We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its been decade since the bombings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ground Zero Monument

Ground Zero Monument
Legian Street, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Attractions in Kuta
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bali Bombing Memorial, Ground Zero was built in the memory of terror attack that took place on 12th October, 2002 in Bali. It is considered as the deadliest terror attack in the history of Bali. The simple yet elegant architecture is made from carved stones and has a huge marble plaque with names as well nationalities of those who were killed in the attack.
Manado, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Its been decade since the bombings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Everytime i visit Bali i'd never missed this Ground Zero, it reminds me of the evil terrorists won that day,i hope them who lost their lives in the bombings rest in peace.. My last visit we can only took pictures from the outside they locked the entrance..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    184
    102
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

They have done a wonderful memorial site. The security in Bali has improved, so I'm told. We do see alot of police around and that is good. The garden and name plague lookes very peacefull for a busy intersection. You can't help take a picture, to remember those involved.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A special reminder of such tragic losses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We lost a friend in the bombing so it was special to visit and is a nice memorial to all that were lost in such a terrible event. I was dissapointed it wasn't the peaceful visit I was looking for as locals use it to target tourists. We had barely arrived when we were approached to do a 'tourist survey'. I have no issue with the survey but there is a time and place for everything.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“lest we forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

take time to visit the memorial and pay your respects to our fellow aussies who lost their lives in this barbaric act of terrorism.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tearful place..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I lost 4 friends which now have there names on the big wall at ground zero. It is a lovley reminder of all those great people that were lost while just having a great time in bali...rest in peace

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ground Zero Monument also viewed

 

Been to Ground Zero Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ground Zero Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.