We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Dynasty Resort

Save Saved
You added Bali Dynasty Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bali Dynasty Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Kartika Plaza | Box 2047, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
ALL THE FUN UNDER THE SUN
Ranked #7 of 177 hotels in Kuta
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Children Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stay at this hotel for only one reason that is it will be good for our children and yes, it is indeed. Family should choose this hotel for vacation. There are a lot of children games, playground and even the pool has a min water park and a water slide. The room is big and spacious enough for family and connecting rooms make the bigger family to stay connect with others. Non smoking areas everywhere, good for the children. staffs are very friendly but a bit slow at the front desk when check in or check out

Room Tip: If possible to have the north wing if you are in upper floor cause it has lift. If you are first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay with us. I am pleased to learn that everything was to your liking particularly the connecting rooms and the facilities for the children to keep them occupied. Beside the facilities for the kids, we also have the facilities for adults to enjoy such as the lazy pool (no kids zone), the spa, the gym, etc. I also noted your feedback with regards to the service at the reception during checking in and out, rest assured that this will be improved. Thanks again for your feedback as it does assist us to make necessary improvements and looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    359
    132
    44
    27
See reviews for
722
138
11
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

First time visited Bali and chose to stay in Bali Dynasty Resort for 3 nights with full buffet breakfast included. There is no free wifi but you can purchase wifi voucher at the Hotel Tourist Information Office at the rates that suite your needs. The hotel location is perfect and close to the Airport that cost you around 15,000 Rupiah by taxi. It is also within few minutes walking distance to the Discovery Mall (Centro) and the Kuta Square with many shops and restaurants around but maybe a bit pricely. The room is spacious, comfortable and quiet with mine having garden view. The pools facilities were impressive especially the provision of a big slide and the 'No Kids Zone' where you can have some excitement or peace of mind. If time permits, spend a day or so at Seminyak / Legian where you can find another taste of downtown Bali and the long beach. Hospitality Lounge with shower facilities is also the supplementary service that I fully appreciated especially a sweaty morning walk in the vicinity after hotel check-up and before heading off to the airport later in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on our resort and I am pleased to learn that you found the hotel meet your needs, and enjoyed the hotel’s location being in the middle of everything. Thanks again for your comment and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just got back from Bali and had a great time staying at Bali Dynasty. The breakfast was great, everything you could think of. Service and room care was excellent. Pool area for the kids was great, for all ages. Was like a mini waterbom park. Loved the little lepricorn at Gracie Kellies! Only disappointment was the price of bingtang around pool area, 47000 rupiah for one small beer, ripped off!! Didnt spend as much time around pool because of this. Also expected to pay 3500 rupiah for using bar fridge......refused to! Everything else was excellent. will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on our resort following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to learn that everything was to your liking once again and that you enjoyed the service from the friendly staff and hotel cleanliness. Thanks again for sharing with us and looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed here for the last 3 nights of our holiday. this was our 5th stay, last one being about 13 years ago. i find the hotel to be so friendly and spotlessly clean. yes, there are smokers, drinkers and heavily tattooed people here, but they are everywhere in bali and australia too. we were here over the nyepi holiday and thankfully the hotel still had plenty of food choices and they stayed open till after 10pm (friends hotel stopped serving food and drink from 4pm)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on our resort following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to learn that everything was to your liking once again and that you enjoyed the service from the friendly staff and hotel cleanliness. Thanks again for sharing with us and looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The presentation and the staff were just brilliant with one of the best foyers I have seen for a tropical beach location..the pool is very deep which I suspects tops some people from drinking in it but can be risky with the kids..try to keep your children away from the pool bar as it is full of hogans that never leave it in the afternoon...for anything!
The rooms were awesome and always cleaned to perfection.
The beds are fantastic and the kids suite was just perfect with the extra tv.
enjoy your stay and don't forget the Waterbom water park not far..it was just brilliant for all ages..about $30 adult and $19 for kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the overall stay. I also noted your comment with regards to the poor behaving guests who drink in the pool bar. Indeed this is one of our greatest challenges and we do conduct staff training to this effect to deal with this situation since indeed we do not want to tolerate poor behaviour and would have no hesitation in removing people who behave in a poor manner. Rest assured this matter will be addressed with the respective staff and it is a top priority of the management to ensure that we do have a controlled environment in which everyone can have an enjoyable time. I am sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Avoid at all costs unless you are prepared to live in amongst the Foul Mouthed, Noisy typical Australian Bogans. I have stayed at other hotels/resorts in Bali and this is the worst by far. Advertised as a family hotel we made the mistake like many others. The hotel and staff are very pleasant but let down by the low standards. There seemed to be a domestic incident nearby every night of our holiday. Don't bother try else where.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Bali Dynasty Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments with regards to the poor mannered guests and indeed this is one of our greatest challenges and we do conduct staff training to this effect to deal with this situation since indeed we do not want to tolerate poor behaviour and would have no hesitation in removing people who behave in a poor manner. Rest assured this matter will be addressed with the respective staff and it is a top priority of the management to ensure that we do have a controlled environment in which everyone can have an enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

First time ever to Bali for family with two kid’s primary school kids. We went to Dynasty for 8 nights between 26 Feb and 6 March 2013. We stayed at Dynasty due to the reputation for kids’ activities.

Pro's - nice rooms, Balinese staff very friendly and hospitable especially Mr Muda at the H20 good external security, lovely gardens.

Con's - smoking everywhere, no restrictions, bogans having domestics nightly, swearing by the bogans, the great photography scam and a very dirty beach behind Dynasty.

Smoking nightmare, why do management allow patrons to smoke non-stop around the pool, out the front of pool view rooms, around kid’s area, at the pool bar, outside H20? It is disgusting, the Dynasty sells itself on a kid’s location and the children suffer the effects of passive smoking We had to time our meals to avoid the stench from smokers, we could not even use the outside area of our kids suite at night as the 4 adult chain smokers two rooms up on same floor smoked and drank away (with colourful language and domestics) that it just stunk outside, none of us could go outside at night and sit on our balcony area when the other occupants were outside.

I thought the Dynasty may have had a duty of care to non-smokers under OSH, the issue could be resolved by making the upstairs area near the sunset bar a smoker’s area that is away from the food, kid’s zone and the main pool and provides the smokers plenty of room to smoke. If they do it is certainly not enforced at all. Oh, yes then there were the people that smoked in the pool each afternoon at 4.30pm during the volleyball game, in the kids area with staff referring the game The so called designated non smoking areas (I did not see any) are not policed at all.

Photo's - this was terrible; we arranged to have some sunset photos taken on the second last day. When we arrived on last day to see what ones are available and cost we are told that the photos taken during the week (of our kids, many without our knowledge) would all be part of the package and wait for it, the 300+ photos taken would set us back $425 AUD or 4,250,000.00 Rupee. We tried to work out some packages as some were taken over other days, the two Balinese camera operators could not do much on the price down to $410 AUD.

We then met the manager of EPS later puffing away on strong tobacco whilst he sat in between the kid’s area and the towel area. He basically said he charged at the rate of the amount of photos taken and discounted at 10% only was all he would do, he discounts no further to nobody. We could only have a package on day 2 photos and most of these were kids down the waterslide which we had lots of ourselves at $110 AUD or 1,100,000.00 rupee. We could not select any others from the 250 others unless we purchased the whole package. Our best price going was $370 AUD for the lot, which is 8 nights of family dinners in Bali. Now I can see why the photographers are so keen to take so many photo's, it has the potential to be very lucrative.

We waited to meet at 6.00pm on our last night to get the $110 AUD photos. When the disc arrived it would not open so I had to wait around to around 7.30pm for another disc to arrive at reception as it was our last night the wife as very upset and we missed our dinner booking. And yes, I had to pay in full prior to the disc arriving later at reception as the photo staff all left much earlier, how not to treat a customer!

One photographer was very upset and apologetic as we had been mucked around, when she spoke to her boss to see if any additional photos could be added or discounted he said "no"; our last night was ruined. I was not after a handout or a freebie I just wanted a compromise for our family being mucked about. I did receive some feedback from the GM of the Dynasty via e-mail, let’s just say the version the GM was told re pricing was way off the mark to what occurred. I have all the notes of the deal.

I will leave the photo’s there as I have already been heavily edited by trip-advisor from adding what I thought needed to be said.

I am a professional person and consider myself very impartial and objective but really I detest it when my wife and I are made to feel like walking wallets and smoke inhalers on our first trip to Bali. Our holiday was ruined, no professional family photo’s available.

I would ask all photographer customers in Bali be wary of the cost and be very specific about how many photos are taken, the prices advertised are per photo and nothing is mentioned about cumulative sessions etc. I am not comfortable when small children are photographed without the consent of the parents.

Please choose your accommodation carefully, the Dynasty has many reviews that single out the smoking, drinking, tattooed bogan culture and now I have seen that first hand. The sad thing is most are Australians.

Please consider your family Bali accommodation carefully and ensure your family’s health needs before profit and the venue of choice displays more than motherhood statements about its family values. I will avoid the Dynasty forever, I can put up with an issue or two but not all the issues we encountered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Dynasty Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Dynasty Resort

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza | Box 2047, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#3 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#4 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Dynasty Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Dynasty Resort is a premier beachside resort in South Kuta, renowned for its warm Balinese hospitality. The property offers six restaurants, five bars, three swimming pools, a comprehensive spa, exercise room, beach club, kids and teens club, meeting facilities and a complimentary Hospitality Lounge for those early arrivals and late departures.The unique layout allows for a subtle but effective division between the couples market and the family market. Couples can enjoy the famous Gracie Kelly's Irish Pub and relax at the adults-only Lazy Pool. Kids can enjoy the Kids Water Fun Zone and a 56-metre waterslide flowing into their own pool adjacent to which lies the Enchanted Garden Kids' Club. A wide variety of rooms catering to the family market are available, sleeping up to five people.The resort is conveniently located within ten minutes drive from the airport on the vibrant South Kuta Beach strip. It is within walking distance to the shopping centre and mall, art markets, Waterbom Park and an extensive choice of restaurants, nightspots and entertainment venues. Free Wi-Fi is available at Lobby area and restaurants and bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bali Dynasty Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Dynasty Hotel Kuta
Hotel Bali Dynasty
Bali Dynasty Resort Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Dynasty Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.