We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frankly very poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Singosari 18, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 181 Hotels in Kuta
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
“Frankly very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We didn´t appreciate this place, it was not what shown in their website. Rooms were spacious but with no view and common areas were dark or full of smoke. The pool is a joke as many reviews said. We didn´t enjpy Kuta and this hotel. No way we´ll come back. Positive people attitude.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    75
    38
    23
    7
See reviews for
32
86
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We chose the Royal due to the location and the mostly favorable reviews on this site. The hotel looks nice and the staff are pleasant. We had a room on the second floor. I discovered that the bathtub was incorrectly installed so that shower spray would flow along the back side then dump on the floor. There was a drain in the floor but it was near the the other end of the tub. If the tub was set back a few inches to the opposite wall, there would have been no flooding. There was no hand-rail and no non-slip surfaces on the tub's floor. Eventually I did slip in the bathroom and knocked my wife down in the process. We were lucky to avoid major injuries. After that, I would place the wash clothes in the bottom of the tub and the foot towel where the puddle would form to avoid slipping. Then I would wring the water out and hang them to dry until the next shower. The food was disappointing especially the Nasi Goreng. Go to Solaria in the Centro Mall, and try it there. We might return to Kuta another time but will look for a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Wifi did not work in our room (2nd floor) so bring a device that can use a lan-cable. Watch out whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47Aan, Front Office Manager at The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Bali Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa !

On behalf of the Management of The Bali Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa, thank you for taking the time to write about
your experience or to complete our Guest Comment during your stay at our Hotel recently.

We hope you enjoyed your visit and have a safe and pleasant journey to your next destination.

I would like to thank you for your encouraging remarks on behalf of the whole team, services and the facilities.
And please allow me to apology on behalf of The Management for the inconvenience may caused during your recent stay.

Your valuable comments and observations help us to ensure that our facilities and services are continually
improved the developing needs of our customers.

We all look forward to making you feel more than welcome again soon to your second home (The Bali Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa) in the near future.


Thank you and best regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 night, the hotel is not typical of bAli hotel, it's a 5 floor building, a little bit dark in the aisle. the staff are really nice n ' helpful. Booked for deluxe room, the room is huge, clean n' simple. I don't really like the breakfast, not so many choices. The pool is not a pool for swim, I think it's just part of the hotel interior, little bit disappointed with the pool. But the location excellent, 5 minutes walking to the beach, lot of good restaurants around, 15 minutes walk to discovery mall

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

One week here has been more than enough. We thought we could use a nice pool or the beach nearby. Both were a disappointment: the pool is very small, not fit to swim and the beach albeit long has huge waves good only for boards. The hotel is very average, only the staff is good but the premises are looking dated. We had a room without a view and the management didn't change it for us. We won't stay again for sure.

Room Tip: MAny rooms do not have view. MAke sure you have a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Eighteen Resort from 18 March till the 28 march 2013 the staff were lovely and very friendly.The location is excellent very close to the shops restaurants and the beach,and the room was excellent.

Room Tip: the room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47Aan, Front Office Manager at The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
The Best Value for Comfortable Place


Dear Mr/s. Goldring,

Thank you for choosing The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa for your recent stay in Kuta.
Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa the next time you're in Kuta.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at Royal Eighteen Resort from 18th March till 23rd March 2013 and really enjoyed it. The staff were lovely and very friendly breakfast was a buffet every day and it was great also free computers and wi-fi reception area, When I do go back to Bali will be staying at the Royal Eighteen Resort again and so central to everything in Kuta

Room Tip: Booked a regular room and was up grade automatically to a superior room excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent 3 nights here after a 6 week Asian adventure. Room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Had a small problem with a broken latch on the door which was fixed promptly. The location is excellent being very close to all the Kuta action, eg shops,beach restaurants and Waterbom water park. We walked to everything.Cost was quite good. Breakfast was adequate,and a few times a week, the front area of the hotel is changed around to allow a buffet/ style restaurant which was very cheap. Also had a musician playing on these nights and Balinese trad dancers .The pool is a bit of a joke, squeezed into a tiny courtyard adjoining the breakfast area. TIP. The hotel boasts a spa so we booked in for a manicure and pedicure. This also was a bit of a joke. The spa staff( while attentive and uniformed) didnt have a clue and my nails were not filed or shaped. The polish was so badly applied with lumps and areas left unpainted,I removed it . I didn't say anything to the poor (very young girl) who was very nervous and shy. But a warning to others to go somewhere else for your manicures.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Singosari 18, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Eighteen Resort & Spa Kuta is a new minimalist hotel, nestled conveniently at the central of Kuta. The premier choice in Kuta for family holiday, group of friends, honeymoon couple and business traveler. Features 108 rooms inclusive Superior rooms, Deluxe rooms and Suite rooms set in a story building comprised with single and double room configuration. Offer its guests all the comfort of modern hotel and a stay in convenient accommodation served by genuinely charming and professionally trained Balinese staff. Providing a tropical getaway, The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa is just minutes away from Bali Ngurah Rai International Airport, 200 meters from beautiful Kuta Beach, the famous Discovery shopping center, restaurant, bar, waterboom park, and popular Kuta Square. An idyllic hideaway for those wishing to explore Bali while keeping Kuta beach and Kuta's best shopping mall within walking distance. Aside from free Wi-Fi, it also has an outdoor pool, Balinese massage and free parking.The modern rooms include a flat-screen TV, minibar and a personal safe. Private bathrooms come with a bathtub. Day trips and car rentals can be arranged at the tour desk. The resort also provides laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.The Star Cafe is perfect for catching up with friends for canapes, meals & drinks, meetings or simply spending time relaxing out of the heat. Guests can enjoy watching live sport or enjoying great music. Our menu includes favorites such as steak, seafood, salads, ribs, authentic pizza, pasta and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Eighteen Resort And Spa Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Eighteen Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.