We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Illusion show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kuta Theater

Kuta Theater
JL Kartika Plasa # 8X - E1 2nd Floor | Next to Kuta Station Hotel and Bubba Gum Restaurant. Right Across Bali Garden Hotel, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 762750
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bali night out. With USD 17 watch magical culture theater show, LIGHTS OF FAITH. A story of traditional friendship crushed in a modern culture. It's fun, hilarious & educating. There are at least six story morals in one hour performance. Daily show 8 PM except Wednesday (no show on Wednesday). See the show and feel the magic of Bali in every story.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Illusion show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Interesting experience. We saw the illusion show. The Indonesian did it well, something different. Barter the price of entry though, will come down. Goes for about an hour, so long enough.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    53
    19
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative reviews - this is well worth the money spent! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My partner and I did some research online and came across a website that recommended we check out the performance at Bali Theater. After having dinner not so far away, we went in and purchased VIP tickets for the show which were recommended to us by the ticket seller. VIP tickets get you front row seats to the show and first entry without having to line up. VIP tickets are in no real way necessary as the theater is quite small but we're still glad we got them as it just meant we could see everything really clearly. The performers were all brilliant and although some of the tricks were a little old (as previous reviewers have mentioned) it does not take away the awe that you feel each time one is conducted and although it may be more of an illusion than a trick, you still don't 100% know how they did any of them either which is the main thing. My hat goes off to the main male performer - his acting and his vibrancy on the stage is outstanding! PS when they ask for a volunteer to go up on stage and assist with an act, don't be afraid as you're not asked to be involved in any of the trickery, you just need to assist with tying the magician up! I know this as I was the volunteer! For $10 each AUD or $12.50 VIP this show is well recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always go for VIP seat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

One of the two best things I enjoyed in Bali. It was worth every rupiah. I wish they would market themselves more

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbin, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I'd read good reviews here, so booked 4 VIP tickets through the hotel at 4pm (show started at 8pm). Standard seats are 100k Rup, VIP 125k Rup. If you do go definitely get VIP, for the extra 25k you get to skip the queue and get front row seats.

The show is by no means a 'rip-roaring' event. It's an hour long, has about 5/6 magic tricks and a few dances. The story was fairly tenuous and the acting on the side of comical (which i imagine is the intention). That said, we all walked away pleasantly surprised.

The performances made us chuckle. My girlfriend was chosen to go up and help tie up the magician. He made her jump a couple of times (she's naturally jumpy anyway) to further my amusement. The story, although seemingly forced to fit around the tricks, did show a little of Balinese culture and religious beliefs. The dancing, for me, got in the way of a magic show (this probably just shows my lack of culture if anything). It was however expertly performed.

And now to the magic. The tricks are old and you have seen them a million times, but each one gives you a little surprise and exceeds your expectation. It may be the stage, lighting and sound of a low budget theatre that first aids in lowering your expectation. This however works well, as the feeling of the theatre lulls you into a false sense of security making you arrogantly believe that you know what will come next. The results however go beyond. An example: during one trick i sat there safe in the knowledge that the girl was hiding in the box and disappointed in how predictable it was, only for me to be left embarrassed as i watched three girls emerge from a seemingly impossible space. These little surprises continued throughout the show and, in fact, left me wanting more by the end of the hour. Looking back i would have happily paid more if the show would have been 30 minutes longer.

All-in-all, the Kuta Theatre is a great thing to do if you just want a quiet night in Kuta. At the end of the day, its only an hour, so if you still want to go and get drunk after, your night has not been taken up. What's more, the show is so cheap that you will not walk away feeling like you have lost anything.

Before i finish, I would like to just mention that the staff on the door were particularly friendly and lastly reiterate that paying 25k for a front row seat (and therefore booking the VIP tickets a few hours in advance in case the front row seats are taken) is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“More Magical then cultural”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The show is very good and fun. It is more magical show then a cultural show. They tried to blend both in one. With the price you pay 10 USD its worth to watch the show.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuta Theater also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Kuta Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuta Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.