We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel & Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kubu Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Kubu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kubu Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Poppies I Gg. Sorga no. 5, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 145 Kuta B&B and Inns
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel & Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed there 2 weeks a go. We had the room with ac, hot water & tv (don't bother about the tv - local channel only) on the 1st floor for the first night (rp 300k) and it was ok, the next day we moved to room with fan & cold water (rp 175k), on the 3rd floor a little bit warm but we got the balcony. Well, they have good bed & basically the differences only in ac & the water really. And around the hotel there's a bunch of small restaurant or "warung", tattoo shop, & very cheap laundry place.

The staff are very nice & friendly although it's a bit annoying because we have to remind them constantly to make up our room & deliver fresh towel. They only serve one type of breakfast everyday which consist of 2 toasts, buter & jam, a little bit of scramble eggs, a slice of watermelon and a choice of tea or coffee. But you can only order up until 10am.

The location also good it is between poppies 1 and 2, easy to go anywhere but could be a bit difficult to get a cab in or out since the road is insanely narrow. And on the weekends it could be very noisy considering the hotel is quite close with some pubs, but during the day the hotel is quiet and you can relax in the small pool.

Also they can assist to arrange the transportation for you to go to any destinations in Bali which I found very helpfull and you can bargain! I paid rp 60k for airport transfer which I didn't mind to pay because I didn't have to go to legian main road and wait for a cab.

For sure I will coming back to this hotel for my next trip because it is a nice & clean hotel with affordable price & friendly staff .

Room Tip: Room #308 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
6
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

oct 2011 : Price = simple room (fan and cold water) = 175 000 rp, and soom with hot water and AC = 300 000 rp.
The simple room is very good.

good place in kuta = beetween poppies lanes 1 & 2.
quiet, and small hotel
it s a new hotel, so clean, good bed, and very nice pool.

employees are nice, and friendly.

so, good place.

very good quality for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed at the Kubu late September 2011 for one week.

The hotel is small, which is a change from the big hotels and resorts of Bali. The room was a small but good size, there were some marks on the bedding but it was fresh and clean and no bed bugs (bonus!)

The T.V is small and does not receive any english channels - there is no way to get a DVD player hooked up to it so bring plenty of reading material.

Bathroom was a bit below my standards but my boyfriend had no problems with it.

The pool is lovely! The sun hits it for a few hours during the day and it is great to sit and read/swim. Again, it's a small pool but sufficent.

Location - can be a bit tricky to get a cab in/out of it but we liked the location because it was tucked out of the way.

Downsides - it was very noisy some nights. It seems a lot of Indonesian people stay here and they tend to stay awake laughing and talking until all hours of the night and into the morning. They chain smoke and if you aren't a smoker, it's not so nice to have the second hand smoke billowing into your room (ulgh)

Upsides - great on a budget! We are traveling for a long time so saving money is crucial. The staff are really nice and helpful, the rooms are small but clean and tidy and we had no real complaints other than the noise. There are some great, very cheap local Warungs nearby too. Oh and you get free wifi in the rooms!!

If you are looking for a place that is simple, affordable, neat and tidy... this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I spent my last 3 nights in Bali at this hotel, simply because we were too lazy to search for another. The hotel's outlook was great. Modern, fresh, simple. But i wasn't too satisfied on the interior and service of the place.

There were 3 of us, and we were told that we needed extra bed for the 3rd person. So, we agreed to that and went ahead with the plan. As soon as we arrived in our room (208), i was really very disappointed with the size of the room. Even before the 'extra bed' was being brought in, i could already feel the lack of space in that place. It felt small for 3 people. In fact, too small for 3 big bags and many many shopping bags! The extra bed came 'after' we checked in. Only after about 10 minutes, the guy came with a foldable bed, an oversized comforter and a bed cover. I told him to just put it down and that he doesn't have to make it up for me. When i lay the bed out, the sheets were dirty. There were black spots on it (i don't know from where). The bed, seems to be so 'thin', so thin i could feel the floor, that I had to sleep on my comforter to feel 'comfortable'. Not only that, with the existence of my extra bed, the room suddenly became very small, with limited space to walk. My dad had to step on my bed in order to open the balcony door. I kept asking myself, why allow a 3rd person in a room, if you know it'll be that cramp?

Breakfast was just OK. We didn't have a choice. Everybody supposed to eat the same thing. 2 toasts, scramble eggs (very little), butter/jam and a choice of coffee or tea. There were a few others, i heard, asking whether they could have their eggs cooked a different way. The waitress just replied, NO. So, that leaves not only us, but other people too, with no other choice. We're just eating there because breakfast is included and we just felt the need to make use of it.

I remember telling the guys to make up our room before we left for the day, just to know that nothing was done as soon as we came back. To top that off, our towels wasn't automatically replaced too. It took us 2 days to tell them to do so.

It's not that cheap as compared to other places that i've stayed before in poppies. But now that i know, i think i will think twice coming back to this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

Nice cozy hotel, but room is abit small. Very nice pool. Stayed for a night on the rooms on level one. Very nice

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Called The Kubu Hotel; In their defense, most of the bed bugs we found were already dead, but when we found one alive, that was enough to get us out of there very quickly. We saw another room and saw them there too. The rooms are 175,000 rps per night with wifi and pool which would of been of good value had there been no bed bugs. I think they fumigated the hotel in the past, which would explain all the dead bed bugs, but we confirm seeing one alive with its belly full of blood (probably ours), eww..Watch out, there seem to be bed bugs at almost every hotel in Kuta.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kubu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kubu Hotel

Address: Jl. Poppies I Gg. Sorga no. 5, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kubu Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Kubu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kubu Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kubu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.