We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good level of standard accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Ramayana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ramayana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Bakung Sari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 181 Hotels in Kuta
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and good level of standard accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights as a single and the room was very comfortable. The resort is a good standard, nothing too flash about it, but you re not paying a fortune for this place. Breakfast is god, plenty to choose from. Swim up bar if you like and service is good.

Room Tip: When booking ask for the pool side not the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Fi0na01

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and liked the facilities and the services we have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramayana Resort & Spa on your future holidays in Bali ...

With best regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    424
    125
    45
    28
See reviews for
228
380
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from spending the last 8 nights in a Resort Club Room at the Ramayana Hotel & Spa and the experience was nothing as advertised on the hotels website. Many things are promised on the website as part of the Resort Club package, however none of these were delivered upon during our stay.

2 interconnecting rooms were requested, but never provided - despite being booked 3 months in advance - somehow this could not be accommodated, and both parties were placed 5 rooms apart for some reason? ?

Beware of the complimentary fruit basket provided - wrapped in plastic, but the fruit inside is rotten and mouldy. Looks like it had been in the room for the last month without being touched or replaced. There was something which possibly once resembled a strawberry on the top which had turned white and gone furry.

A hearty fry-up breakfast in your room or at a specially designated restaurant was never delivered upon as advertised, nor did any of the staff at the hotel seem too interested in advising where this 'specially designated restaurant' was.

Afternoon tea or coffee, freshly squeezed fruit juice incl. an assortment of snacks served at your room or at GT lounge. Upon arrival at the GT Lounge for afternoon tea and snacks, I was advised that this was NOT included as part of the Resort Club - despite being advertised as such on their website ?

The sheets and towels provided within the room were dirty and stained. Even when we placed the 'please change my sheets tag' on the bed, the same stained sheets appeared the following day.

The day before our departure we requested our 'included airport transfer' for 6.30am the next morning. This was confirmed again that evening by reception.
Upon checkout however, there was not any airport transfer waiting as requested.
The staff at the reception counter seemed confused that we wanted to checkout and a further 20 minutes later, our transfer finally arrived at 6:50am.

To top off the entire experience, just before we were to leave in the mini-van, reception attempted to charge us for a can of coke from the mini-bar, despite it being paid for and replaced by housekeeping 5 days earlier.

Overall we were very unhappy with our stay at the Ramayana Hotel, none of the features, quality or luxury suggested on the hotel's website was actually provided. Had we realized that none of the listed 'luxuries' of a Resort Club Room on the website would be provided, we would have saved our money and chosen a cheaper room at the hotel and most likely received the same experience. We have actually stayed in hotels in the Kuta / Tuban area that are listed as 2 star that have provided a better quality and service than this.

I sent the above feedback to the hotel and have not even been acknowledged with a response.

The hotel itself is in a great central location for everything in the Kuta / Tuban area, however I would save my money and stay at one of the cheaper hotels within the same area.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for Club Resort Rooms on the 9th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Hypnosonic,

We thank you for your valuable comments. We will definitely review the comments you made in the review.

Interconnecting rooms are allocated when guests make the request in their reservations and this is provided as requested.

We check our fruit baskets before they are sent to the rooms, and we never use rotten or over ripe fruits in our complimentary fruit baskets.

Our breakfast is served daily at GABAH, where guests are informed and showed the location prior to being brought to the guestroom.

Our staff will definitely showed you the location if asked.

I would appreciate if you could provide us with more details the room you occupied to make an investigation on our staff. Afternoon Tea is based on the package you have paid for.

We sincerely apologise for our shortcomings and we will strive further to improve our services and products.

We look forward to next visit to the Ramayana, and like an opportunity to welcome you back personally.

Thank You,
Best regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have travelled to Bali many times but was my first stay at Ramayana . Firstly we booked a ground floor room, to be put in the high rise facing the street ,with a jack hammer down stairs working half the night .And a door we could not open. Next day we were moved to room 250 the room from hell all light fittings had holes in the shades. The bathroom was terrible . When people showered upstairs you could hear the water pipes .We got a early reminder call not requested . The cupboard door to the fridge fell off hitting me on the foot not once but twice. I fell at the pool and really hurt my knee . I am still being treated for . The concrete around the pool is to slippery,another worker fell the same day. We were also told there was free wi fi in the lobby, but no we had to pay . Also the staff were not very friendly. Except for the bar staff. Stay there again . I don't think so .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Lyn T,

We thank you for your valuable comments and will surely act on
to improve our services.
Unfortunately, during your stay with us, the Local Council was
undertaking road works during the night. Despite, our appeal
to reduce the noise level, which was beyond our control.

We will do the necessary repairs to the cabinet doors and are
currently changing our lamp shades to new ones.

I am sorry for the early reminder call and we have taken action
on the staff concerned.

Yes, we have checked the pool area, and it is regularly cleaned
and mopped daily to prevent puddles of water on the floor.

With regards to WIFI, at the moment it is still chargeable.
We are currently in the final stage of upgrading our WIFI services
which will be provided FREE to all our guests.

We apologise for our shortcomings.

We look forward to next visit to the Ramayana and would like the opportunity to personally welcome Your family and your goodself to our resort.

Best regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

my wife and I stayed here from the 11-19th sept 2013 the hotel was great , the food was fantastic and a good price . the hotel is in a great location in kuta opposite the art market . the staff were very helpful and spoke good English .would recommend anybody to stay we had a great time

Room Tip: book the club rooms there were fantastic and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Jamie C

Thank you very much for your very positive review on Trip Advisor

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed staying at Ramayana Resort & Spa and liked all the fine facilities we have to offer and also the services of our staff.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Bali and the Ramayana in the future.

With best regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked a room from Agoda.com, and agree to pay for the gala dinner. To my surprise if I would have paid the gala dinner at the hotel instead of via agoda, the price would have been half!

I checked with the hotel when staying there but they did refered to Agoda, and when mailing Agoda after our visit they refered to the hotel! After multiple mails to the Agoda customer support who just delayed, I called them over month after my initial mail and then finally I got their attention. They refered to the terms and condition of the actual booking. I just feel conned!

The hotel is not worth the cost at all! I advice you to stay elsewhere!

Both Agoda.com and the hotel has handled this very badly, and I will not use either of them again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Joakim L.

Thank you for your comments and bringing it to our attention.

The option is totally yours if you do not wish to have the New
Year Dinner. Our New Year Dinner Promotion is packaged together
with accommodation giving our guest the benefit of celebrating
at the Ramayana.

We are not in the business of ripping off our guests. I cannot
speak for Agoda, and we wish to remind you our promotions are
reasonably priced, with more than 60 percent sales that we have
achieved to date.

We look forward to welcome you to the Ramayana in the near
future.

Thank You,

Bani V.S.Pillay
RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We have had the best time and the Ramayana is very nice. The people there are very nice great breakfast. Nice rooms just the best we will be back. The food was very nice and the people who work there are the best. We had nothing to complain about.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Helen L

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Happy to know that you have found the facilities and services at Ramayana Resort & Spa very satisfying..... you gave us a 5-star rating....Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bali and the Ramayana Resort & Spa in the future.

Thank you again and with warm regards from all of us.
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am visiting Bali again and after browsing through the website..still think this is the best hotel in term of location and for a truly unique Balinese experience. Stay here last year and had very fond memories and lasting impression of this nice hotel. Everything is great except the check in could be faster and smoother..booked through Agoda and the check in requires one to place a security deposit. Can't remember the amount..we had to wait for awhile and was later given an upgrade to deluxe room when the standard room that we had booked was not ready yet. No problem and it was ok therafter. Room is very spacious and clean. Bed is very comfortable to sleep. The swimming pools were beautiful..the hotel decoration and architecture is typically Balinese. The breakfast is excellent! The best part is the hotel location..in the heart of Kuta and walkable distance to the beach, Kuta market, Matahari shopping mall and many eateries nearby. To sum up.. Great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear EricYongKean

Thank you for your return stay at Ramayana Resort & Spa and your great review about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do keep our Balinese atmosphere in all area, which will always remind you that you are indeed in Bali, the Paradise Island when staying at the Ramayana Resort & Spa.

And being very strategically located in Kuta everything is within walking distance..including the famous Kuta beach.

Thank you for staying with us. and we look forward to your future visits to Bali and stay with us again of course.

With best regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramayana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Bakung Sari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#4 Family Hotel in Kuta
#4 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramayana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a heart of Kuta, Bali, the resort is hidden away in a tranquil tropical garden, complete with serene koi pools with cascading water features providing the soothing sound of running water. Close to International airport, Kuta Beach, Kuta Art Market, Shopping Center (Discovery Mall, Kuta Square, Kuta Center, and 5 star shopping mall "Kuta Beach Walk"), Food Center, Water bomb, and only walking distance to Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramayana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Resort And Spa
Ramayana Resort Kuta
Ramayana Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.