We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel n good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Island Hotel Kuta to your Saves list
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 186 Hotels in Kuta
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel n good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rooms spacious, clean n good service. Good breakfast. Internet free but very very slow. Only complaint pool very noisy early in the mornings.
No one supervisors screaming kids. Also hated the clear glass window between bedroom n bathroom no privacy, glass shld be obscure. Good location and most comfortable bed hve had in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    167
    46
    18
    8
See reviews for
62
144
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for New Years Eve, and a few days either side. The staff as most are in Bali hotels, very friendly and accommodating. Check in process fairly standard. There is a money exchange at the counter that offers same rates that you'll find on the street, so definatley worth while for lack of hassle. We stayed for a few nights in a deluxe pool suite then in the 1 bedroom suite room. The first room itself was clean, modern and air conditioning was nice and cold. No dvd player, so we bought our own that we'd purchased in asia and it worked fine. The down side, and I don't know if this is because we were on the top floor, is the noise. As the pool is in the centre and all the rooms are around the pool (five floors), noise from the pool seemed to carry like noise through a canyon. Fine if you have kids and like getting up early, but not so much if you want to sleep in. Quite noisy in general, we could hear chairs being moved around as the cleaners start around 9am. Breakfast was good, plenty of selection which changed daily. They have a juice making machine for those who like to make their own (carrot, apple etc). We upgraded to a suite room for the last few nights so we could enjoy something deluxe for New Years Eve. What. A. Difference! Bathroom and toilet, living area, bedroom, all separate, with TV in bedroom and another plus DVD in living area. Room was very quite, even though still located in the main hotel area. The balcony was a little on the small side, but nothing to complain about. If you want a good supermarket and wine shop, go out of the hotel and turn right, follow to the roundabout and turn left, the supermarket is only about 100meters from this turn. Large selection, similar to Coles/Woolworths but with wine shop and reasonable prices. Beats having to venture to the Bintang Supermarket in Seminyak. All in all, hotel is good, clean, spacious and well located.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room in any corner would probably be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here couple of times, most recent one was in July 2012. You can't beat the location as it is walking distance to Discover Shopping Mall as well as other shops, restaurants in this terribly busy strip of Kartika Plaza Street.

I stayed at Deluxe Pool View which is my favorite type out of their three room categories, basically all the same except the view and the pool-access. I prefer Deluxe Pool View than Pool-Access as it offers more privacy.

The room facilities is quite impressive, I like to the peacock decoration !! the bathroom is average with shower and bath tube but one tiny setting which annoyed me was there is a small glass wall which was supposed to avoid the water from getting the floor wet (out of the bath tube) but probably the setting was little inappropriate so the floor was always wet.

It is considerably new 4* hotel in the area, new breed of hotel which has just very limited ground so do not expect to see lush garden or sizable swimming pool. They do have pool though but just couple of plants.

They have a street side lounge too but only have one coffee-shop/restaurant which serves breakfast and it is in the same level of lobby, in fact it is in the same hall so you can see who's eating from the front office. The buffet was alright.

The staffs were also quite helpful. They have a large TV at the front office displaying flight arrival & departures which was quite handy

Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

kuta is the worst place to stay in Bali unless you want to find cheap lodging and mingle with the backpackers. however i had to choose this hotel as it was close to the airport and the guys i was meeting. the hotel is extremely new, therefore everything is clean and new. rooms were nice beds were comfortable with free wifi. breakfast was lousy. also you hear a lot of sounds in the night as the hotel is right on the street unless you get a room in the back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 2012, staff were always friendly and attentive. Room was clean with all the essentials. Great location if you want to be central to the main strip of kuta. Market stalls directly across from the hotel were the least persistent/pushy at a fair price too. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed for 2 night for a week-end getaway. Location is perfect, close to major hotels, shopping malls, waterboom and Airport (it's important due to heavy traffic in Bali during weekend- you wont like to miss your plane).

Since the hotel is basically new, everything is still well maintained. The bathroom has transparency window
I have no complaint for the hotel fixtures and location. Nothing special anyway than any other hotels. If you like the hustle busy street of Kuta, then this fits you.

Service could be improved though. I don't know why most hotels in Bali treat foreigner better than their local tourists. Unlike one of the review, the staff didn't help to carry our bags down the lobby when we checked out. Also, we only got 1 welcome drink while they knew that there were 2 of us. Since i'ts just a standard carton fruit juice and not fresh one, it's not a big deal for us anyway.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the pool. So if swimmer got loud and noisy, you all will be bothered. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Staff are friendly, very clean and easily one of the best places that i have stayed in Kuta.
It is close to shops and walking distance to everything, however distant enough form all the hustle and bustle from Poppies Lane.
would recommend this place to anyone.
the only disappointing thing was the food menu, i believe this could have been better, however i did love the 3 hours happy hour deals.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms at the from of the hotel as there is shows on during the evenings and it can be r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Island Hotel Kuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.