We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Island Hotel Kuta to your Saves list
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 181 Hotels in Kuta
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked this hotel through Wotif as a mystery deal and was happily surprised when we arrived.
The hotel is in a great location, close to Centro, Waterbom Park & many great restaurants.
The room was a good size, the twin beds were bigger than other hotels we have stayed in.
Breakfast was good with lots to choose from. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't book a room near the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    153
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
57
131
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was clean and well presented. Rooms all centre around the pool so it can be a bit noisy in the early am when the kids all converge! Nice setting and comfy rooms. The pool is only 1.2m deep so great for all ages. Location is good- close to Waterbom Park but a few km walk to Ground Zero and surrounds... easy to do though! Good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool so it doesn't really make a difference where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went to Bali on business and staying in Sun Island Hotel for two days. It is a beautiful hotel, minimalistic and modern design. The decor is simple, ingenious use of old timber as ceiling in the lobby.

The room was excellent and very clean, big and beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable. I love the fact that you room stays cool even when you have removed your card key and go out to the city. The AC stays on unless you turn it off yourself. I wondered why did they put the TV in the middle of a big mirror, interior decoration perhaps?. The table is large and nice but the chair is not so comfortable, the seat has no bottom support and you feel like you are sitting on a frame with nothing in the middle. Internet access is free and available.

The bathroom is nice except for the window looking into the room, but there is a rolling curtain hidden in the ceiling at the room that you can bring down. Water pressure is strong, but the hot water takes a moment to come out. The bathing area is poorly designed, there is no shower curtain and the bathtub was placed higher than the platform at the wall, so when you take a bath, the water that hit the wall would flow to the door and flood the floor. On a positive note, installing a bidet on the toilet was a genius move.

Location-wise, the hotel is located very close to the airport and just a short walk to Waterbom Bali - a very popular water park. There's also a lot of restaurants nearby, with a convenient store right in front of the hotel. The Discovery Mall is also close by.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, with a lot of different selection,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I like this hotel because of its location. If you're looking for a convenient, safe and comfortable place to stay near Kuta but away from the party life of Legian street, this is the place to be.
Service was expected but they cleaned my room only in the late afternoon.
What I didn't like about the place was that it didn't have a fitness centre and the bathroom was poorly designed. There was a bathtub with no shower screen so that after every bath, the whole bathroom would be wet. Also, noise insulation was pretty crappy and i could hear footsteps outside and the chatter of people in the next room!

Room Tip: get a higher room with no bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights here in the deluxe room and I was very impressed from the service to the room it was excellent. The bathroom was clean and farely new. They cleaned the rooms everyday with fresh towels. The employees there were soo friendly and really look after you including security by the gate. I would definately stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel has a very good location just 5' walk from the nearest beach. The staff is friendly and willing to help you in whatever you need. Breakfast is delicious. Swimming pool is nice. Rooms are spacious.
Bed sheets were dirty with big stains on them. We asked the staff twice to change them and finally they got it right.
If your room is facing the pool be prepared to drunk and loud guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The first time i stayed in this hotel was as a group of 3 in the pool access room. From the minute we arrived we recieved great service from all the staff members. We stayed 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We visited many surrounding hotels/ restaurants but always felt we where better off at the hotel. The food was great quality and variety at all meal times. By the end of our visit we felt like family. When we returned a year later we where welcomed with open arms as if we where returning family. We found the hotel to be clean and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The pool access rooms are definetely a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Island Hotel Kuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.