We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean, safe, and centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Matahari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Guest House Matahari to your Saves list
Guest House Matahari
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Jl.Tegal Wangi N.14, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Affordable, clean, safe, and centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I liked the fact that it's close to the Matahari Kuta Square and the main entrance to Kuta Beach, but away from the noisy pubs that you see along Legian or Poppies Lane, which were about a good 15 minutes walk from this place. I brought a printed map with me from Agoda as I read on forums that some guests found it hard to locate, but keeping in mind that it was just at the back of Kuta Square, we carefully looked and slowed our taxi down to ensure we arrived at the right place. We had no problems locating it.

We tried to walk back from Legian to our guest house at about midnight, and it felt safe. Watch out though for small alleys as sometimes motorbikes pop out of nowhere from there.

The staff was very accommodating too. The room we had was spacious and clean. We had cable TV and AC; a small kitchen space and fridge; complimentary water, tea, and coffee; and a big clean bathroom with tub and shower. Free Wifi doesn't work in our room though although we were close to the router, so I had to go out to the reception area where the signal is stronger. Overall, it was a good experience for a very cheap price! I could go back there again. After the trip, I searched them on Facebook and thanked them for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: It's a small place so they don't have lifts, so for those who are unable or find it inconven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

very cheap budget hotel, but you get alot for the price- Free wifi, lcd tv, fridge, aircon, towels, water. small room, but well laid out. Comfortable bed, and floors so clean and shiny! Staff keep to themselves and dont try to sell you tours etc. They also provided us with reasonably priced transport to our next destination. Dont let the windy little road to the hotel put you off, as you are a 5 min walk to the beach, and seven minutes from the bars and clubs, meaning its accessible, yet very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Matahari Guest House has a clean room, very comfortable because they have very clean room. But my room has smoke smell that make me a bit of not comfortable. The weakness of this place is disturbing noise of outside street make me can't have a good sleep. But Actually I like this place and i will sleep here for my next holiday. But i want to request the room far from the outside.

Room Tip: Choose far from the street is better from disturbing noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cepu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

For only IDR 200,000 per night for 2 persons, this accomodation is very value of money! The room has Air Conditioning, big fridge, LCD TV, coffee maker and the separate toilet & shower was convinient. The free wifi is also a big bonus! Our room was on the 2nd floor so that the road noise wasn't the big issue. We had such a good night sleep and felt a bit sorry for only staying there one night (Bali was just the transit place after our trip from Australia).

Room Tip: Chose rooms on 2nd floor. They are not that noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed here in jan.2012 for 2 nights. Room was very clean, price was decent, close to beach and shopping. Very little water pressure in the shower but the cleanliness of the place made up for that. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed there for 2 night, precisely on november 25, 2011. The hotel is quite small, the room was clean and all the part of building was maintai well.Location is near the main street of Kuta, it's make we are easy to go anywhere but noise at the out side because just 3 meter from the road.

Room Tip: Please asking room at second floor, will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Matahari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Matahari

Address: Jl.Tegal Wangi N.14, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guest House Matahari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guest House Matahari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Matahari Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Matahari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.