We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Green Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Green Garden Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Kartika Plaza | South Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel exceeds it's star rating in my opinion. Breakfast is excellent, with good choice, and the new egg station is great. Other meals are good, and the dining room is generally full in the evening. There are singers there most nights, but this finishes around 10pm. The staff cannot do enough for you, and all are helpful. The rooms are clean, and the sheets and towels are changed every day. You are also given pool towels, so you don't have to visit reception to get them. There is a flat screen TV on the wall with numerous channels, and the fridge is a good size, which is also empty, so you can put your own stuff in it. It is a close walk to waterbom, centro, and kuta square is a quick taxi ride. There is a small complex a hundred yards away where there is a good laundry, a massage area, and a bank, where we sometimes changed money. The hotel itself has great spa facilities - I am not a big spa-goer, but I enjoyed it. We always stay beside the pool, though we don't like a lot of noise. The pool closes at 10pm, and reported noise is soon dealt with.
We love the staff here, and will continue to stay whilever it is open.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    148
    39
    6
    6
See reviews for
94
128
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I thought that it was a little on the expensive side for the rooms that they had. I wouldn't call it a budget hotel in Bali. The pool was nice, but it was right outside our room and other guests were out in the pool or on their porches until late at night. We could here music and bottles breaking one night. I was the awoken the next morning by the stereo in the room next door which was being used by 2 girls packing to leave at 6:00am. So basically the first night was terrible for sleeping. We also got massages while we were there and halfway through the massage karaoke music came blasting into the room. It turned out that the music wasn't karaoke, but actually from the house band playing at the hotel's restaurant. It was very clean and the staff were very pleasant. One of the massage ladies even helped me with my hair free of charge. It was in walking distance of everything. They just seemed to have a problem with noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenbali, General Manager at Green Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear italiarose

Thanks for your stay in Christmas holiday week and taking time to respond to my follow-up messages.

From your response, I am relieved to learn that hotel's staff were very nice and that the accommodation was beautiful but you just didn't get a lot of sleep due to the noise from guests staying next to your room. I wish you had expressed your concern to the Reception when their packing was noisy that morning (or directly to our Operation Manageress as she also stands by at the restaurant before breakfast starts); your concern would soon be dealt with.

I also noticed that your room was located on the ground floor - right in front of the swimming pool. Although this location is usually on highest demand due to its close proximity to the pool, it was certainly not the right option for you. I'd appreciate if preference or special request was submitted at the time of booking so that we can allocate your room accordingly.

On behalf of all the staff and management, I wish you the best with the year ahead and hope that Green Garden Hotel will again be given another opportunity to accommodate you again you again on your next Bali holiday.

Kindest regards,

Paulus Wibowo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was nice, as was the spa (if a little overpriced). We checked in after midnight, and the porter was very helpful. The pool was excellent and very clean. The hotel is withing walking distance to all the local attractions, but is far enough away to be nice and peaceful. The only problem we encountered at the hotel was the doors between the adjoining rooms (I'm not sure if all rooms have this setup) is not at all soundproof, so if your neighbours are up early or late, you will be too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at The Green Garden Hotel for 4 nights at the end of our stay.The rooms were dated but super clean & the bed was comfy so can't complain.The staff were great & helpful,the pool was clean & there always seemed to be spare sunbeds.The restaurant food was nice & not too pricey.
We used the spa there & although the treatment itself was great the room was a bit smelly.A great stay if your on a budget,I would stay there again no worries.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having not stayed here before and having heard mixed reviews I was a bit apprehensive. Great find if you are looking for cheap, clean and comfortable accomodation. Only downfall was limited facilities within your room, like no dvd player; on request hired one that didn't work properly and no access to an iron. On the plus had a good size fridge that you could stock yourself and restaurant prices for drinks and food were good. At the end of the day you get what you pay for, being cheap, clean and comfortable accomodation. Would stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenbali, General Manager at Green Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Kelsi M of Dunsborough

Thanks so much for staying at the hotel recently. Indeed, as outlined in your review as well as in the hotel's official website, Green Garden Hotel is categorized as a budget hotel and its price well reflects its category. Despite its inexpensive room price, we take pride in maintaining the hotel facilities at our best of which the hotel has gained many good reports from regular patrons. Apart from the comfortable service + cleanliness we provide, our patrons praise the in-room freebies which are not commonly available in the budget hotel such as large refrigerator (where you can stock your own), WiFi access from your own private room balcony, 36' LCD TV with over 60 international channels (including movie channels + sport channels), great room air-conditioner, etc.

Unfortunately, being budget price, the hotel also has limitations in providing uncommonly requested freebies such as DVD player + ironing while those are readily available from next door shops. If you wish, they can be arranged through the hotel's receptionist. DVD player is available for rent from DVD stores next door for less than AUD 3 per day (you can always exchange the player if it does not work to your expectation). Laundry + ironing service is also available from the laundry shop next door for merely 20 cents per shirt.

Again, thank you for rating the hotel's review boxes as VERY GOOD in the VALUE, LOCATION, SLEEP QUALITY, ROOMS and CLEANLINESS. We look forward to be of your service again on your next Bali holiday.

Sincerely,

PAULUS WIBOWO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A great little hotel small enough with just the 30 rooms for staff after initial introduction greet you by name throughout your stay and are ready to assist in anyway they can.
Having traveled to Bali many times I always look for accommodation that is comfortable and good place to kick back and relax after seeing the sights or running the gauntlet of shops/money changers, transport offers and endless offers of massages and the like and the Green Garden provided a quiet haven and the pool is a great place to cool off.
Rooms all overlook the pool area and are cool and spacious each with a balcony or a seating area if you are located on the ground floor.
The restaurant has a reasonably priced selection although the hotels location means that with a short walk you have all a vast array catering for all tastes and budgets.
The included breakfast provided a good and changing selection daily with an "egg station" able to quickly whip up eggs anyway you like as well as pancakes or waffles should you so desire.
The highlight for me was Sulis Spa located with within the hotel offering excellent massages in a quiet cool and peaceful environment and well worth the extra $ 10.00 as apposed to the somewhat dodgy ones on offer on the street - highly recommended.
The hotels location is within easy walking distance to Discovery Mall, Kuta Square and the Art Market for the obligatory Bintang T shirt.
There is also a small variety supermarket located next door for all your incidentals and icy cold bintangs to stock your rooms fridge.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and I,ll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Recommend 2nd and 3rd floor for the more private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

there's nothing bad i can say about this hotel. i spent two days there. shops and bars are everywhere around. the staffs are excellent! Sonya you're the best ;) Kuta beach is a "bit" far, not a problem if you enjoy walking all the way there. airport transfer is also available for free! definitely want to go back there.

Room Tip: pool view is always a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden Hotel

Address: Jl Kartika Plaza | South Kuta Beach, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kuta
#15 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Garden Hotel is a small family-run hotel with prime location at Jalan Kartika Plaza. This hotel is a sister hotel from Green Garden Beach Resort & Spa and Febri's Hotel & Spa (all are located within the same district). Confirmation documents are required upon check-in. Please ensure to communicate your special request (if any) + estimated time of arrival with hotel reservations well prior to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Green Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Tuban
Hotel Green Garden
Green Garden Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.