We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected but pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramayana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramayana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ramayana Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Bakung Sari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 184 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected but pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as our hotel had overbooked us.
The staff were fantastic. Very friendly and well informed.

The hotel rooms were new and nice although the bathroom was very small.
There are a number of different places to eat inside the hotel and $18 1 hour massages in the spa.

My husband mentioned to one of the staff that it was my 30th birthday and our 10th wedding anniversary. Much to our surprise, the staff came and bought us a gorgeous cake. We both thought this was extremely kind.

This is such a great hotel, I just wish it wasn't right in the heart of Kuta. Too hot, too noisy and too busy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    435
    132
    49
    29
See reviews for
239
395
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I traveled with my family and stayed there for 3 nights. We booked the hotel online after recommended by friends. The price was reasonable. The location of this hotel was very strategic. It was very near to shops, restaurants and Kuta beach. However, to go to the beach, we needed to walk across the road and sometimes the traffic could be very busy. We got a deluxe room which was facing inner pool view. So, I was not sure whether there is a beach view room in this hotel. The room was very spacious and clean otherwise. Although the hotel was along the mainroad, the room was quiet. The disappointment was small pool and the towel service from 9am to 6pm. As our trip was basically sightseeing, we did not really explore the hotel. Not sure whether there was a gym in this hotel. However, my wife did enjoy the 1hr massage service there. For breakfast, the food was ok, nothing great. The staffs were very friendly but not so initiative enough to offer help. Anyway, this hotel deserved at least 4 stars because of great location and room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've been travelling to Bali for 25 years and have stayed at the Ramayana a number of times. Years ago it was wonderful. In my recent three stays, over the past two years, I've been so, so disappointed. Firstly, the staff are rude, dismissive and constantly complain about the guests. The best staff at the hotel are the security guards and spa staff. There is no wifi in the rooms, unless you pay for a wifi card, however reception is terrible. I've complained each of the times I've been recently and just get fobbed off. The rooms are ordinary at best - cracked tiles, bland colours, a deluxe room with a tiny balcony looking over a smelly street. When I have had issues, the staff have been rude and uninterested. I booked by email the last couple of times and they didn't reply sometimes for days and days. On a good note, the location is great, the spa is lovely and the food is good, especially breakfast. They have a delightful orchid garden. It's such a disappointment to see how the hotel has gone downhill over the years. I notice with the negative reviews here on TripAdvisor, the hotel management ALWAYS responds - with a cut and paste message. :A poor example of lip service, once again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have been to Bali many times and used to stay at small affordable hotels (30-50 USD) as the point was to sightsee not stay in the hotel. When I came with my wife, we decided to try Ramayana Resort and Spa, we got a great deal at 80 USD. The luxury and comfort we got for that price made it a steal. Not sure if one can get the same prices now, but would recommend the place anyday.

Room Tip: If you have a local friend booking your room, the deals are always cheaper than if you go and book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Management Team at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
November 27,2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure to have you with us at Ramayana Resort and Spa recently.

We are most happy to hear that you had a most enriching and distinctive experience while staying at our Resort.

The big family of Ramayana Resort and Spa look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.


Best Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Ramayana is our favourite spot now to stay in Bali. Close to the beach, markets, restaurants. Lovely breakfast, friendly welcoming staff. Mum and dad are frequent Bali travellers going 60 times and now also choose Ramayana. We all use to stay at Kuta Beach but this has gone downhill and not as clean. Ramayana staff as all Bali people are beautiful. My son got sick with a parasyte and was hospitalised. Doctor is at the resort also, and babysitting. Only go to Bali International Hospital NOT Prima Medica in Denpasar. It was an awful experience.Only drink bottled water, take your Bushman's repellent. Please take all your old clothes to give away to the Balinese i.e. shirts, jeans, bras etc. I always buy a huge bag of rice from Matahari at the end of my stay to give to someone,nothing is is wasted they all take it back to the village and share.Mister Bob's does great leather - look him up.

Room Tip: A balcony overlooking the pool is nice - check your room when you get there, if you have a disabilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Ramayana is a centrally located hotel with big rooms and a great pool.
The breakfast buffet, as well as the pool food, has a good range.
It's a great place to relax by the pool or step out into the madness of Kuta. There's a great selection of restaurants right down the street. And it's right across the road from the markets and beach.
The rooms have all the mod cons you want. The bathroom is adequate - towels aren't that fluffy.
The SPA has every type of treatment you could desire, including couples rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked through agoda for a excecutive deluxe suite. I emailed hotel to confirm book and to request a double bed as we are on honeymoon. At check in, we are told that we have been upgraded to their resort club suite. It was amazing! We really enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel welcome, courteous staff and amazing room, bathroom is huge and elegant. The bed is massive and very very comfortable, we had our own private balcony overlooking the main street (jalan kartika plaza) we didnt need transport as plenty of markets, shops and restuarants close by. An amazing experience. Thank you Ramayana Resort! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desirewithinreach, Resident Manager at Ramayana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear RosaJ-Perth
You wrote on Trip Advisor about your stay at Ramayana Resort & Spa as follow:
“Excellent location & wonderful club suite”
I booked through Agoda for an executive deluxe suite. I emailed hotel to confirm book and to request a double bed as we are on honeymoon. At check in, we are told that we have been upgraded to their resort club suite. It was amazing! We really enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel welcome, courteous staff and amazing room, bathroom is huge and elegant. The bed is massive and very very comfortable, we had our own private balcony overlooking the main street (jalan kartika plaza) we didnt need transport as plenty of markets, shops and restaurants close by. An amazing experience. Thank you Ramayana Resort! :)

Thank you for staying with us on your honeymoon...we now look forward to welcoming you back to Bali and the Ramayana Resort & Spa..

With best regards
Bani V. S. Pillay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramayana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramayana Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Bakung Sari, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#4 Business Hotel in Kuta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#7 Family Hotel in Kuta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramayana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a heart of Kuta, Bali, the resort is hidden away in a tranquil tropical garden, complete with serene koi pools with cascading water features providing the soothing sound of running water. Close to International airport, Kuta Beach, Kuta Art Market, Shopping Center (Discovery Mall, Kuta Square, Kuta Center, and 5 star shopping mall "Kuta Beach Walk"), Food Center, Water bomb, and only walking distance to Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramayana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramayana Resort And Spa
Ramayana Resort Kuta
Ramayana Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramayana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.