We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ground Zero Monument

Ground Zero Monument
Legian Street, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bali Bombing Memorial, Ground Zero was built in the memory of terror attack that took place on 12th October, 2002 in Bali. It is considered as the deadliest terror attack in the history of Bali. The simple yet elegant architecture is made from carved stones and has a huge marble plaque with names as well nationalities of those who were killed in the attack.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sad to see how many innocent people lost their lives. The balinese have done a great job with this memorial.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    227
    137
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Pulls on your heart strings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place still feels surreal after so many years. Makes you think of the horror that so many went through, local and tourists alike. But also makes you proud of the hundreds of locals and visitors that helped each other out, humanity at its worst and best. I visit here each trip, to pay tribute to so many lives cut short.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A sad place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I think it was hard to say this was a good place to visit, I mean it is well presented and a very much visited place so you could say an excellent place to show respect for those who's lives where taken, it is sad to read through the names of those who lost there lives here, they have not as yet placed any buildings on the site and the monument is quite pronounced in the area. I could comment further about the lack of respect by certain "visitors" to the area but I wont. The Balaneseare very upset about the events that took place here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
561 reviews 561 reviews
183 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Not sure how to rate this”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

On the 12th of October 2002 a bomb ruined what was paradise. Bali has recovered but not forgotten.
We happened to be in Bali on the 12th of October last year, the 10th anniversary of the bombing. The road was closed to traffic and we walked to the site where a small memorial wad held.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Memorial”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely memorial very touching tribute with everyone's names (not just aussies lost their lives lots of nationalities especially Balinese). Sad to see it's still a carpark something needs to be done about it. What was even worse was a lady coming up after we had been there hassling us to fill in a survey! How degrading. Keep the leeches away and it will be better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ground Zero Monument also viewed

 

Been to Ground Zero Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ground Zero Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.