would most definitely have again! Yummy. We also had the burgers, I had the cheeseburger with bacon as I was feeling a bit greedy, and ordered a side of regular fries each. The meat patty was succulent and tasty and the salad fresh and crispy. Exactly how I like my burger! The service was prompt and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The manager, Nara, ensured that everything was to our satisfaction, making not only the meal a delight but the dining experience made it a lovely evening for us. Good food and wonderful friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    54
    20
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best burgers in Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very tasty and juicy burgers. Best ive had so far in Bali. The buns are so fresh and soft. Fries were really good too. Double cheese burger with fries and a soda cost around 73k Rp.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loving it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

"Come Hungry, Leave Happy" Five Monkeys truly live up its words. The soft and fluffy bun, filled in with crisp lettuce, and the most important bit, a juicy, succulent, thick and fresh beef patty. The special secret sauce certainly stimulate the taste buds well. I ordered the cheeseburger with a local ice cold beer, and let me tell you something, with such a hot and humid Bali weather, this cozy place certainly offered a great refreshment. I also went for second, a BBQ sauce-based burger, now the sweet smoky flavour, matched with another ice cold beer, in this case San Miguel, certainly accentuate and balance the flavour of each other. In addition, the service was great, my order was made fast and well presented. Indeed, I "Leave satisfied and Happy"....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

After reading thereviews and travelling to Bali for 12 years, a new eating venue was exciting. However that is where it ends! From their menu I requested 5 different dishes only to be told the ingredients were out of stock, eventually ending up with a nondescript hot dog. My wife was more unlucky as she received a hot dog with a frozen sausage in it. They heated the sausage and put it back in the original bun that had a bite out of it. Very classy!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
effendi41, General Manager at Five Monkeys - Fresh Burgers & Cold Beers, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Lexusp,

First of all we would like to sincerely apologize about your unpleasant experience at Five Monkeys. This is heartbreaking for us.

This incident was caused by some of the standard operation procedures (SOP) were not being followed. We have taken a closer look and fixed the loopholes in our SOP and we have re-trained all of our staff, so that no customer will be disappointed when they visit us.

We would like to invite you back to Five Monkeys the next time you visit Bali. Please contact us at contact(at)FivemonkeysBali(dot)com so that we can send you the invitation. We guarantee that your next meal at Five Monkeys will be a great one.

Best Regards,
Management of Five Monkeys Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
“why go further places to find a very good burger?!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

just 45 minutes away from Jakarta indonesia, and you will find this perfect burger. cozy place, friendly staffs, and of course very tasty burgers. just pay a visit (is a must) to this restaurant for a great burgers when you went to bali.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Monkeys - Fresh Burgers & Cold Beers also viewed

 

Been to Five Monkeys - Fresh Burgers & Cold Beers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Monkeys - Fresh Burgers & Cold Beers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.