We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen

Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen
Cross Road Sunset Road Kuta-bali | In front of Kuta Point, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 7452968
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 455 Restaurants in Kuta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great taste ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The restaurant is on the corner of a busy street junction therefore you may have to park your car a bit further and walk to the shop except if you ride a motorcycle then you can park at the front of the shop. Taste wise is very very delicious for people who like local and spicy. The spiciness is juat right, portion of meat is generous and the taste is not too meaty compare to others. Definitely will come back on my next visit to Bali.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    77
    29
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“not for weight watchers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place is a little run down but well-known among the locals. I didn't really enjoy the whole plate of fried and oily stuffs (typical female) but my partner loved every bit of it that he finished up 3/4 of my plate. Very affordable I would say.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It was located across the burger king Sunset Road, right before the intersection traffic lamp. The place is small, like any other "warung" in Bali.
The suckling pig was serve with other dishes (vegetables, dry-fried pork meat, etc) in one plate with a small cup of soup. Their portion quite small, especially for men, but at the affordable price compared to Chandra (Denpasar) or Bu Oka (Ubud)
Very delicious, I like everything they had on that plate. Crunchy and tasty. Surely will come back and eat here in my next visit to Bali.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Balinese Babi Guling...yummmm!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

After a couple of days in Bali and eating out at a few of the highly-reviewed restaurants in Seminyak and Kuta we were aching for something authentically Balinese so asked our driver what he recommended and he told us about this place which suprisingly enough was just around the corner from our villa! It was a simple little place open only around lunch hours that the locals liked to go to so us being typical westerners never noticed it.

We decided to go there one afternoon on our wander down to Legian and we were greeted by this sweet little Balinese girl who asked us if we'd like the standard or special so we got one of each. Funnily enough when we got our dishes, we found it was exactly the same except the special had rice served seperately...and was charged at almost twice the price.
We could have gotten upset but instead laughed and ate the amazing food in front of us. Not only was it delicious but also spicy, which we both love.

We gave the girl a tip and the smile on their faces made the rest of our afternoon.

If you're ever in the area and happen to see this place open, check this place out for sure and if spending the extra $1.50 means that much to you, order the standard. It may look a little run down but looks mean nothing when the food is beautiful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padang, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, price rise for tourist! expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The food was great, crunchy crackling, tender meat and tasty sides. However, we are certain they charged us tourist prices, for two meals and two orange juices, our total was Rp 110,000! I wouldn't go back because of this segregation and this meal wasn't much better than other babi guling we have had. There are plenty of other Warungs without the tourist tax and you will still get a tasty meal for less than $2 including a drink!
We felt ripped off!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen also viewed

 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.