We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Save Saved
You added Sun Island Hotel Kuta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 10 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel Kuta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 338 hotels in Kuta
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was very new and the customer service was fantastic five star. I would like to see a few improvements like they need more seats and tables for the breakfast. We found ourselves waiting to get a table, I could imagine that it would be worse in the busy seasons. There is a smoking area for breakfast, this area needed ceiling fans to circulate the area. The towels had a horrible smell to them which wasn't pleasant. The pool area was good although even at 11 at night people were still in it and the notice seemed to travel. I think because of the location of the pool and the rooms are surrounded around the pool they have this issue. I did like this hotel very much and would come in a heart beat. I would only recommend this hotel to couples or friends. I would not take my children as the pool area was small and I wouldn't be able to relax as my kids would be noisy having fun and noise travelled. The pool in only waist high too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    108
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
86
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, the pool view room was brilliant, nice and clean no complaints. The staff at Sun Island Hotel Kuta are brilliant, always have a smile on their face and nothing is too much trouble, even when they are inundate with conference people. The pool is fantastic, the location is brilliant just a short walk down Jalan Kartika plaza and everything is there, I will definately be back again
My only suggestion is that they have an ashtray on the balacony for smokers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

i stayed here for a girls weekend in october. the staff are very friendly and a small problem we had on check in was quickly solved once i got in contact with my travel agent. i was worried about all the reviews of bad noise but i was in room 117 on ground floor and did not have any issues with excessive noise. the room was great, large enough to fit a roll away with room and a spacious bathroom. loved the fact it had a shower without the bath! the curtains are amazing and keep the room dark! the breakfast is basic but delicious. there was always a pool lounge available and i found that the water in the pool was warm all day long even once it became shaded in the afternoon. we did have an issue on the last day our room card stopped working but a quick stop by reception and it was fixed. this hotel is in a great location and i wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Came here for anniversary and upon check-in, was surprised with a pair of teddy bears, roses and swan-shaped towels.
Absolutely lovely!
The hotel design is quite modern and has a posh feel to it. Location was also superb.

Only minuses were:
- room is not sound-proof (yes, you can hear the people in the pool below; we were on the 3rd floor)
- the floor always seemed moist and damp (I usually like to go barefoot; but I wore the slippers provided instead)
- breakfast buffet had a good choice but I found the taste to be average

But despite the minuses, I'd still rate this hotel 4 stars out of 5!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so it's quieter. Pool view is nice (but may be noisy depending on the cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The rooms at the hotel were absolutely beautiful, air conditioned and serviced daily. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was divine. Kuta beach is only 10mins walk down the road and taxi's to anywhere like Ubud or Denpasar were always lining up. Destination Asia provided us with our tours and our tour guide slightly modified a couple with 1 days notice so we could experience more of Bali at a small cost ($20 AUD) Highly recommended for any travelers heading to this area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel when I came to bali! Near from the biggest shopping mall in bali! Very friendly staff, nick and sari are amazing waitress!
Nick made a cocktail for me and the taste was excellent! She was great waitress and great bartender too!
I'll back to bali next year..
I LOVE IT !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We Stayed at the Sun Island Hotel in Kuta in Sep 2012 - We had a great stay - allowed to check in extra early and even upgraded to a nicer pool view room. The Staff are very friendly - Breakfast was good. Live entertainment some nights and pretty cheap cocktails. - Dont listen to the other reviews about the pool being too shaded - Its gets plenty of sun for most of the day - IT IS NOT NOISY like many other people have said - a few laughs and footsteps at night will be all you here - Food is nice- Location is amazing - cut through Discovery Kartika for quick access to beach - across the road from waterbom and a couple of doors down from the big shopping mall. Fairly small and therefore quiet hotel - great for couples!

Room Tip: Pool view room great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Island Hotel Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel Kuta

Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Kuta Bali
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza 88, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Kuta
#67 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#85 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Island Hotel Kuta 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Bali Group is pleased to introduce you to our latest establishment of property in Kuta area. Sun Island Boutique Hotel Kuta offers you its definite impeccable service through the 126 rooms and 8 suites, with a true service of 4 star luxurious hotel where sophisticated contemporary designs meet Balinese traditional architecture and inspire posh amenities. Located in the most strategic location in Kuta, 5 minutes from Ngurah Rai International Airport, 5 minutes walk to the famous sandy Kuta beach, Discovery Mall, Traditional Art market, Waterbom and many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sun Island Hotel Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Island Hotel Kuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.