We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for Nyepi Day (Silent Day) in Bali” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramayana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ramayana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Bakung Sari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel for Nyepi Day (Silent Day) in Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

During a Nyepi day (Silent Day) we have stay in Ramayana hotel in Kuta, the hotel located right in the corner of the street. and this is the first time in our life we can be able to see the Ogoh Ogoh parade (Parade of Big Puppet) the night before the Nyepi Day comfortably, you can see the parade from your balcony or restaurant during the parade, the street full of people and it was a one and only hotel that we can enjoying to see the parade and taking picture without hassle.

The hotel was build in 1970's, so we still can see the ambiance of classic Balinese style. We stayed in Executive Deluxe Room, with the Nyepi package rate which is very affordable. The room was clean, service was good, breakfast was average, guest facilities was ok. During the Nyepi day we still can be able to enjoyed public facilities such as swimming pool, SPA, table tennis, the only problem for us that the toilet room doesn't have a jet washer but other than that everything was in place. Our room was in the 4th floor facing east, at the night of Nyepi day we can see from the top of our balcony that the whole island was dark, enjoying the skyline, very silent no lights at all.

I have recommended this hotel for those who would like to enjoy a silent day (Nyepi day) in Bali or for those people who get trapped in their holiday during the week of Nyepi. We have planning to stay in this hotel for Nyepi next year!

Room Tip: Room on the west were you can see the Ogoh Ogoh parade (Big Puppet Parade) Room on the east were yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, General Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
March 16, 2013

Dear Mabrio,

Greetings from Ramayana Resort and Spa,

We are happy to be chosen as your preferred holiday Resort recently.

It is pleasing to hear that you had a most enriching and distinctive experience while staying with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of Ramayana Resort and Spa on your next stay in the near future.



Best regards,

Wayan Wirasa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    449
    133
    49
    30
See reviews for
249
405
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We just stayed at the Ramayana after moving from the hell hole of Kumala Pantai. What a wonderful place to stay. We were in an Executive Deluxe room on the 8th floor. So clean. The sheets and towels were so white and fluffy. Staff are so attentive and well dressed. Service is excellent in the hotel, their restaurants and around the pool. As usual the only thing that is a problems, which is everywhere in Bali, are the AUSSIE YOBBOS - wish they would stay home. Sick of their swearing and drunken behaviour - but at the Ramayana the security does at times speak to them.
Overall we loved the Ramayana and wished that we had spent our whole holiday there. Will be back with flying colours to stay again this year.

Room Tip: Block with floors 6-9 is excellent with rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, General Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review further to your stay in March 2013
It was a pleasure serving you.
The staffs and management of the resort sincerely thank you for the positive comments.
I will share your comments with all our staff.
Hope to welcome you back soon at our resort for another memorial experience.


Kind Regards,

Wayan Wirasa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 10 nights in this hotel in Feburary./March this year and were very sad to leave this place. The staff was very friendly, room service great and great selection of food. Location was excellent for us - in the middle of the buzz of Kuta but at the same time we had our quiet zone in the hote, - great swimming pool, very clean and cosy. Definitelly recommend to those who seek great value for money. Lukas from Prague

Room Tip: room with the balcony to the pool gave us great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, General Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
March 6, 2013

Dear Lukas N

Warmest greeting from Ramayana Resort & Spa

I really appreciate your great review – thank you!

I’m thrilled you enjoyed your experience on all levels and I’m especially pleased the team looked after you so well.

I have taken great pleasure in passing on your compliments to the Team and thank you for making special mention.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Wayan Wirasa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Ramayana is very conveniently located, right off the kuta beach. However it seems pretty old and unmaintained. The room was nice and big but fixtures were very old - some in creaking state. The balcony was barely enough for 1 person to enter - forget putting a chair and sitting. The pool area is however very well done and the staff is very hospitable. OK for people who are planning to be out all day and use the room only for sleeping..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, General Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We will be sure to take your feedback on board to continue to seek for improvement upon current service in an effort to achieve excellence. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Wayan Wirasa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great location, Great pool but got lousy Reception. When booking this hotel we already requested tat we wan big bed, but we didn't get what we want. One more thing is they will charged u on the thing tat u didn't used or eat when u check out. After 10 min argue, we did not pay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, General Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
March 6, 2013

Dear Cheryl Tee,

Warmest Greetings from Ramayana Resort & Spa!

On behalf of the whole staff of Ramayana Resort & Spa, we would like to take a moment to thank you for your recent visit to Ramayana Resort & Spa.
We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction above. We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Best regards,
Wayan Wirasa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a cheap room, so we got what we paid for, but there were nicer and more expensive rooms around, can't comment on them. The resort is well kept and in the centre of Kuta Beach, if that is what you are after. We only spent 3 nights here as it was very close to the airport, then went to the other side of the island to Sanur which we loved. The restaurant was clean and excellent, good value for money, especially the breakfast, great selection, friendly staff. The spa was clean and very nice, however prices are way too expensive there. Our room was old, dirty and just not worth the money even though we got it on special. You can walk everywhere, but I would not go back to Kuta area as it was dirty, busy, expensive, sellers are very aggressive. The beach is dirty and crowded, would not swim there.

Room Tip: Whichever room you get it is going to be busy, don't expect much privacy, because the area is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, General Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
March 6, 2013

Dear Gabbyfiles,

Warmest greeting from Ramayana Resort & spa

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feed back.

I very much appreciate you taking the time to write your view on the Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Ramayana Resort & spa, as it is through verbal comments and Trip Advisor that we are able to improve our services, it is important to us and our business to receive all feedback, positive and constructive from our guests such as yours, I know your points made on the survey will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our hotel, customer service and guest well-being.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that we will be welcoming your return in the future

Best Regards,
Wayan Wirasa
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for our honeymoon and had a pleasant service experience with the resort. The food is awesome. You have a fantastic crew of chefs! Room was tastefully decorated. Loved the floral arrangement on the bed and bathtub. The spa package was very relaxing and soothing. The two girls who served us were so sweet and friendly. I would like to mention three staff who were outstanding in their service provision.

1. Resa the bell boy who picked us up from the airport. We felt humbled by his warmth reception at the airport, kindly arranged for us a taxi to Jimbaran and walked us through the hotel without any hesitation. He always was ready with a sincere smile which caught our hearts.

2. Putu Ekayanti who was our personal waitress for the candlelight dinner was ever so patient with us and our questions. She took the effort to check whether we consume beef and pork. We were truly touched by this gesture of hers. The venue was dark and she made effort to light up the place to make it brighter. she also explained in detail about each of the dishes in the Indonesian set menu and gave some nice recipes. We really loved her company! She greeted us the following day which made us feel good. She deserves a service award.

3. Sudaman who works in the Gabah restaurant served us lunch today and we informed him that we do not drink alcohol. He kindly helped to prepare mocktails for us without throwing a fuss. He was consistent in his service frequently checking to ensure we did not have any problems.

Thank you for a wonderful experience! We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, General Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
March 6, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Warmest greeting from Ramayana Resort & Spa

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear you had a great time during your stayed in February 2013 , I have taken great pleasure in sharing your fantastic remarks with all the team and especially Reza, Ekayanti, and Sudarman – thank you for making special mention.

We really appreciate your loyalty and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Wayan Wirasa
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramayana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Bakung Sari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#6 Family Hotel in Kuta
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramayana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a heart of Kuta, Bali, the resort is hidden away in a tranquil tropical garden, complete with serene koi pools with cascading water features providing the soothing sound of running water. Close to International airport, Kuta Beach, Kuta Art Market, Shopping Center (Discovery Mall, Kuta Square, Kuta Center, and 5 star shopping mall "Kuta Beach Walk"), Food Center, Water bomb, and only walking distance to Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Ramayana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Resort And Spa
Ramayana Resort Kuta
Ramayana Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.