We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Kuta feel better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Poppies Bali to your Saves list
Poppies Bali
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   Poppies Gang I, Kuta, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Made Kuta feel better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I hated Kuta, the city is super busy, taxis keep on harassing you and you fell like a walking wallet as everyone tries to sell you something...

Poppies was the hotel we were staying and I REALLY enjoyed it. The cottages are lovely, lot of space, well isolated you feel like you are somewhere else. The swimming pool is super nice and we had plenty of time to enjoy it, there was never a lot of people and it was really relaxing.

The location is also ideal if you want to be close to the city center and next to the beach (go and enjoy the sunset!)

Finally, the staff was super nice. I forgot something in my room and they directly let me know and kept the item for 5 days. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    77
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
211
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Once you step inside the door to Poppies cottages from poppies lane, you enter Paradise. The hustle and bustle of the lane disappears into an inviting serene Oasis. The staff are lovely and friendly and cant do enough for you. The gardens are beautiful, as Is the pool area. We stayed in Cottage 21, which was clean, and like our own little getaway from the outside world. Sitting on the porch each morning drinking tea and eating bananas which are left for you each morning, was lovely. Most times we felt like we were the only people there. Papers were left every morning ( in English) and some afternoons as well.
Everything is in within walking distance, money changers, shopping, restaurants & the beach. Poppies restaurant is just a 20 metre walk when you turn right out the door to the lane,
Poppies cottages is now my first choice of places to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved this little resort, tucked away on Poppies Lane 1, so close to all amenities!! Room service was speedy. The pool area and bar was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. They don't offer breakfast in the room rate but you can order through their restaurant Poppies at a very cheap price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Loved Poppies - the cottages are beautiful and the outside bathroom is magical. Loved the pool - perfect place to relax after shopping :) - not too far from the beach and good variety of restaurants close by. They bring you a paper in the morning and cold water - only downside was there was no kettle but they were very helpful and delivered hot water each morning and night so I could make a couple of coffees. Room services was very quick and always good. The hotel staff were helpful when we had a mix up with our bags and it was sorted quickly. I would recommend this place for couples very quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Poppies is on a very busy street/ alley in Kuta. Once you are in the property, you are golden though. It is so magical and tranquil. You can walk down Poppies Lane to Kuta beach. Just be warned that it's not a peaceful walk. It's filled with motorbikes going every which way and even cars.

Our cottage was so nicely decorated. Even the bathroom had a beautiful sculpture, plants and rocks. They pay extremely close attention to the property. The property is filled with beautiful sculptures. Someone meticulously places fresh flowers around the property each morning.

If you are not in the mood to go to the beach, I completely recommend the pool. It's gorgeous. The lawn chairs are very comfortable. The bar by the pool offers very good deals as well. I loved the bartender; he was very friendly.

I booked this place over three months in advance. I tried to come back at the end of my trip; however, they were book. Try to book early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I first tried booking into Poppies cottages 5 years ago after reading great reviews, well after trying to book for two other trips after that and actually doing a visit to check them out I finally managed to get a booking in July for my GF and I.
After staying at Poppies I understand why it is so very popular, it is simply superb, it is not for those who want swim up bars and party time, it is for those who want to relax in a beautiful place. It is quiet, private and tranquil, surrounded by magnificent gardens, yet located in the very popular and busy area of Kuta with many restaurants and nightspots really close.
I feel the prices have risen above the average since I first tried booking 5 years ago....... what a bargain it would have been then because it is still good value now, not sure if breakfast was ever included in the price previously however it is not now so ensure you budget a little extra....in saying that so many fantastic restaurants close by including Poppies own, which was again fantastic, also complimentary tea and fruit is delivered to the room every morning.
The staff at the cottages and the restaurant were very friendly and helpful as is normal at near all places in Bali, was really happy with the room service, prices for drinks were even cheaper than at the mini markets...delivered within minutes :-).
I found that everything about the cottages and surrounds has been thought out well, the rooms are great and just loved the garden bathroom, the pool was excellent too, clean and again well thought out.
Ok, just to throw in a little gripe for gripes sake, the bed could have been a little softer.
On that note though I can only say that if this place disappoints anyone then they should have a serious look at themselves, lol.
Absolutely fantastic

Room Tip: We were in room 12 and it was great, close to the exit and pool, think prob all rooms would be terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I can't get over how beautiful this place is. I've stayed in high end resorts before and nothing compares to the sheer beauty of Poppies Cottages. From the traditional feel of the cottages to the breathtaking gardens and the beautiful pool, the delicious food and the friendly staff, everything was just perfect and I would not hesitate to recommend Poppies Cottages to anyone. This would definitely be my first choice if I ever decide to stay in Kuta again.

Room Tip: I worried unnecessarily that the cottages closest to the front would be noisy. They are all very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.4 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#13 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#24 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Address: Poppies Gang I, Kuta, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poppies Bali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After three decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.