We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Island Hotel Kuta to your Saves list
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 198 Hotels in Kuta
Drouin, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got this room through Wotif as a mystery room for 2 nights. We arrived late at night and were given a lovely drink whilst checking in. Our roon was on the 4th floor (they have a lift) and overlooking what I assume was a staff carpark and down to the beach. The only negative about this is that the room was very noisy at night.
Having said that, the room itself was very clean, nice bathroom and had everything we needed.
The bar fridge is empty which is great for putting what YOU want into it.
Great friendly staff and don't get me started on the breakfast. It was enourmous. Ive not seen that many choices in 5 star hotels.
Also has a fixed price store accross the road and another 1 minute walk down the road.

Room Tip: Maybe try a pool view room to avoid the noise from the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    196
    53
    19
    9
See reviews for
74
166
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at Room 512 from 17 - 20 March 2013. Prior to my stay, I have email the hotel to request for double bed, high floor and early check in. The hotel fulfilled all my request. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze.

Room was great. Look like the pictures shown. Bright, clean and airy. My room overlook the pool. Toilet was also clean and tidy. I feel the tiles at the shower area is quite slippery when wet so really have to be careful.

I added a bed so the room became quite cramp.
Beds were super comfortable and many lights at the room so it wont be dim at night.

Overall it was a pleasant experience. If you are going to book a room near the pool, be prepared to face the noise.

The bad about the hotel. There were stains at the blanket. Not a pleasant sight and the towels looked old, not crispy clean and white type.

Breakfast was just so so, nothing to shout about. They should install blinds at the breakfast area cos some tables are facing the sun. How to enjoy the breakfast with the sun shining on your face??

Location was great, very near to Discovery Mall. Probably 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Checking out tomorrow after 6 day stay, had awesome time, great pool access room. Comfy bed best ever slept in a hotel room. Great service attentive staff. Break included how ever did get a bit boring at end. Great just lazing round pool will be back.

Room Tip: Pool access great room comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunIslandhotelkuta, Manager at Sun Island Hotel Kuta, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sharont67,

Greetings from Sun Island Hotel Kuta!

We are glad to hear that you have a great time during your stay with us. We are also happy to inform that our menu buffet breakfast has changed each of day.

Looking forward to welcome you again in our lovely hotel.

Best Regards,
Leni Evanila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

i stayed here for my 21st birthday they hotel staff couldnt of been better made me a cake sung me a song, lovely.
the pool was nice, the breakfast was amazing every morning. the general food and drinks are a little expensive but they usaully are in hotels. The location is good if you want to be out of main kuta, although the traffic control can be heard from the rooms.
I would stay here again its fresh clean great staff and for what your paying its great!

Room Tip: deluxe pool view level 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I hate writing negative reviews. The beds were comfortable and the rooms nice but the noise level was unbearable. I hardly slept a wink because of all the noise coming from the car park which belonged to the hotel next door. Staff coming and going, mopeds revving, as they are well entitled to do but I think the Sun Island should have thought about some double glazing.

Then to top it off on a noise level, two brothers (not Australian!) started an argument on their balcony, then moved it to the front of their room. It was on like Donkey Kong! But there were no security guards coming to sort it out. I had to scream at the security to get them to attend! And it was full on punching etc. All the levels are open so you can clearly see/hear from one level to the next. Security took the guys away, then let them back to their room because they had 'promised to behave'! Two minutes later they were at it again out on their balcony where the security couldn't get to them so fast. One boy even tried to throw his brother off the balcony! I know this sort of stuff can happen anywhere but it was the lack of action and apology to me (and others) that really riled me. The staff knew I was up all night because of these idiots and their lack of control, they should have rang the police when I asked them to the first time.

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

SERVICE
They decorated the room for us, the honeymoon couple, which we kind of expected. What surprised us was they waited for us to be back that evening (obviously some frontdesk staff remembered our faces as we were stepping into the hotel lobby), and they came to our room and served a "Happy Honeymoon" cake, totally on the house!

LOCATION
Seriously convenient. 5min walk to each of these areas - the mall, the beach, Waterbom (water park), the arts market, many convenience marts, a whole stretch of inexpensive fine dining (~SGD30/person at a Jap fine dining restaurant nearby; it would cost well over SGD100/person in SG's standard!), etc....

BREAKFAST
Quite a spread, though it got pretty boring by the 5th morning as the spread is rather similar over the 5 days. Arrive early, because they don't have large serving trays and the food often gets swooped up when large (tour) groups are having breakfast there at the same time as you are.

NOISE
All rooms face the pool in the middle of the hotel. It is quite a pretty sight actually, but perhaps not architecturally wise since the noise from the middle hollow resounds throughout the hotel as sounds travel upwards! And though we called the front desk twice, the security only managed to get the party-goers to quieten down at around midnight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Room 115 too noisy, no sleep, rain banging on plastic courtyard roof all night. Manager could not move us as hotel was full. He said sorry nothing I can do and proceeded to charge us 355000 rupiah for an 1 hour late checkout. Will not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Bali Rani Hotel
Bali Rani Hotel
#18 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun Island Hotel Legian
Sun Island Hotel Legian
#21 of 67 in Legian
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#29 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
EDEN Hotel Kuta Bali - Managed by Tauzia
0.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#28 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kuta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#36 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Island Hotel Kuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.