We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value budget hotel in Kuta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali to your Saves list
Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan By Pass Ngurah Rai No. 234 | Simpang Siur, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 181 Hotels in Kuta
Melbourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value budget hotel in Kuta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Nicely air-conditioned room with huge bathroom. But missing something to put toiletries near vanity basin. Good location with hypermart opposite. Will need security guard to help you cross the road to ge there. Good massage provided in the Balinese pavilion - need to book. Buffet breakfast has nice variety. Great value for budget hotel stay near Kuta. Can book a personal driver service just outside hotel for about $50 AUD for 10 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    109
    79
    22
    18
See reviews for
50
112
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

First nights in bali was spent in this luxury hotell.

Loved the breakfast buffé ... though could use a little bit more flavour to some things.

Great clean room. the view was... non existing though ... had a wall outside.

nice pool and great service!

Room Tip: Take a room with the view facing the pool... otherwise youll be a bit disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

this hotel is well located and our stay for 3 nights were great and well memoried. The staff gave superb service by explaining everything to me as this is my first trip to Bali. a FRIENDLY and pretty staff named Yesi impressed me a lot on her services and her passion towards her job.

Room Tip: can be first choice for those who wants to relax his trip at Bali.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Arrival: Arranged for pick-up at the airport. When we exited the airport, we were greeted with close to hundreds of namecards. Alas, Grand Mega displayed the most outstanding- purple acrylic board & boldly printed words. Norman, the driver was unpretentious, friendly, and converses very very well in English. One of the best locals who we could carry a lengthy conversation with.

Upon arrival at the hotel, welcome drinks were served at the reception desk, further pampering us & making us feel welcomed. The staff at the reception was friendly and smiley.

Room (Deluxe Pool View, Rm 429; Stayed from 03/08/13 - 06/08/13): Requests for high floor, and good wifi were met. Note that there are no rooms with balconies in the entire hotel. Wifi was occasionally disrupted but still acceptable. The room was not expansively large but cozy & comfy.

Mirror sliding doors separated the bedroom from bathroom. There were televisions in front of the queen-sized bed, and in front of the bathtub. However, certain movie channels had bad reception. The sound system in the bathroom was better. Floor was a bit dusty. but cleanliness-wise, I did not see any hairs, stains, or any insects. Hence to me, on a whole, the room is good and worth the money.

Bathroom: Bath tub with pool view on one end and the rainforest shower/wc on the other. Wc flushing system was mediocre. In the middle was the basin. The bathroom uniquely designed. The main inconvenience -- there was no table top or cabinet to place our toiletries near the basin.

Pool: looks lovely & inviting. Didnt swim in it so unsure of the cleanliness.

Breakfast included: Compared to other hotels, GrandMega's breakfast buffet is pretty standard with a variety offered. There was a counter that frys eggs & pancakes, american breakfast, continental, etc Otherwise, just head to the mall opposite and eat at the shops over there.

Security/Location: Good. Guard will stop & scan each car and check the boot. Sometimes, he will also help to stop traffic so that we can cross over & head to the mall. The mall has a megamart, head over there to replenish all your supplies!

Do note that even though the hotel is in the Kuta area, to get to the main Kuta shopping/nightlife areas (Krissna at Sunset Road, Poppies Lane 1 & 2 etc.), the cab would have to do at least 2 u-turns to enter the highway. Abit of a hassle.

BEWARE: those friendly Grand Mega drivers parked right outside the hotels. They would always offer 'best or matching prices' to your destination. Just get the receptionist to call a BlueBird taxi for you. of course, they are no different from other taxi drivers, who would always try to earn the extra dollars or cheat the unsuspecting tourist. It is just ridiculous that you have to start bargaining right outside your hotel and with drivers who supposedly represent the hotel. Id rather let other taxi drivers earn my money.



In all, Grand Mega exudes warmness, openness & comfort. Albeit the irritating driver touters, the flushing system, and the lack of a balcony, this is one hotel I will visit again.

Tips for First-timers in Bali:

- Just take Blue Bird no matter how good the price seem.

- Grand Mega is pretty well-known among the taxi drivers. You will reach your hotel safely without worries each time.

- Do note that there are a lot of taxis that appear to be blue bird, but are actually not (blue lights does not equate to Blue bird taxi). Just make sure the windows have the words printed "Blue Bird" and you are fine. Nevertheless with any cab with meter, the price is pretty reasonable.

- Do not believe drivers who tell you that they do not use the meter after 11pm.

- There is no booking fee for taxis. So you can always ask the friendly receptionist to call a BlueBird cab for you.

- Do not be afraid to reject them. Taxis are aplenty in Bali. Regardless of the company they are from, the drivers are desperate for business. So always insist on meter, if not just move on to the next cab. With a more than 80% success rate, each time we walk away, the driver will relent & call us back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Away from the bustle of Legian, this hotel is ideal for a relxing holiday and at the same time gives a option to let your hair down and party at the famous Legian beach. Just across the street is the Mall Bsli Galleria, a cinema and also a DFS where you can shop duty free. We really enjoyed our stay here. Will definitely be back if situation permits. Terimakasih Grand Mega.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel has been open for a bit over a year and is clean and modern and for me a great location. I also stayed at a more traditional hotel in Legian but much preferred this one for the quieter location. I was not accosted by hawkers the minute I stepped outside. The lobby and restaurant are air-conditioned, there is free wi-fi throught the whole complex and computers also for use at reception. The pool is sparkling and has a swim up pool bar with friendly staff. Although on a busy road, once through the front door, there was no outside noise noticeable. Only slight downer was the bed was quite hard for me.
Next door is a handy-mart, across the road is the Pavilion shopping mall with various eateries, the Hypermart which is super handy, hairdressing salon, massage and nails and a short walk further up the road are more spas and shopping. Although I was initially scared at the thought of crossing the road, the security from the hotel stopped the traffic and helped us get across the road with no incident so don't let that stop you.
There is a day spa in the complex but on this occasion I did not use it so can't comment there.
Fabulous buffet breakfast every morning with loads of food kept me going until late in the day. Dinner was lovely too although I only tried a couple of things on the menu as I ate elsewhere on some on the nights.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back facing the local houses, so not much of a view, but I am not sure if the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed recently for a couple of nites. Was so impressed that I returned four nites later for a 5 nite stay. V.impressed as was rewarded with an upgrade at no xtra cost.
Service: from the welcoming smiles n greetings to front check in.....excellent!
Value: 4 star hotel ...........2 star price.....great deal!
Sleep quality: comfy,clean n sound......zzzzzz
Cleanliness: very well maintained......pls keep it going
Location: not beach front...buy hey shuttle bus 3 times daily to kuta beach
Rooms: big, clean, TV above bathtub ..big plus
Swim pool: always clean, good size, swim up bar n choice of music.....damn good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali

Address: Jalan By Pass Ngurah Rai No. 234 | Simpang Siur, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.