We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bali” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 175 Hotels in Kuta
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived in Kuta Bali by taxi. Not having a reservation anywhere we asked the taxi driver for a 'good hotel'. He drove us straight to the Discovery. My wife went inside as I waited with the driver. About 5 minutes later she came out. We paid the driver who carried bags inside for us (amazing). Just walking into the lobby is an adventure. I cannot say enough on how gorgeous it is!!! The bell man assisted us up to our 4th floor room. It was very warm. The bellman turned on the AC for us and almost immediately the room started to cool down. The shower was hot, AC hot and the view of the ocean was magnificent. Breakfast at the hotel was great. When we return to Bali, we will be staying at the Discovery for sure!!!!

Room Tip: Gert an ocean view. Less street noise and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    269
    74
    20
    25
See reviews for
254
312
28
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Gorgeous hotel and grounds right in the heart of crazy Kuta. The breakfast was amazing with lots of variety. Hotel staff was very friendly and you can easily arrange lots of excursions with a private driver. Also very close to the airport!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is First time stay at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel,
We reserved Beach front Room WOOW... Amazing, Big Room, Clean and all Staff is Helpfully, Frendly, Nice,
Just want To say Over All Is Wonderfull and ( I'll be back ),
Wonderfull 5 Stars Hotel..!!!

For Breakfast They have Healty, Vegetarian, and Western Food Corner, Hopely for the future Discovery Hotel will served Breakfast for HALAL Food

Room Tip: Beach Front Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel old but kept up. The rooms are ready for a change, but clean. The hotel grounds are nice and well groomed. Has beach access and this is nice. Sunsets are spectacular.

All this good, but at the end of the check out, they provide two payment options, local currency and US$ Even though I chose local currency, the hotel employee still slapped me with the US$ option against my clear instructions.
They of course use a poor exchange rate that costed me an additional 5 or 6%.

Room Tip: Push for a pool view towards the sun set on 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear JREB777

Thank you for staying at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel and for taking the time to post your review. And on your feedback, we do have our Senior Manager in charge as well as 24hr Duty Manager
to assist with any concerns or problem during your stay as we would like to ensure that we deliver wonderful holiday experience to our guest. Surely if this incident would have been reported at the time, they would have been addressed immediately.

Nevertheless we would be happy to discuss with you further if you would like to reach out to me directly

Many thanks and with kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My second stay, this time alone - wonderful, staff are always helpful and very friendly. As a single Traveller I was pleasantly surprised that the room allocated was the same size as when I have previously stayed there with others.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear cruisegirl1962

Greetings from sunny Kuta!

Thank you for staying again with us and spare some of your precious time giving us your reviews which we really appreciate.
We are very happy to know you have an equally enjoyable on your stay recently
Your recognitions and experience will be very useful for other travelers who are considering to find their return home in in the heart of Kuta Beach area

On behalf of all the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel very soon

With kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
Director of Sales & Ecommerce
E: bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a fantastic time and would recommend any one bthe stay the olny thing I found was the wifi was very slow which was very frustrating other than that it was the best resort the we have stayed in the bali people were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you we will definitely stay there again I woukd recommend any one the stay there I would give the resort five star

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Jeff S

Thank you for choosing to stay at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel and we really appreciate that you take the time to post your review in Trip Advisor
We are very happy to know that you had a Fantastic stay recently and your constructive feedback are duly noted and we have addressed your concerns with our team ensuring that we will always strive to improve our overall guest experience

Your recommendation: 5 Thumbs Up !

We hope to welcoming you back to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel very soon and do let us know if we can assist with your future room reservation

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visit the hotel in Late July. I have to tell you that the hotel still retains its charm after 20+ years. Sure, it might not be as grand or beautiful as other new shiny hotels in Bali. But, their service was superb and beyond. We particularly love how friendly the staffs treating us. I also had the opportunity to try their hot stone massage; which cost around USD 40+. A must try!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Jay T

Greetings from sunny Kuta!

Thank you for staying again at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel after 20 years! It’s really great to read your review of your stay recently and to hear how much the experience exceeded your expectations
We will share your review to all our dedicated team members who will be highly motivated as our efforts to deliver a wonderful Holiday experience for you as our guest have been achieved and appreciated.
Your recommendation on our famous Hot Stone Massage is highly appreciated

Wishing you a wonderful time ahead and see you in Bali again in not too distant future

Many thanks and with kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
Director of Sales & Ecommerce
E: bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.