We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in kuta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 181 Hotels in Kuta
nsw
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best resort in kuta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great location,great staff,the best pool and pool bar,the best resort i have stayed in Bali after some 30 trips but it is 5 star and a bit more expensive but worth it. We stayed in a suit on the 3rd floor with a magnificant view and the suit was huge, each room had a bathroom and also a lounge,dining room mini kitchen area,great for a family or 2 couples to share.very cleantoo.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    303
    81
    21
    26
See reviews for
289
352
31
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have just returned from my 7th stay at Kartika, we love the location, the food at the many onsite restaurants is amazing and we just love the size of the property, the pool and the great view. The Italian and Japanese restaurants are 5 star at a very reasonable price. Breakfast would have to be the best on the island at Kartika. Just next door to discovery mall too so it is very convenient. Though after many stays, our last two have been a little disappointing on a service level - last week we waited 25 minutes at the check in counter to check in whilst all staff were checking in a large Chinese tour group, it was absolute chaos, one or two staff should check in a group and have other staff on to serve the long line of waiting customers. There used to be a great welcome for return guests with a welcome note and on the tv, fruit bowl and housekeeping used to make animals out of the towels in the room every day when making up the room, none of this happens anymore, seems to be a lack on customer service or value of return guests. Our room had a leaking shower and broken kettle, kettle was fixed but the shower was not fixed after requesting it to be fixed so luckily we didn't slip and have an accident. We had also requested a room without the bath but got one with the bath, so again attention to detail seems to be lacking. Though there is no GM at this hotel at present so maybe this is what is lacking?! We hope it improves so we can recommend to all of our friends and family again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is in my opinion the deserved owner of the number one spot in Kuta hotels.

Based on the beach front, next door ( yes next door ) to a shopping centre, the location could not be better. The luxury inside, and the food was delicious.

Every evening we would go out for a walk on the main promenade and shopping areas.

The hotel even arranged fishing for us !

There are some lovely childrens facilities at the hotel, and also some of the best massage services on the beach front.

This hotel caters for everything that you could want.

We loved the little animals that the staff made out of our hotel towels !

Loved this place.

Location A1
Service A1

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at DKPH which was very interesting stay ! Reception was fine and very fast to check in, food was ok for breakfast , dined at the Italian restaurant which was excellent and would go back again, room were clean & spacious , wifi worked well but cut out every now / then. Location is great - next to discovery plaza shopping centre, short walk to kuta. A few little incidents with the spa / massage centre??? Enjoyed our stay with no kids , will probably stay again. Pool area large and could always get a sun lounge near the pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

One of the best hotels to stay in the tuban area.The staff are very friendly,excellent location right near discovery plaza shopping mall .Breakfast is good.Great pool and very clean hotel.Rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We just had breakfast here,it was very good.
Cost 168000 rp each. Food was fresh and service is great! We would like to however stay here to see what it would be like. It looks like a very busy hotel but would like to see what the rooms are like. Pool area looks nice. Plastic sun lounges look like they need updating. But we would like to try this hotel out.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the best hotels to stay in the staff are so friendly ,excellent location right near discovery plaza shopping mall .breakfast is excellent all different varieties of food.Have stayed here several times and would come back again . Great pool and very clean hotel would highly recommend staying here .

Room Tip: Ocean view room has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.