We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something good in Kuta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Bali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poppies Bali
Save
You added Poppies Bali to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   Poppies Gang I, Kuta, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something good in Kuta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Poppies was highly recommended by a friend, so I was looking forward to my two night stay. Although Kuta is dreadful, the Poppies grounds are beautiful and tranquil. The pool is an oasis of calm, and the property is well located. However, my room was awful - located at the corner of the property, it was extremely noisy as it was bordered by two streets with noisy cars and scooters whizzing by at all hours of the night. I asked for a room change but they were fully booked. Pack some earplugs if you intend on getting any sleep! Although noisy, the bungalow was spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't take the corner bungalow (I think it's no.26). If it's the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your balanced review. We would just like to correct the Room Tip sentence; it is in fact Room 28 that you stayed in. Room 26 is not disturbed by any noise, and indeed has been recommended in other reviews! Room 28 is the one that can be a bit noisy at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    73
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
200
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I hated Kuta, the city is super busy, taxis keep on harassing you and you fell like a walking wallet as everyone tries to sell you something...

Poppies was the hotel we were staying and I REALLY enjoyed it. The cottages are lovely, lot of space, well isolated you feel like you are somewhere else. The swimming pool is super nice and we had plenty of time to enjoy it, there was never a lot of people and it was really relaxing.

The location is also ideal if you want to be close to the city center and next to the beach (go and enjoy the sunset!)

Finally, the staff was super nice. I forgot something in my room and they directly let me know and kept the item for 5 days. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Once you step inside the door to Poppies cottages from poppies lane, you enter Paradise. The hustle and bustle of the lane disappears into an inviting serene Oasis. The staff are lovely and friendly and cant do enough for you. The gardens are beautiful, as Is the pool area. We stayed in Cottage 21, which was clean, and like our own little getaway from the outside world. Sitting on the porch each morning drinking tea and eating bananas which are left for you each morning, was lovely. Most times we felt like we were the only people there. Papers were left every morning ( in English) and some afternoons as well.
Everything is in within walking distance, money changers, shopping, restaurants & the beach. Poppies restaurant is just a 20 metre walk when you turn right out the door to the lane,
Poppies cottages is now my first choice of places to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved this little resort, tucked away on Poppies Lane 1, so close to all amenities!! Room service was speedy. The pool area and bar was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. They don't offer breakfast in the room rate but you can order through their restaurant Poppies at a very cheap price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Loved Poppies - the cottages are beautiful and the outside bathroom is magical. Loved the pool - perfect place to relax after shopping :) - not too far from the beach and good variety of restaurants close by. They bring you a paper in the morning and cold water - only downside was there was no kettle but they were very helpful and delivered hot water each morning and night so I could make a couple of coffees. Room services was very quick and always good. The hotel staff were helpful when we had a mix up with our bags and it was sorted quickly. I would recommend this place for couples very quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Poppies is on a very busy street/ alley in Kuta. Once you are in the property, you are golden though. It is so magical and tranquil. You can walk down Poppies Lane to Kuta beach. Just be warned that it's not a peaceful walk. It's filled with motorbikes going every which way and even cars.

Our cottage was so nicely decorated. Even the bathroom had a beautiful sculpture, plants and rocks. They pay extremely close attention to the property. The property is filled with beautiful sculptures. Someone meticulously places fresh flowers around the property each morning.

If you are not in the mood to go to the beach, I completely recommend the pool. It's gorgeous. The lawn chairs are very comfortable. The bar by the pool offers very good deals as well. I loved the bartender; he was very friendly.

I booked this place over three months in advance. I tried to come back at the end of my trip; however, they were book. Try to book early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I first tried booking into Poppies cottages 5 years ago after reading great reviews, well after trying to book for two other trips after that and actually doing a visit to check them out I finally managed to get a booking in July for my GF and I.
After staying at Poppies I understand why it is so very popular, it is simply superb, it is not for those who want swim up bars and party time, it is for those who want to relax in a beautiful place. It is quiet, private and tranquil, surrounded by magnificent gardens, yet located in the very popular and busy area of Kuta with many restaurants and nightspots really close.
I feel the prices have risen above the average since I first tried booking 5 years ago....... what a bargain it would have been then because it is still good value now, not sure if breakfast was ever included in the price previously however it is not now so ensure you budget a little extra....in saying that so many fantastic restaurants close by including Poppies own, which was again fantastic, also complimentary tea and fruit is delivered to the room every morning.
The staff at the cottages and the restaurant were very friendly and helpful as is normal at near all places in Bali, was really happy with the room service, prices for drinks were even cheaper than at the mini markets...delivered within minutes :-).
I found that everything about the cottages and surrounds has been thought out well, the rooms are great and just loved the garden bathroom, the pool was excellent too, clean and again well thought out.
Ok, just to throw in a little gripe for gripes sake, the bed could have been a little softer.
On that note though I can only say that if this place disappoints anyone then they should have a serious look at themselves, lol.
Absolutely fantastic

Room Tip: We were in room 12 and it was great, close to the exit and pool, think prob all rooms would be terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Address: Poppies Gang I, Kuta, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppies Bali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After three decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.