We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Green Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Green Garden Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Kartika Plaza | South Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 189 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff are fantastic and cleanliness very high. The staff are fantastic - a lovely family feeling. I have stayed at this hotel two years in a row. The only thing that would stop me staying next year is that it seems to attract lots of smokers. So you eat breakfast with smoke blown on you, sit by the pool and once again smoke blown upon you.
I would suggest to management having a smoking area in the dining room and banning smoking around the pool.

Room Tip: Away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    158
    40
    6
    5
See reviews for
106
133
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Positive:
Brilliant breakfast. Rooms very clean. Loved the towels. Staff very helpful. Great day spa, well worth paying extra money than having one in the streets. Room service was spot on. My teenage kids loved the chicken nuggets, spring rolls and banana pancakes The food was amazing most of the time. Unless it is busy and they don't seem to cope. Would eat there but wouldn't stay there next time...
Negative:
We arrived at 11am.When checking in no welcome drink instead we were informed that the water had been turned off and wouldn't be on until after 4pm. Pool was small and around the pool you couldn't swing a cat.
The rooms were clean, but old and very very noisy. We could hear all the staff shouting (never talking) early every morning, so never had a sleep in.
Then 2 days later there was a huge water leak, so the water was turned off again for the 2nd day!! There was lots of older couples that seemed to just hog all the sunbeds (there was only about 8 of them). Then when they left in came the loud schoolies running pissed around the corridors screaming and vandalising the picture statues. Should have stayed at the Bingtan Kuta. Much better :(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenbali, General Manager at Green Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear "AmandaDavies2013"

Many thanks for your 7-night stay at the budget Green Garden Hotel with your teenage children earlier this month.

From the subject line of the review, you have certainly made a very strong statement despite the many good points also being mentioned in your review. I am sorry to learn about your disappointments and please allow me to respond to your negatives at the best I could.

A couple of months ago prior to your arrival, you emailed the hotel for 2 rooms next to each other and with view to the swimming pool. However, only 1 week before arrival you contacted the hotel again with specific request for 2 single beds for your children and that you wanted to avoid a number of rooms which are located at the west end of the hotel. With difficulty after relocating some other guests around as the hotel was running almost full, finally we managed to block the 2 rooms which exactly matched to your request; these rooms happened to be near the restaurant. However, to our dismay after your check-in, you expressed that you did not like the room location and were disappointed that alternative rooms were unavailable.

Green Garden being a small budget hotel unfortunately had limitations to satisfy you in spite of all our efforts to deliver a good holiday experience to our guests. A new water heating systems was installed and hence no running water was available from noon to four pm for 2 days. Prior notification had been passed on to all rooms and bathroom tubs were filled with fresh water in case guests need to use the bathroom in the 4 hours of both afternoons. We apologize that you felt inconvenience despite all the anticipations we had made. As you were comparing Green Garden to Bintang Kuta (a new 4-star hotel nearby), I understand that we might not be able to deliver the same comfort due to limited facilities we have. After all, be reminded that their room price is almost double than ours.

In addition to the small pool in the hotel, Guests at Green Garden can always use pool facilities at Febri's - our sister hotel 75 meters across the street. Its swimming pool is much larger with over 30 sunbeds available and certainly you would not need to fight for sunbeds there. I wonder if you had utilized these extra facilities as pertinent information is provided in your room directory (i.e. laminated standing cards on your room desk with bright blue colours).

Most patrons of Green Garden are mature travellers and have been repeat guests at the hotel for many years. Unfortunately, there were 4 young boys who were noisy and misbehaved during your stay. Our security had told them off several times and finally they were made to leave the hotel and stayed elsewhere.

Besides the disappointment above, your positive review on the following hotel's facilities were much appreciated:
1. Brilliant buffet breakfast (which is included in the room price).
2. Very clean rooms.
3. Helpful staff.
4. Amazing food and room service.
5. Great day spa.
6. Hotel location.

Those are indeed the qualities that make our hotel patrons keep coming back over the years.

Sincerely,

Paulus Wibowo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was by far the friendliest and nicest hotel we stayed in for a cheap price. Lovely pool and garden, lovely meals , close to good bars and cheap shopping , close to beach and the staff were impeccable . I give this hotel 11 out of 10 for value

Room Tip: If you want a ground level room you must book way in advance but upstairs gives you a nice pool , ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great. Booked here for first two nights, after arriving very tired from working hard to leave half of family (the boys, husband and 16 yo) in complete comfort and last minute jobs to help pay for holiday with daughter. So surprising. It looks too exposed from entry but the staff truly made such a difference to my holiday. First night was tired but had drinks and dinner brought to me pool side. The resturant was actually sufficiently screened so I didn't feel exposed. Food great. Service really great. I would recommend a room at back or near back, upstairs. Cleanliness great, wifi great.
Would stay again and we have stayed at the santika very close, but not very cheerful. I wouldrecommend the singer to play more nights as is was lovely to hear such time less classics without the boom boom. The whole ambience was relaxing with lovely well kept small grounds. Prob not good for small children as pool has too easy assess.

Room Tip: Either back or upstairs near back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

All rooms overlook the pool except rooms 28-29 and 38-39. Those rooms overlook the wall of another block of rooms. The hotel is a small balinese style with 30 rooms over 3 floors. Our room was extremely clean, fresh and well mainained. Housekeeping staff open a small latched window above the doors when your room is cleaned in the morning and close the same in the afternoon (before sunset). Very clever !! This eliminates any "musky" humid smells that happen in all rooms in the tropics. All staff were very friendly. Breakfast will suit western tastes. Baked beans, cooked tomato, ham, toast with a variety of jams and juices, egg station, a self serve automatic coffee machine. Asian dishes also on offer. If you email the hotel direct they will try their best to accomodate your requests. This level of effort was very much appreciated. Overall a great room in a very well maintained and managed smaller boutique complex. I would definately recommend !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thanks to the owner, manager and great staff for hosting an enjoyable holiday. You have a great spot that is professionally managed and very welcoming.
I Strongly recommend this hotel for those looking for a lay back, informal, easy going holiday in a great location. The staff are a real asset to the owner and I commended them for their consistent 5 star service.
If you don't take advantage of the complementary treatment at the in-house spa you are missing out. The girls do a great job. In fact I am confident in suggesting you will find it difficult to resist going back for seconds and, if your stay is long enough, thirds.
The rooms are large and clean and the mattress's very comfortable. I was told a short term room renovation program is underway at present. The impact of the reno's should not negatively influence you to stay at the Green Garden. The worst of the renovation noise starts around 1pm on the odd day. You will be given timely warning when the noise will be at its worst. (In that event I recommend you plan to leave your room around 1pm and as I did, spend an hour around the pool followed by meal and drink until about 3pm when the worst of the noise is over).
The dining/bar area is the hub of the complex. If you feel like having a day in it’s not hard to find a table under the cool roof, sit back and watch the world go buy while you have a snack and a drink. The food, although average, is safe and relatively inexpensive. Breakfast is par for the course. You can't go wrong having lunch in-house especially if you are staying in or want to return for a break from masses on the streets. I can recommend the spring rolls and one of their burgers for lunch. The only thing missing from the menu is Ribs. Local Beer and cocktails are very competitively priced. Having said that, if you want to BYO there is a comprehensively stocked supermarket next door to bulk buy and fill your large fridge for a few days of serious consumption on the balcony.
I highly recommend this hotel for couples and solo travellers. I suggest families may find the compact grounds, small pool and lack of children's activities a bit frustrating. I would definitely stay again, more so now that the rooms are being renovated.

Room Tip: "if you are allocated a third floor room overlooking the pool take it without hesitation. The c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Green Garden Hotel for my 4th stay between 19th to 24th August 2013. This Hotel is a sister Hotel to the Febris Hotel up the road. I again was very happy with the rooms ,which were clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. The Staff here are very good and Meals are great. This Hotel strives for excellence by all its staff ,and if you do have a problem they fix it there and then with no fuss. I would recommend this small comfortable Hotel to family or couples that don't want the big name hotel to stay at. The pool is a good size and very welcome after a days shopping.

Room Tip: First floor is a good location looking over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden Hotel

Address: Jl Kartika Plaza | South Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kuta
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Garden Hotel is a small family-run hotel with prime location at Jalan Kartika Plaza. This hotel is a sister hotel from Green Garden Beach Resort & Spa and Febri's Hotel & Spa (all are located within the same district). Confirmation documents are required upon check-in. Please ensure to communicate your special request (if any) + estimated time of arrival with hotel reservations well prior to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Tuban
Hotel Green Garden
Green Garden Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.