We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Third Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have travelled to Bali may times and decided to stay at the Kartika once again. Staff from the trainee to the top were obliging, gracious and friendly. It is one of the view locations with direct access to the beach, creating a relaxed and cool atmosphere. We loved the breakfast experience, especially with the pianist playing gently in the background. What a great way to start the day. Looking forward to next time..

Room Tip: Had a 4th floor room, overlooking the gardens to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sean l

Greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel!

Thank you for staying again at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel and we hope for many more “times” to come

We had a great pleasure to have you staying with us and appreciate your recognition which we will pass to all of our dedicated team

On behalf of all Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel family member, we look forward to welcoming you back “home” in not too distant future

ps please feel free to let us know if we can be of any further assistance for your next holiday

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    341
    86
    24
    30
See reviews for
330
400
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is the best. The staff are all fantastic and welcoming and remember your name. They are very friendly and happy in their work. And it shows, nothing is a problem. The hotel facilities are great. We always stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best rooms have a large balcony with a day bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Bart M

Greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate that you take the time to write and share your valuable reviews

Your detailed reviews of your holiday experience, your recognition are highly appreciated and we believe will be very useful to other travellers when looking for wonderful accommodation with excellent staff with their attention to details, value for money in strategic Kuta area

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Many thanks and with kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 for our friends 40th Birthday. We have been staying here for the last 10 years and always stay in a Beachfront Villa which are gorgeous and you don't feel closed in with 4 walls around you like you do at other villas as these villas are facing the beach and you get a lovely breeze. The service was fabulous as always and the breakfast is to die for with so many choices which change daily. The staff know us by name now as we usually come a few times a year and always enquire about our other family members who don't always come every time and they go out of their way to help in any way they can. The hotel grounds and pool are immaculate and I can't fault the resort in any way and it will always be our second home. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Julie238

Greetings from “home” Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel!

Thank you for making Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel as your Bali Home and we really appreciate that you share your holiday experience

We are very happy that you had a wonderful time during your stay and really appreciate your recognition on fabulous service, great breakfast, staff with excellent service and beautiful environment in the heart of Kuta Bali

Always feel free to let us know if there can be anything that we can assist from this point onwards for your next home visit

Many thanks and with best regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was our first time in Bali! The pool staff were very friendly and made us feel like family especially Smiley! The hotel and grounds were lovely. The only downside is the rooms are starting to age but apart from that it is in a great location close to everything. We can't wait to come back to Bali and stay at The Discovery Kartika!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandisa701, Director of Sales at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Shawrach

Greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to be part of your Holiday

Thank you for spare some of your precious time giving us your complete and very comprehensive reviews. Appreciate that you share your amazing Holiday Experience and your recognition on the
Staff which are our great asset and reasons for most of our repeat and loyal guest to return to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Please feel free to send us email if you already have your next travel date to Bali

Many thanks and with kind regards

Bandisa Sastika (Mr)
DOS & Ecommerce
E : bandisa@discoverykartikaplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

from the moment we walked into your hotel, i was blown away with the friendliness and the relaxed atmosphere. I stayed here with my sister and it was everything we were hoping for. The pool bar staff were very friendly and made delicious cocktails, breakfast was awesome, everything you can imagine was available. The only down side was the wifi, it was only available in the lobby, but that was fine, as i was not there to be on computer.
Thankyou to all your staff, we had a amazing holiday, we will definitely be coming back....

Room Tip: Fantastic location, away from the hustle and bustle, a nice walk into Kuta
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Shawrach,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel!

First of all, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write and share your reviews & feedback.

We highly appreciate your detailed reviews of your holiday experience which we believe will be very useful to other travellers reference on finding accommodation with strategic location, great restaurants and in the very convenience walking distance to shopping centre in Kuta

We all look forward to the opportunity to better serve you and your family on your next Bali Holiday

Best Regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went for our honeymoon in discovery kartika plaza...the hotel is beautiful beyond words! ! The check in was quick...they upgraded our room for free..we had a garden facing room..The rooms were in excellent condition n I absolutely loved d room service..after spending a long day out wen we came to our room we alwaz found it spot clean(no matter how messy we left d room)..the staff is so helpful and warm u actually feel welcome there. .:)..n of course d breakfast...d buffet is truly international n veryy tasty. .they also have good varieties for vegetarians. .the pool is so beautiful we used to lay there for hours n never ever it felt crowded. .n last but not d least..d beach. .wallking there at night is just heavenly..its very safe even in very late hours..other than breakfast we did not eat in d hotel's restaurant..there r many restaurants(a good indian one) within half a km and you can even rent a bike at low price at a walking distance.. to sum up I loved every bit of my stay there..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Silky G,

Warmest greetings from Warm & Sunny Kuta!

We would like to thank you for staying with us and making Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel your second Home for your holiday

We highly appreciate your recommendation and recognition which give other travellers good reference when looking for hotel with superb location, great hospitality in the centre of Kuta Bali

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Bali trip and please do not hesitate to contact us shall there is anything that we can assist with your arrangement.

Best Regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calagry
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Location:
Perfect location! It cost $8 to get from the airport to the hotel. You walk out of the hotel and the main road has lots of pubs and restaurants, mini marts, markets, the Discovery Shopping Mall and Water Bom Park are all walking distance. It is hectic with the crazy traffic but once you are in the hotel you will not notice it. I recommend eating at Bamboo (across from hotel), delicious food and yummy drinks with live entertainment.

Hotel:
You will feel so relaxed as soon as you pull up to the hotel. It is open and clean and very well maintained. The staff are so friendly and will help you with a smile on their face. It is located on the beach so it was nice to go for a walk and by pass the hustle and bustle of the main road.

Room:
We had a Garden View Room with a balcony overlooking the pool - great view!
The room is simple but comfortable. After a day out in the humidity the room stays very cold and is just what you want to unwind. It has cable TV and a mini fridge. We bought beer one day and sat on the balcony feeling like we were in paradise. One day we came back to the room and the cleaning attendant made a towel into an Elephant, it was very cute.
Negatives:
Be prepared for the bed as it is very short. I'm 5"7 and my feet hung over the end.
Also I'm not sure if all the rooms got it but you might get woken up early morning by the chirps of the birds.
We also asked for an Ocean Facing Room but there was none left. They did give us some complimentary drink vouchers to say sorry which was nice. To be honest I think the room facing the pool was better anyway.

Pool:
Stunning! We spent most of our time here at the swim up bar. The cocktails are delicious and only around $7. You can also order food but personally I wouldn't eat there as the food was average. If you do get hungry go with the pizza. It is set up well for Australians with all the TVs playing AFL etc
The pool is really big and has plenty of room. It was never over crowded when we were there.

Breakfast:
Very spacious and lots of selection for all nationalities. It was lovely getting poached eggs or omelettes made for me every morning. We would fill up on breakfast and not bother with lunch, this worked well as there was plenty of food. Could not fault breakfast.

Massage:
I have always wanted a massage on the beach. It wasn't the cheapest massage you could get in Kuta but the location was worth it. They have a hut set up in front of the beach and we had a couples massage. It was an hour and half and I was very relaxed afterwards. At the end they give you some tea and cookies to eat while you look at the ocean. The only complaint for both of us was they didn't massage our back much. They focused on the legs which is fine but would of preferred more back, head and shoulders.

Overall one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. I would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Pool View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirah M, Manager at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Jacstar05,

Warmest greetings from Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us to be your second home on your holiday and appreciated that you taking the time to share your feedback.
We trust that you bring many wonderful holiday memories from Kuta Bali back home and share them with family, friends, colleagues

Please feel free to contact us and we will be more than happy to assist you with special arrangements on your accommodation when returning to Bali

Best Regards,
Mirah Marhaendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.