We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 174 hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 4 years but will not be returning ever again. The first visits were without issue but after the most recent visit I will be looking elsewhere to experience some real service and not the lip service on offer at this hotel.

My most recent visit was for 5 nights in a group of 12 (5 rooms). When first making the reservation we contacted the hotel directly seeing as it was a larger booking and we often stayed at this hotel we thought we might be offered a discount rate or hotel transfers or some sort of upgrade. In what should have been no surprise from the management of this hotel they were very unhelpful and as a result we booked via expedia.

After booking via expedia the hotel was contacted to arrange hotel transfers and a late checkout on at least one of the rooms (12.30am flight home). Hotel transfer was organised (be careful when organising this as in their interpretation of the english language hotel transfer only means from airport to hotel and not back again). As far as the late checkout goes they were very unhelpful once again and basically told us to organise it through our travel agent expedia. As we were travelling in a few weeks we thought we would wait and organise it when we arrived at the hotel. On arrival we were informed that they were fully booked and no late checkout would be available due to 2 conferences. You would think a customer service orientated management would have advised us of the conferences at the time we inquired about the late checkout by email but not at the discovery. After a couple of heated exchanges the best they could offer was the slight possibility of a late check out on one for the rooms at 6pm at a cost of approx $150. This was at what they made out to be a gesture of good will on their part to give us hope of paying $150 for use of one of their rooms for 6 hours.

Not happy with this we ventured across the street to the bali rani hotel where the management personally showed us each of the rooms they offered and gave us a good price on a family suite for the entire night. On top of that they offered transfers to the airport for $15 for 12 people (discovery wanted $5 per person or $60). Finally we had found a hotel that treated their customers well and not with contempt and all we had to do was walk across the street. A move we should have made on day one.

So after 4 years of loyal patronage by myself and many of my family and friends it’s time to part ways with the discovery kartika plaza hotel. Your service is no longer in the ball park of other hotels in the area and i won’t waste more money staying at your hotel. Your decision to focus on the conference circuit might be keeping your hotel full at night but it was quiet during the day and your complete lack of care towards your everyday customers will see you lose money in the long run. This is exactly what this hotel needs to get back to the core values of the service a hotel should offer its guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    237
    66
    18
    24
See reviews for
218
273
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Considering the pric would have expected a better experience. The hotel is very large so you don't get the service you get in smaller hotels. Sitting round the pool you have children racing past you on bikes when you're trying to relax and you always have to go up to the bar to ask for a drink they never came to us. If you can choose your room ask for the left wing as the right wing is near a night club. Breakfast was okay, nothing special, have had better in Bali. Would go elsewhere next time you can find better for the price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'm harny from jakarta room 2042. I stay at kartika at 3 to 5 april 2013. I'm so lucky because the reception give me upgrade my room to ocean view from garden viem. And at 5 april at the morning, the electicity in my room blackout. And the staf come to my room to fix it. But after 30 minutes, the room blackout again. And at the moment, my child is sleeping and it is so uncomfortable and when i call the housekeeping, they didnot say sorry for my inconvenience.
And the other thing is, when i go to the beach (i saw in review that this hotel has private beach) unfortunately my child cannot play at the beach because there are many big rocks that we can go down. So it is make me dissapointed. And one more thing is the breakfast is many of vegetarian than meat or fish. Not many choice.

Room Tip: Right wing the ocean view is the good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Travelled here for a quick 5 night stay with the family and loved many things about the place. The pool and grounds with swim up pool bar would have to be a family favourite and the selection of drinks ( adults and kids) was great. We stayed in the standard rooms and found them to be quite small, always clean and fresh but a little cramped. Breakfast at 'the pond' was disappointing, when paying this much for a hotel I don't expect to be sitting on chairs that are stained and have holes in the covers. The buffet food was often empty so we were waiting around quite a lot and then when it did arrive it was cold. Getting a coffee could also be quite a task. Overall the location and cleanliness will bring us back in the future but I will upgrade to a larger room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Thanks to all at Kartika. This is our third stay at this wonderfull hotel. Check in and out was a breeze. All the staff are wonderfull a special thanks to Made Supereani, Bintang, and all the pool staff. We are always treated as family rather than just another guest
.Cheers Ken & Lesley Preston

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for ocean facing it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Enjoyed our 5 days stay at this property in Feb.
We opted for a Pool view Garden room, which has a great view of the pool & also the ocean beyond (if ur lucky to get a room at the far end near the pool).
The first thing that hits you is the largeness of the property which you enter from a typical two lane street.
Check-in took about 40 minutes, but the staff were polite & helpful.
The rooms are decently sized & the bathrooms are good with a bath tub. We had a leak in the bath tub, which was fixed quickly upon intimation.
The hotel has a good spread of Breakfast buffet - but you need to be early, as it is normally crowded esp over the weekend.
It's located in the centre of Kuta, so street shopping & food joints are very easy & just a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4D3N with our 8 month old baby. We stayed on the 4th floor in an ocean facing room. We asked for an early check in and was able to check in at 1pm. We were also provided a baby cot. To our horror, we discovered bed bugs on our mattress and the baby cot. We immediately alerted the housekeeping and they came to investigate and eventually shifted us to another room and told us that they will close the affected room for two days after clearing the bed bug. We were impressed by their prompt action but slightly disappointed at the same as we had a baby with us and we refused to take another cot for her.

We dined at The pond restaurant (this is where daily buffet breakfast with a wonderful and delicious spread was served as well) and Tepan noodle Restaurant (which had a splendid ocean
view) and Food choices were abound and quality was excellent. The hotel has very good pool facilities and even our baby enjoyed the shady kid pool. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the discovery mall which is a busy and big shopping mall. It holds numerous cafe, eateries and souvenir shops. The back of this mall opens up to the ocean and if you choose to stay here between 6-6.30pm, you will be able to witness the magnificent sunset.

I tried the hotel spa as well and the service was great and I enjoyed my session. Only minus was some construction was going on at nearby premise at 9pm when i was having my massage and I couldn't get some shut eye. The fitness centre looked great as well but I didn't try it though. The treadmills faced aquariums filled with colorful fish and my 8 month old was fascinated by them. The hotel had ramps everywhere and it made it easier for us to use baby stroller.On the last day we asked for a late checkout and they told us that some government delegates were coming but still managed to let us extend for an hour.

Overall I enjoyed my stay in discovery kartika thoroughly and appreciated it's proximity to the
airport very much. Bali traffic can be quite a bit to handle and it would have been difficult to keep
a hyperactive 8 month old too long in her seat in the car while traveling to and fro from the airport. Last but not least, Balinese love kids (men and women alike) and the staff of discovery kartika was no exception and everyone would stop and question us about our baby and share
their own experience and play with the baby as well. Some even offered to look after her while we dined but she's not really a social butterfly and hence didn't work for us. A great place and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer ocean view and less disturbances by mosquito and crickets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#3 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.