We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best suckling pig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen

Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen
Cross Road Sunset Road Kuta-bali | In front of Kuta Point, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
3617452968
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 374 restaurants in Kuta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best suckling pig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is the best suckling pig in bali, the taste, variety of food, they have a complete set of suckling pig. But beware of (not)crunchy pig skin, sometimes is very hard, I had a hard one and hurt my teeth, the other day i had very hard one, just leave it. Place is small, hot and full of crowd. Hard to take order while full.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    49
    44
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best babi guling I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

So far I have been to Ibu Oka (meh), Taco Beach (yum), Ginger Moon (also yum), and had a whole suckling pig delivered to our villa. Pak Malen stands out as easily the best babi guling I have ever had.

When we arrived we found a table in the back where we would be out of the way, and a young waitress came over and took our order. It wasn't hard to order, as there is only one thing on the menu, which is everything. I ordered the spicy, my wife got the non-spicy.

When it turned up...wow! The pork was succulent, the skin was crispy, the stuffing was amazing (and stunningly spicy), the crackling was flavorful, and the soup was also delicious. I'm running out of superlatives to describe this place. It is definitely not a place that would appeal to the normal Western eye, but all those who tdrive past are missing out on some of the best food in Bali.

We had two serves, plus two cokes, and it cost 70'000 rupiah. One of those plates would normally cost me 200'000+ rupiah at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“If you love local food, try this one and you'll love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch at Warung nasi pak malen today. And so far I have to say that this is the most delicious Bali cuisine I've ever ate. There's only one menu, nasi campur (rice with many side dishes mostly made with pork). The portion is suitable for women, but maybe for men, you'll need get an extra plate. Delicious food with affordable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Eat all the pork dishes , their way - Babi Guling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

roast, deep fried, stir fried, stew, grilled, all in 1 plate. Coupled with their delicious spicy chilli, this is a warung that you would not want to miss in Bali. Local price, great indo food. Stop being a tourist, join the local.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply put, the best pork dish ever!!,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

When you're visiting bali and craving for the best local cuisine, dont hestitate just go here.. Location is a bit tricky to reach.. If you're on sunset road make sure you look to your left just before the seminyak traffic light.. Restaurant was rather small and modest with only 2 parking space available for car..

Dont expect fancy dining experience with a fancy looking waiter/es coz this is not it. You're here simply because of the food, period!..

It is the best suckling pig in Bali and dont think i've found a better one...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen also viewed

 

Been to Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Babi Guling Pak Malen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.