We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel, Great Value, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Save Saved
You added Sun Island Hotel Kuta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 175 hotels in Kuta
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“New Hotel, Great Value, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I somehow managed to get a great deal through Hotel Club.com paying around $AUS 50 per night for a standard room with breakfast included in this very new hotel which was great value. Stayed only two nights as we were in transit to Flores.

Our room was on the ground floor just opposite the little bridge that goes over the pool. It was nicely and tastefully decorated, a nice size with a king bed and a little courtyard. The bathroom was a nice size too.

This is a hotel not a resort so don't expect the usual lush bali gardens, but the pool is fine for cooling off and sitting around.

The breakfast is not that great but for what we paid I wasn't complaining. Adequate is the word that springs to mind. Obviously we didn't stay in one but the pool access rooms looked good and the rooms with a balcony that look over the pool looked good too.

The best thing about it was the location. Airport, Kuta Square, Centro Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park, Markets and restaurants are all close by. The staff are very nice too.

The only negative would be that this place is a little noisy. Trying to get an early night after a tiring flight we were constantly woken by others retiring to their rooms. Once everyone was settled though it was very quiet and we got a good sleep until they all started waking up at what seemed like a very early hour.

This hotel is fine for one or two nights but to me, for an extended stay I would seek out more resort like accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear ausrose,

Greetings from us at Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay in our Kuta hotel. We appreciate you for pointing out some of our highlights, including our strategic location, our interior design, our pool, and most importantly, our service. Despite the noise, we are glad that you enjoyed most of your stay with us. We hope that you will plan another Bali escape in the near future and consider to stay at our hotel again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hospitality at its finest!

Best regards,

Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    125
    37
    14
    5
See reviews for
47
99
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Construction work directly in front of the hotel started at 11pm and ended with the first sunlight. Impossible to sleep during the night. Even without construction work the noise fom the street is not aceptaable. A nicce hotel - if you do not come to sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms cose to the street, but if you really want to sleep and relay, look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, General Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Mark B,

Greetings from us at Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

It saddens us to learn that your recent stay with us is far below your expectation. We regret that the construction work should have affected your entire stay. We’re sincerely hoping that you will have another chance to stay at our hotel again in the future to experience our true hospitality at its best. Until then, we are wishing you and your family well.

Kindest regards,
Ismullah, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Within half an hour ride to airport , 5 mins walk to art market , discovery mall,kuta square and 10 minutes walk to beautiful kuta beach , room was beautifully designed n toilet was clean. Stslsff wad friendly n helpful with our request too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at the Sun Island for 6 nights in October. Really enjoyed this hotel. It is located nearly opposite waterboam park and one hotel from Discovery Bay shopping centre. The hotel is small (125 rooms) with a lovely pool and very modern in a contemporary style. There were few kids and no bogan Aussies. Markets and 7-11 are within a 1 minute walk. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast really good. Internet is free and you can request late check out for a fee. The room is clean and nice decor. Room service was fast and a good standard. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked this hotel through Wotif as a mystery deal and was happily surprised when we arrived.
The hotel is in a great location, close to Centro, Waterbom Park & many great restaurants.
The room was a good size, the twin beds were bigger than other hotels we have stayed in.
Breakfast was good with lots to choose from. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't book a room near the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was clean and well presented. Rooms all centre around the pool so it can be a bit noisy in the early am when the kids all converge! Nice setting and comfy rooms. The pool is only 1.2m deep so great for all ages. Location is good- close to Waterbom Park but a few km walk to Ground Zero and surrounds... easy to do though! Good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool so it doesn't really make a difference where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went to Bali on business and staying in Sun Island Hotel for two days. It is a beautiful hotel, minimalistic and modern design. The decor is simple, ingenious use of old timber as ceiling in the lobby.

The room was excellent and very clean, big and beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable. I love the fact that you room stays cool even when you have removed your card key and go out to the city. The AC stays on unless you turn it off yourself. I wondered why did they put the TV in the middle of a big mirror, interior decoration perhaps?. The table is large and nice but the chair is not so comfortable, the seat has no bottom support and you feel like you are sitting on a frame with nothing in the middle. Internet access is free and available.

The bathroom is nice except for the window looking into the room, but there is a rolling curtain hidden in the ceiling at the room that you can bring down. Water pressure is strong, but the hot water takes a moment to come out. The bathing area is poorly designed, there is no shower curtain and the bathtub was placed higher than the platform at the wall, so when you take a bath, the water that hit the wall would flow to the door and flood the floor. On a positive note, installing a bidet on the toilet was a genius move.

Location-wise, the hotel is located very close to the airport and just a short walk to Waterbom Bali - a very popular water park. There's also a lot of restaurants nearby, with a convenient store right in front of the hotel. The Discovery Mall is also close by.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, with a lot of different selection,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Island Hotel Kuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.