We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location only.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Bali to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai | Banjar Pande Mas, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Toast and Jam
Ranked #35 of 194 Hotels in Kuta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location only.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

After staying in a villa in Seminyak for 2 days, we decided to move to Kuta beach. Hard Rock Hotel seemed like the best location by far after staying here about 3 times before. The hotel is always crowded with people, even during off peak season. The rooms are of a decent size but from my multiple experience staying here, the rooms always have a weird smell almost like sewerage. It could be my luck, and whenever I ask the staff, they say its a plumbing problem. A bit of a waste if you ask me considering the effort they take in their decor. Because there was 15 of us, different families, our rooms were of different wings and some had rooms on the ground floor, with a bad view of staff motorcycle parking. The check in staff weren't accommodating to let us change rooms. There is no wifi in the rooms, breakfast is decent and the pool is great for everyone including kids. Food at HRC is not great and overpriced. Overall, service is always with a smile in this hotel and if you don't mind a overly populated hotel, this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    812
    383
    142
    83
See reviews for
1,091
395
72
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a great stay with my family of 5, including 3 teenage kids. Our second visit to Hard Rock as it's central location suits our needs with everything in walking distance. Had an adjoining room on the ground floor which was a bit musty.

Positives: Location and definately the pool. And "Paris" he's a helpful and friendly pool guy.
Negatives: Rooms are a bit musty and could do with a freshen up for the price you pay.
Overall, you only sleep and shower in your room so it's liveable for a couple of weeks.

Room Tip: Try and get the loft room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hard Rock Hotel in Kuta doesn't really rock and there's not too much that is hard about it which suits much of my fellow travellers here who'd struggle if they had to think about what they're doing. Bali has that effect on some of us. The rooms are adequate, not luxurious but not dodgey either. I notice that some reviews talk of the rooms smelling like mould, well it's Bali and you run the air-conditioning 24/7 here so what do you expect, fresh air? I suspect that fresh air may be available via room service. Kids rule the roost and are catered for through the Kids Club and the impressive pool that has a sandy island, water slides and water playground. Pretty safe environment for them but I'd steer them away from the swim-up bar as that seems to be reserved for drunk Australians trying to sit upright after consuming twice their body weight in Bintang. That said, it would be down right un-Australian if they didn't attempt to do so and it makes their decison to get a dodgey tattoo of Bert Newton's face across their back easier (although I didn't know Bert had a beard). All in all there's not too much to think about here - breakfast tends to be included and the buffet covers off on every conceivable angle including hot fish curry, the breakfast of champions. The HRH is a safe have in the heart of Kuta near Poppies 1, across from the beach and around the corner from Kuta Square. There's a Starbucks next door if you need you caffeine hit before hitting the shops. Food at the Hotel is what you'd expect from the Hard Rock brand and is satisfying, especially the wood-fired pizzas by the pool, but I'd steer away from the Hard Rock Cafe as I've been a couple of times and never had a meal that I've not regretted paying for. The crew at the hotel are very courteous ad on occasion we've had some very good personal service from the guy looking after our room - Nyoman but I'm sure of you had Made, Ketut or Wayan look after you, you'll have a similar experience. Well, I'm going back next week with the family, so it can't be too bad, can it?

Room Tip: Family Suite for families with little kids only - with older kids (teenagers) you'll need two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 6 night in January 2013. This is the first time I have stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel however I am a very regular visitor to Bali. We chose this hotel to celebrate my daughters 18th birthday (she was surprised with a birthday cake shaped like a guitar - nice touch!) and we were happy enough with the hotel and its facilities although some areas were looking tired. The breakfast is fantastic and the bands of an evening are very entertaining. The pool is huge with cabanas that can be rented for the day surrounding the pool area. We were there during school holidays and the children at the kids club looked like they were having a fantastic time! However the photos on the website are taken at very generous angles which makes the hotel rooms look much bigger than they are. We were disappointed that the Boom Box recording studio was "under renovation" (nothing mentioned on the website) during our stay which was disappointing as we wanted our daughter and her friends to be able to take home some extra memories (its these extras that people choose hotels for). We thought the dog made of towels on our bed one evening was a wonderful touch, so well done to the housekeeping staff! The security at the front was very good although the walk from the front gate to the lobby is long and up hill!! Whilst I enjoyed the experience at staying here, I am not a fan of large hotels and would much prefer a smaller balinese styled hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here with another family group in October 2012 for the first 3 nights of our 2 week holiday in Bali. Was a great place to start as it is just across the road to Kuta Beach and a short walk to poppies lane where you get the true Bali shopping experience. It's a very large resort style accomodation with an amazing pool complete with swim up bar, and private gazabos as an optional extra.
The breakfasts were great, typical large hotel buffet style with lots to choose from.
Drinks by the pool were quite expensive, so best to go across the road to the beach and find a nice spot under the trees where the locals with their portable bars will look after you very well. They have Bintang and soft drinks, but were happy to take us on their scooter to a shop they knew and we purchased Bacardi Breezers which they happily kept on ice and served up to me with my friend's Bintang's.
The ground floor of the resort has a cool bar with live night time entertainment, but I have to admit we only went there for a drink one night as we completely wore ourselves out during the days and were happy to go to bed instead.
The resort is quite westernised, so you don't really get the Balinese style experience here as we did when we stayed at other more traditional accomodation.

Room Tip: If you need to keep track of your kids, ask for a room near the pool. We stayed towards the back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here September 2012. The Pools are Amazing!!! The room was fantastic and kept very clean. Kids loved the kids club. The food was great. I celebrated my Birthday during my stay and the Cake and Staff singing Happy Birthday at Breakfast was a lovely touch. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed for 4 ngts nice hotel and amazing sand pool, infront of kuta beach and easily accessible to all the nearby places
The pool side bar and restaurant is good and the best part is daily rock bands along with the Hard Rock Cafe inside the hotel complex.
Rooms are decent could have been more modern overall a good experience ..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Pantai | Banjar Pande Mas, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kuta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#19 Family Hotel in Kuta
#26 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Bali- However You Wanna Play It Rock 'n' roll is more than music. It's a force-a kinetic spirit that's ageless and electric. And Hard Rock Hotel Bali is a monument to that spirit, creating destinations where anything is possible. A weekend of poolside lounging by day and hotel club-crawls by night? Yes. Incredible outdoor recreation for the whole family and kids-only clubs that are actually cool? Yes. An all inclusive experience you'll never forget? Yes. Indulgent spa treatments and cuisine from Michelin-star chefs? Yes. A mind-melting event experience? Yes. Whatever your destination, when you stay at Hard Rock Hotel Bali, you have arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Kuta
Hard Rock Hotel Bali Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.