We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ramayana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramayana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Bakung Sari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 174 hotels in Kuta
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Affordable and Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I booked Ramayana for my Mum and I on our trip to Bali primarily because of the location. It is right on the Kuta Strip, and close to restaurants, shops, grocery stores and everything.

In saying this though, the hotel/resort itself I would probably only give 3/5. Rooms are quite dated and a bit of the ceiling actually fell on my mums head. (Manager of the Hotel was nice enough and professional to attend to this immediately though, and was extremely apologetic about everything) Breakfast was not bad. It had a large variety but was mainly the same thing everyday. Bread, fruit, sausages and eggs. They have bacon as well, but tend to 'hide' this (dont know why) so if you want bacon, just ask the staff (warning: very dry bacon, almost not worth it)

Staff-wise: some were lovely, some seriously needs training. Upon check in I literally stood there for around 30 minutes before someone bothered to serve me.

I would say this is more of a family resort/hotel more than anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Anita S,

We thank you for your recent comments at Trip Advisor.
First, kindly allow me to tender our sincere apologies for the shortcomings during your stay with us at the Ramayana. I remember personally attending to your needs. We are constantly improving our Breakfast offerings as the Ramayana receives a good mixture guest from the region, so we have something everyone likes in the morning. Our menus are being rotated so you will get something different.
Bacon is served daily at the moment, and is kept at the back so as not to offend those who do not consume pork. Its just that we are sensitive to others.
At the Front Desk, staff are more prompt with their service. Guest checking in are attended to immediately rather than waiting long. At times, we have large groups of people checking in,
so we have more staff to serve during such times.
Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to your next visit to the Ramayana.

Warm Regards,

Bani V.S.Pillay
R.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    372
    113
    44
    27
See reviews for
192
321
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here 4yrs back and thought the hotel was pretty ok. But this round the staff are rude. Sink and bath tub are choked. Stained towels were given everyday!!! Cupboards seem to be falling apart. Will never come back again. Went for 1hour massage at the spa and the masseuses seems to be in a rush and rushed through the whole massage session. Doesn't feel good at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for comments and apologise for the shortcomings. The feedback will certainly help to rectify the situation and improve our service. We are constantly checking all the room furnishing and may have overlooked the one in your room.
We have instituted quality control measures to ensure guests receive clean towels daily. The Spa is managed by Ambiente Spa, and we have discussed with them about the service provided to you. They extend their sincere apologies and have instructed spa staff to be more careful with all guests.
We look forward to welcome you back to the Ramayana again and you are rest assured of my personal service on your return.

Warm Regards,

Bani V.S.Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hotel in a good location, close to shopping and dining experiences. Beds very comfortable, very high off the ground. Prices are a bit on the steep side. Great breakfast spread - staff helpful and polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Heidi19632013

Thank you so much for your review at Trip Advisor about your stay at Ramayana Resort & Spa.
It is good to know that all is fine with our facilities and services...
And of course the location of our hotel is superb...easy access to shopping centers, restaurants and cafes and also to the Beach which is only 4 minutes away by foot.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Ramayana Resort & Spa in the future.
Thank you and with best regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

At less than $400/week this hotel is absolutely brilliant.
Great location for the beach and shops with a short walk to the more lively bars.
Brilliant food in the on site Italian restaurant and a very reasonable breakfast buffet included.
Two good sized pools which were not to busy.
In all a great stay and I'd come back again :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
DEAR DANSG60

Thank you for your great review of Ramayana Resort & Spa at Trip Advisor.

It is good to know that you have enjoyed staying with us, a hotel in the center of all the happenings, with great facilities and fine services.

Beside Aldente the Italian Restaurant, there are also the Gabah Restaurant featuring delightful breakfast and all day dining, Stadium Sports Bar, Blue Fin Japanese Restaurant, FlapJak and Seafood House Chinese Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramayana Resort & Spa on your next Bali holiday.

Best wishes
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed for a week with a friend and as I like a firm bed - it was perfect sleeping every night. Some people may have trouble getting onto the beds they are on a raised platform - I felt like a queen. Lovely and quiet room facing the pool/gardens and a view of one of the attractions at Water Bomb Park lol. The breakfast was a good buffet selection of western and asian foods to cater for most people. The staff were helpful and friendly - when they weren't run off their feet, so busy all the time. The drinks were a bit pricy for Bali but not too over the top and I suppose you pay a little extra for the visual appeal of them - great Bar Staff make great cocktails. I was a little disappointed not to be able to use the Adults only pool & spa area. It was over looked by the restaurant and the street was always busy and noise transferred through (Kuta Square) so not that relaxing. The Spa was not full the whole time we were there and in fact a platform of some sort intruded into pool itself. Using the pool was not encouraged as there where only two recliners both without padding and both squashed into spaces beside draped (for a wedding type of thing) tables around the pool. We met some people who complained about little things - teaspoons and marked china but felt this was so minor why let it spoil your holiday, ask for a clean cup and a teaspoon. The restaurant staff were always happy to assist with that friendly Bali smile. The rooms where clean and would have been top standard when the hotel was built, so for the price we paid I certainly had no complaints about them. The location of the hotel, being right in the middle of Kuta was great - restaurants all around, supermaket/department store about 50m from your front door. All in all - a fantastic stay (not long enough :D)

Room Tip: Get a garden facing room to ensure you room is quiet. The cottages look divine - I stay there next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Joanne F

Thank you for your extensive review of your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We really appreciate your time spent for this complete positive review....
.
Ramayana Resort & Spa is indeed located in the center of everything in Kuta, so close to all the interesting shops, restaurants and cafes....and it is only a 4 minutes walk to the beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets...

We have two swimming pools where our guests can relax and enjoy cold tropical drinks or the famous Bintang beers..where you also can order meals or light snacks from our restaurants.

We do look forward to welcoming you and your friends to Bali and of course to Ramayana Resort & Spa in the future.

Thank you again and with best regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

While on a longer trip to Singapore with a friend, we decided to jet down to Bali for a couple days. We booked our airfare and hotel about 5 days ahead of time, but still got a wonderful price on this amazing resort!

We took a taxi from the airport, which was about a 20 min ride. Having never been to Bali I was a little concerned about the location and safety of our hotel. However, once the taxi entered Kuta, a high tourist area, I was comfortable. As the taxi pulled into the hotel, I was actually surprised. It was gorgeous! The lobby was a beautiful open air sitting area and the staff were super friendly. As we were checking in, a nice woman appeared with our "welcome drinks" (which were delicious.)

We were escorted up to our room and it was also lovely. We really wanted to stay somewhere that was a little more traditional than, say, a Sheraton or some large chain hotel. This did not disappoint. The room had traditional look furniture, with several comforts that we appreciated (like air conditioning and cable TV).

There is only 1 minor complaint I have: The power in the room is awarded when you place your room key card in the slot as you enter the room. When you leave for the day, you must take your key with you, which means there is no power while you're away. I.e. no air conditioning. So upon returning at the end of the day, the room was pretty stuffy- but it cooled down fairly quickly.

We ate at the hotel restaurant each morning, and 1 lunch. The breakfast buffet was fantastic! It had everything! There were more traditional "American" type breakfast food, which I appreciated, like pancakes, cereal, eggs, etc. And they also had several things, I was not used to but tried and enjoyed like congee, Indonesian rice dishes, and noodles. The lunch we had at the hotel restaurant was also super delicious!!

Loved this resort, and if I ever return to Bali, I would make Ramayana my first choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Allierskine

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor of your stay at Ramayana Resort & Spa during your holiday in Bali recently.
We are happy to know that you have really enjoyed all the facilities and services we have provide for you.

As for our daily breakfast buffets, we do serve a variety of 'East meets West" dishes as we do have guests from many different countries.

Thank you for saying that if you ever return to Bali you would stay with us...
Thank you for the compliments which actually says it all.

With warmest regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at and I have been to Bali 21 times the hotel staff are excellent they help you out if you do have a problem and are so friendly, the hotel rooms are fantastic size, clean, what you expect when your on holiday and great location I would highly recommend the Ramayana and would stay then again and again it was just perfect I could go on and on,The hotel manager mr Bani was hands on at this hotel which you do not see at other hotels what a lovely man I have the upmost respect for him he is a kind and generous person he made our stay memorable Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou looking forward to coming back after the new year. Kind regards Andrea

Room Tip: We where on the 6th floor rooms 602 & 604 near the lift balcony overlooking the pool area rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your recent comments on the Ramayana and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback will spur us to achieve the desired standards to keep all our guests happy at the resort. We look forward to welcome you once again to the Ramayana in the near future.
With Warm Regards,

Bani V.S.Pillay
RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramayana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Bakung Sari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#6 Family Hotel in Kuta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#10 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramayana Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a heart of Kuta, Bali, the resort is hidden away in a tranquil tropical garden, complete with serene koi pools with cascading water features providing the soothing sound of running water. Close to International airport, Kuta Beach, Kuta Art Market, Shopping Center (Discovery Mall, Kuta Square, Kuta Center, and 5 star shopping mall "Kuta Beach Walk"), Food Center, Water bomb, and only walking distance to Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ramayana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Resort And Spa
Ramayana Resort Kuta
Ramayana Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.