We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Walon Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Walon Bungalows to your Saves list
La Walon Bungalows
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gang Poppies 1, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Penang
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was in Bali for a week, and stayed at La Walon for the final two nights - since it is located 20mins away from airport. I've chosen this place after reading review on Trip Advisor.
My first impression was not so good, perhaps because I was staying at a luxury villa in Ubud earlier.

Good points:
- Great location, 10-15mins walk to Kuta beach (Opposite Hard Rock Hotel)
- 24hours mart is a minute away from hotel
- new shopping mall coming up at the area
- Money changer is everywhere (but please choose the trustworthy ones)
- Lots of TV channels
- Good staffs, friendly and manager (Made) is polite - although I find difficulties understanding his conversation
- Great value for money
- There is a nice restaurant opposite the hotel, named Bali Agung. I love this place and had dinner for both night of stay there.

Not so good points:
- Room not well maintained, although I took Deluxe room on the new wing.
- Roads/ally towards hotel is very narrow, if you plan to rent a car this hotel is not the place
(the road was under repair when I was there, thus it make things worse)
- Disappointed with the tour guide, do not sound knowledgeable - only talk when we ask (would suggest to take tours from other agencies, there are many around Kuta itself)
- Breakfast was boring, I experience better breakfast on previous visit at Legian stay with the same range of room price.
- Bathroom is not so clean, many things were loose and vents not working (room that I stayed)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    73
    33
    6
    11
See reviews for
33
41
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

excellent in all regards clean modern room friendly staff a real good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you pay a cheap room for it's great location in Kuta, this hotel is fair enough. I only paid about Rp250.000 (US$27) / night and I had Kuta Beach on at little distance (about 15 minutes by foot or 3 minutes by motocycle). If you rent a car and want to park it in front of the hotel, forget this hotel. It's at Poppies Lane.
Old furnitures, clean room, dirty bathroom, sweet staff, good breakfast.

You'll have what you pay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was somewhat apprehensive after reading some of the other reviews, but decided to give it a go. Our emails were promptly attended to, and transport from the airport was waitng. Throughout our two week stay we found the staff to be unobtrusive but always available if required. Breakfast was included and was lacking in imagination, but certainly more than enough.We were in one of the renovated rooms, which was spacious and quiet. Unfortunatley other meals were not so good. However, Bali Agung is opposite. This hotel is well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Make sure you book either a new wing room or a renovated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at la walon 13 nights 5th may till 18. C'ant complaint staff so nice always smile.Breakfast ok.Closed to beach shop. Stay in a standard room good value for money and peace of mind. Looking foward to stay there december. Thanks MR walon

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room view of swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have been told so many times that I pay too much for accomodation while in Bali,There is way cheaper I know, but value for money and peace of mind,location and security,ya cant beat it.Always get the new building ,eat accross the street at Agungs, and minimize Aircon usage.

Room Tip: New wing only prefer above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

we stayed at La Walon in April and have to say the location was outstanding!The room we got was a standard which was not the best.The bathroom/toilet was horrible and pretty dirty.A friend also booked here and his room/bathroom was much better in the newer wing, so if you can book this room.Breakfast was ok and the dinner at the same place was outstanding with generous portions and lots of variety.Would possibly stay gain because of location in Poppys Lane but would get a better room.BEWARE!!!when hiring scooters be aware that if you are stopped by the Police they will fine you tourist prices!They will get you anywhere/anytime and will ask you if you have an international license or will just fine you for any minor traffic offense.They will take whatever is in your wallet and threaten to take you to court if you don't pay.Be careful!

Room Tip: book a deluxe in new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Walon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Walon Bungalows

Address: Gang Poppies 1, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Walon Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Walon Hotel is situated in Poppies Lane No.1 which is the Hub of Bali and the center of Bali's fantastic shopping, bars, cafes, restaurants and beach area. Our Hotel provides the perfect combination of bustling urban life and relaxed seaside living. You can escape from the bustle of everyday life as you lie back on a sun lounger, sip a tropical cocktail from the Pool Bar and bask under cloudless skies. The original La Walon Hotel was built more than 20 years ago and was styled on the traditional Balinese Bungalow style with large bedroom area and huge bathrooms. It has had many 'upgrades' over the years and is currently going through new 'upgrades'(started 15th January 2015 and scheduled to be completed by March 2015). All rooms will be re-painted with updated bathrooms and beautiful new linens and bed decor. The original well established balinese gardens are kept immaculate as is the the crystal clear pool and surrounding lounges and umbrellas. We are now offering 'Express Check In' If you contact our booking office directly through our webpage with the necessary details, we will have all your 'Check In' documents filled in for you. When you arrive, you will only need to check the form and sign in and then straight off to your room! Booking directly with us, we will also supply Free Airport Pick Up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Walon Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Walon Bungalows Hotel Kuta
La Walon Hotel
La Walon Bungalows Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Walon Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.