We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Green Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Green Garden Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Kartika Plaza | South Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 181 Hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great staff, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at Green Garden for 5 nights in October 2012. It is in a good location, just 5 minutes walk from Discovery Mall. The hotel is very clean and the room service is very good. The staff are super friendly and greet you by name. It has a very nice pool area - it is only small, but if you want a larger pool then you are allowed to use the one at Febri's just down the road, as they are sister hotels.
The breakfasts were plentiful and very nice with a good selection and they make amazing pancakes. My only complaint is that they were doing construction work in the basement whilst I was there and my room was fairly close to it and the bang bang bang all day of the hammers got a bit much - hence me spending quite a bit of time at Febri's. They were still going at 9.15pm one night so I phoned down to reception and complained and they stopped but they should be more considerate. Another morning they started at 6.45am. I think that if they are doing construction, you should be warned before they take your booking.
Most nights, they have a singer come in that is quite pleasant to listen to.
There is a good money changer about 2 doors down and an excellent Indian restaurant next door and an excellent Thai place across the road.

This is a good homestyle feel hotel. It is small with only about 30 rooms so you get to meet the other guests. There were mainly Aussies there when I was there.

had it not been for the construction, I would have given it 5 stars

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    148
    39
    6
    6
See reviews for
94
128
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel grounds, facilities and location is fantastic, especially the staff that looked after us so well. All the restaurant staff were always helpful and happy, and remembered my family from previous stays and made us all feel very welcome again. The rooms are always cleaned perfectly - The animal towels on your bed are amazing!. The ladies of Sulis Spa at the Green Garden Hotel are all very special and fantastic at their jobs. They were all very accommodating and lovely to deal with.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at Green Garden on recommendations on TA. I was travelling with my mother and three children from Darwin coming in on an evening flight. We wanted a hotel which was reasonably priced and near Waterbom park so that we could go the following day and also a little shopping before heading off to Gili T. Green Garden fitted all of our requirements. Pool was clean and breakfast was tasty. We had a family room which overlooked the pool with an additional mattress on the floor. I think the cost was around $150 or maybe $120 either way it was good value and certainly ticked all the boxes for us. Location is great as it is just own from Waterbom so no taxi ride required and can walk to cheap Kuta shops.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff here are so lovely. They'll make you feel right at home. We had the impression that it was quieter than it's sister hotel (Febri's) up the road. Febri's had lots of families, whereas Green Garden had a wider variety of folk. The pool was lovely, the breakfasts were great, the massage spa staff were wonderful, and as usual, the wait staff are what really make it fun! They would chat to us, and share jokes with the kids... it was great fun! We enjoyed our stay here very much. The staff really looked after us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff are fantastic and cleanliness very high. The staff are fantastic - a lovely family feeling. I have stayed at this hotel two years in a row. The only thing that would stop me staying next year is that it seems to attract lots of smokers. So you eat breakfast with smoke blown on you, sit by the pool and once again smoke blown upon you.
I would suggest to management having a smoking area in the dining room and banning smoking around the pool.

Room Tip: Away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Positive:
Brilliant breakfast. Rooms very clean. Loved the towels. Staff very helpful. Great day spa, well worth paying extra money than having one in the streets. Room service was spot on. My teenage kids loved the chicken nuggets, spring rolls and banana pancakes The food was amazing most of the time. Unless it is busy and they don't seem to cope. Would eat there but wouldn't stay there next time...
Negative:
We arrived at 11am.When checking in no welcome drink instead we were informed that the water had been turned off and wouldn't be on until after 4pm. Pool was small and around the pool you couldn't swing a cat.
The rooms were clean, but old and very very noisy. We could hear all the staff shouting (never talking) early every morning, so never had a sleep in.
Then 2 days later there was a huge water leak, so the water was turned off again for the 2nd day!! There was lots of older couples that seemed to just hog all the sunbeds (there was only about 8 of them). Then when they left in came the loud schoolies running pissed around the corridors screaming and vandalising the picture statues. Should have stayed at the Bingtan Kuta. Much better :(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenbali, General Manager at Green Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear "AmandaDavies2013"

Many thanks for your 7-night stay at the budget Green Garden Hotel with your teenage children earlier this month.

From the subject line of the review, you have certainly made a very strong statement despite the many good points also being mentioned in your review. I am sorry to learn about your disappointments and please allow me to respond to your negatives at the best I could.

A couple of months ago prior to your arrival, you emailed the hotel for 2 rooms next to each other and with view to the swimming pool. However, only 1 week before arrival you contacted the hotel again with specific request for 2 single beds for your children and that you wanted to avoid a number of rooms which are located at the west end of the hotel. With difficulty after relocating some other guests around as the hotel was running almost full, finally we managed to block the 2 rooms which exactly matched to your request; these rooms happened to be near the restaurant. However, to our dismay after your check-in, you expressed that you did not like the room location and were disappointed that alternative rooms were unavailable.

Green Garden being a small budget hotel unfortunately had limitations to satisfy you in spite of all our efforts to deliver a good holiday experience to our guests. A new water heating systems was installed and hence no running water was available from noon to four pm for 2 days. Prior notification had been passed on to all rooms and bathroom tubs were filled with fresh water in case guests need to use the bathroom in the 4 hours of both afternoons. We apologize that you felt inconvenience despite all the anticipations we had made. As you were comparing Green Garden to Bintang Kuta (a new 4-star hotel nearby), I understand that we might not be able to deliver the same comfort due to limited facilities we have. After all, be reminded that their room price is almost double than ours.

In addition to the small pool in the hotel, Guests at Green Garden can always use pool facilities at Febri's - our sister hotel 75 meters across the street. Its swimming pool is much larger with over 30 sunbeds available and certainly you would not need to fight for sunbeds there. I wonder if you had utilized these extra facilities as pertinent information is provided in your room directory (i.e. laminated standing cards on your room desk with bright blue colours).

Most patrons of Green Garden are mature travellers and have been repeat guests at the hotel for many years. Unfortunately, there were 4 young boys who were noisy and misbehaved during your stay. Our security had told them off several times and finally they were made to leave the hotel and stayed elsewhere.

Besides the disappointment above, your positive review on the following hotel's facilities were much appreciated:
1. Brilliant buffet breakfast (which is included in the room price).
2. Very clean rooms.
3. Helpful staff.
4. Amazing food and room service.
5. Great day spa.
6. Hotel location.

Those are indeed the qualities that make our hotel patrons keep coming back over the years.

Sincerely,

Paulus Wibowo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was by far the friendliest and nicest hotel we stayed in for a cheap price. Lovely pool and garden, lovely meals , close to good bars and cheap shopping , close to beach and the staff were impeccable . I give this hotel 11 out of 10 for value

Room Tip: If you want a ground level room you must book way in advance but upstairs gives you a nice pool , ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden Hotel

Address: Jl Kartika Plaza | South Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kuta
#15 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Garden Hotel is a small family-run hotel with prime location at Jalan Kartika Plaza. This hotel is a sister hotel from Green Garden Beach Resort & Spa and Febri's Hotel & Spa (all are located within the same district). Confirmation documents are required upon check-in. Please ensure to communicate your special request (if any) + estimated time of arrival with hotel reservations well prior to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Green Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Tuban
Hotel Green Garden
Green Garden Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.