We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , new ammenties n good services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Island Hotel Kuta to your Saves list
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 214 Hotels in Kuta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location , new ammenties n good services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Within half an hour ride to airport , 5 mins walk to art market , discovery mall,kuta square and 10 minutes walk to beautiful kuta beach , room was beautifully designed n toilet was clean. Stslsff wad friendly n helpful with our request too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed at the Sun Island for 6 nights in October. Really enjoyed this hotel. It is located nearly opposite waterboam park and one hotel from Discovery Bay shopping centre. The hotel is small (125 rooms) with a lovely pool and very modern in a contemporary style. There were few kids and no bogan Aussies. Markets and 7-11 are within a 1 minute walk. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast really good. Internet is free and you can request late check out for a fee. The room is clean and nice decor. Room service was fast and a good standard. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked this hotel through Wotif as a mystery deal and was happily surprised when we arrived.
The hotel is in a great location, close to Centro, Waterbom Park & many great restaurants.
The room was a good size, the twin beds were bigger than other hotels we have stayed in.
Breakfast was good with lots to choose from. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't book a room near the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was clean and well presented. Rooms all centre around the pool so it can be a bit noisy in the early am when the kids all converge! Nice setting and comfy rooms. The pool is only 1.2m deep so great for all ages. Location is good- close to Waterbom Park but a few km walk to Ground Zero and surrounds... easy to do though! Good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool so it doesn't really make a difference where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went to Bali on business and staying in Sun Island Hotel for two days. It is a beautiful hotel, minimalistic and modern design. The decor is simple, ingenious use of old timber as ceiling in the lobby.

The room was excellent and very clean, big and beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable. I love the fact that you room stays cool even when you have removed your card key and go out to the city. The AC stays on unless you turn it off yourself. I wondered why did they put the TV in the middle of a big mirror, interior decoration perhaps?. The table is large and nice but the chair is not so comfortable, the seat has no bottom support and you feel like you are sitting on a frame with nothing in the middle. Internet access is free and available.

The bathroom is nice except for the window looking into the room, but there is a rolling curtain hidden in the ceiling at the room that you can bring down. Water pressure is strong, but the hot water takes a moment to come out. The bathing area is poorly designed, there is no shower curtain and the bathtub was placed higher than the platform at the wall, so when you take a bath, the water that hit the wall would flow to the door and flood the floor. On a positive note, installing a bidet on the toilet was a genius move.

Location-wise, the hotel is located very close to the airport and just a short walk to Waterbom Bali - a very popular water park. There's also a lot of restaurants nearby, with a convenient store right in front of the hotel. The Discovery Mall is also close by.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, with a lot of different selection,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I like this hotel because of its location. If you're looking for a convenient, safe and comfortable place to stay near Kuta but away from the party life of Legian street, this is the place to be.
Service was expected but they cleaned my room only in the late afternoon.
What I didn't like about the place was that it didn't have a fitness centre and the bathroom was poorly designed. There was a bathtub with no shower screen so that after every bath, the whole bathroom would be wet. Also, noise insulation was pretty crappy and i could hear footsteps outside and the chatter of people in the next room!

Room Tip: get a higher room with no bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luqman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights here in the deluxe room and I was very impressed from the service to the room it was excellent. The bathroom was clean and farely new. They cleaned the rooms everyday with fresh towels. The employees there were soo friendly and really look after you including security by the gate. I would definately stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#37 of 214 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel Legian
Sun Island Hotel Legian
#15 of 72 in Legian
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kuta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#39 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing