We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flapjaks Kuta

Flapjaks Kuta
Jl. Kartika Plaza Complex Kuta Sidewalk | Kuta Sidewalk, Kuta Beach, Sanur, Petitenget, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 765674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 374 restaurants in Kuta
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Dessert, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Flapjaks is a Cafe concept to complete the full range of well known restaurants management, Rama Restaurants Bali. The first Flapjaks outlet opened in Kuta at the famous Kuta Sidewalk, Jalan Kartika Plaza adjacent to the Ramayana Hotel Resort and Spa. Flapjaks' concept is a one-stop for pancakes, waffles, crepes, and assorted flavors of gelato. There are also a range of other meal menu for you to choose if you want heavier meal. So enjoy your breakfast, lunch, dinner, or just gelato or freshly brewed coffee as you watch the crowds go by.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Pancakes & waffles very fresh with a huge selection. We ended up here twice as the first visit was late and they had run out of quite a few items. We gave it another shot & managed to get all that we ordered. We even had entertainment watching a rat scurry across the busy road until it met it's demise with a splat. Very noisy, very busy, service was good given how busy they were so all in all a great place to end the night when you have teenagers that are a little hungry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    60
    75
    26
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Refeshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a good place to go for a icecream, coffee or a cold mikshake. They have lots to choose from. The out door eating is great you are able to watch what is going on around you while you eat. Service is good and quick. Value for your money. Said to say they dont have banana splits anymore.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor Hygiene”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Food was reasonable, but the hygiene of the staff was terrible. Continually wiping sweat off their faces with hands and not using soap after going to the same toilet as the guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yes, We Have No Butter But Plenty Of Trash”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at a hotel next door and came here at about 9 am for breakfast (it is supposedly a pancake place). We sat outside even though it was dirty, but quickly had to move inside as the odor from cleaning fluid used by a neighboring shop was sickening. It was crowded inside and we got the last table. After looking at the menu, I tried to order pancakes and sausage (like I said, it is a pancake place) but the waitress told me they "did not have". When I finally figured out with more questions what she was talking about it turned out that Flapjaks had no butter (or margarine) and no sausage. I tried to ask the waitress how a place could specialize in pancakes and not have butter but that was fruitless. There were many items on the menu that they did not have, and I ended up ordering a sandwich. The food was mediocre. However, the worst was yet to come. In full view of the dining area was the bathroom sink (see photo). It was filthy, the laminate was peeling off of the top, and the rusted soapdish had no soap. The unisex bathroom fared no better (see photos). The toilet brush was thrown on the floor, the whole bathroom was filthy, and there was trash and wet toilet paper on the floor. If the restaurant cares so little about hygiene in the public area I could just imagine what it was like back in the kitchen. When I returned to my seat I did not finish my sandwich. On the wall next to us was the TripAdvisor Certificate showing this place is supposedly one of the best restaurants in 2013 for Kuta (see photo). This place is a disaster.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Recommended breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Order chocolate pancake, omelette and chocolate shake. All is good. Portion is big enough, price is affordable and service is fast. The pancake is quite different with Pancious - it's a little bit brisk.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flapjaks Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flapjaks Kuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.