We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Round Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas

Save Saved
You added The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Kuta No. 99X, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Namaste Villa & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 174 hotels in Kuta
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All Round Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

On our recent visit to Bali we stayed at the Grand Namaste Villas in Kuta, and found the best of both worlds here!
At the Namaste you have the convenience of a great location, walking distance to all the hustle and bustle of Kuta, across from the beach and near the shopping and nightlife, yet, you have the tranquility of staying in a BEAUTIFUL villa, private and serene!
Despite some reviews I had previously read, I could not disagree more... Namaste was ALL ROUND AMAZING, in every aspect. Location, property, cleaniness, facilities, staff...EXCEPTIONAL!!!
Yes, there are some large scale construction work being condusted around the property but unless your a boring sole that plans on doing nothing and not leave the villa during the day, this will not bother you at all!
I visit Bali 3-4 times a year and have stayed in Villas in Seminyak before that are renowned and I must say that Grand Namaste is just as outstanding if not better than some in Seminyak with the added bonus of it's central location.
I look forward to my next stay at the Grand Namaste villa and spa...AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed at the Namaste Villa for just under two weeks at the start of September for our honeymoon.

We read the Trip Advisor reviews before had and had some worries in regards to the building work that had been going on.

As a big part of the reason we choose the villa's was for the seclusion, so we emailed Namaste with our concerns a couple of months before our holiday.

Namaste replied a couple of days later, ensuring us there wouldn't be a problem.

Sure enough, when we arrived, we had a a lovely villa that was not looked onto.

However, you could tell there had been a lot of work going and had there still been the villa would definitely be looked onto by the workers.

On all but the last two days of our stay on no work was carried out and what work was done didn't cause any noise problems.

As in any location, there were good and bad points to the villa with minor problems, such as the sliding doors falling off its hinges, but staff sorted any problem quickly.

The villa itself was beautiful, exactly like the pictures on their website.

Our main grievances were with the meals and the extra honeymoon package we paid for came with extra meals.

Breakfasts always arrived with stone cold toast. We did mention this to them two or three times, but things didn't improve.

Breakfasts were also late with and even not delivered on two occasions, but the staff were very pleasant and brought it quickly after we called reception.

Location wise, we were seconds away from the beach, and a lazy 25 minute walk into central Kuta on one side and central Seminyak on the other.

There are plenty of shops and plenty of tourist operators - the best one we used, the name of which evades me now, had a number of outlets with bold red and white text branding. Very helpful staff and good prices, with a bit of bartering

Our favourite things to do involved getting away from the busyness - we've never seen traffic like it, and we lived in central London for years!.

Day trips included a cycle tour - view over the volcano at breakfast, then a cycle down, through the rice paddy's and rural villages - and horse riding on the beach. These trips felt like we were seeing the 'real' Bali.

The children in us also loved the Waterbom water park!

Eating out wise, run of the mill menu choices are endemic but we also ate in some of the best restaurants we ever have. Hu'ur in Seminyak was excellent.

Annoyingly wine was very rare to come by and at least £40 a bottle. In contrast, magic mushrooms were readily on sale in Kuta and Legian.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable honeymoon in Bali and the Namast Villas were, for us, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Email in advance to make sure you get the type of room you've booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

The service was excellent and the rooms inside were well kept. In comparison to other villas, I believe the price is too expensive. The breakfasts were excellent and always on tIme. The gardens including the lobby and fish pond are very basic however with the renovations taking place, it may improve in time. There is obvious building going on around the property that will soon and has already encroached onto the laid back atmospere that this property may have once offered. Money spent elsewhere next time for me. Villas between legian and seminyak give better value and better privacy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

First of all, the villa was very nice, well equipped, with a nice bathroom, a decent size bedroom and a nice small swimming pool. This is very close to the beach, simply cross the road.
However, there are construction works (huge building and more villas) in both sides of the resort, which means that there is a huge amount of noise from 8am to 8pm - it is litterally impossible to stay outside by the pool during the day due to the noise that is unbearable and inside the room you will need to get the music on to avoid the noise.
On the top of that, the manager was not very nice (at all).
There will be constructions like this for another year or so therefore DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL, FIND ANOTHER ONE!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I should say that the Villa is nice but with some improvements to do. Having to hear its been there for four years without any room service from the kitchen is a bit ridiculous.
Booked for a one room villa. Upon arrival, we realised our rooms lacked some simple ammenities like soap. The towels were dirty and the pool was rather green from algae. (Hell knows when it was last cleaned). Totally shocked with the lack of fine details which was supposed to be pristine in a Villa. Requested for a change in villa due to the 'unappetizing' swimming pool. (it does look like a pond.. just add fish and frogs). They said they threw some chemicals in the pool to extract out all the algae and the filtration system will clean the pool. So i went out shopping to come back only to my horror as the pool has gotten worst. Demanded for an immediate change of rooms and were given a two-room villa which was fine but the other pool was only slightly better (can see the pool floors) but still greenish.
Amidst of all these frustration, i must say that the staffs were excellent and responsive. service with smiles. Dunno where it went wrong for them.
To manage your expectation:
1) Its almost at the end of Jalan Pantai Kuta. Hard to get taxi. Prepare to got stuck in Jam during morning and evening hours. Road constructions everywhere causes bottlenecks and ridiculously slow traffic.
2) Major construction all around the Villa. Forget about a peaceful holiday.
3) The Breakfast is almost the same everyday. They would send the BF to your villa every morning to the time of your choice.
... otherwise.. the rest is .ediocre

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was probably once a good place, but not now. Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. On arrival the pool was GREEN, requested twice to have it cleaned, then unable to use for 4 days, stayed 2 weeks, only able to use it 6 times. NO WATER OR ELECTRICITY for hoursINTERMITTENTLY DURING OUR WHOLE STAY, not good after being out all day, unable to wash hands, flush toilet or shower proir to going out for dinner. NO INTERNET ACCESS the entire time, even though checked by technicians 3 times. NO JUKUZZI as advertised .Constant SEWERAGE SMELL overwhelming and nauseating from bathrooms and kitchenette pipes.
TOWELS grey, stained and threadbear, pool towels stained and old. LINEN grey and not changed regularly Mosquito nets were brown, dusty and had cigarette burns in them. NO TV reception for at least half of the time. We went out one morning and on our return the entrance had been changed from the main road to down a side street, which was dark at night, no lights. No signs were errected re change of entrance.
THERE WAS NO COMMUNICATION BETWEEN MANAGEMENT AND GUESTS.
I dont usually complain, but this was the worst place I have ever stayed.
On the plus side, the reception staff and all staff very friendly ,obliging and applogetic and the rooms were spacious.
I did leave a two page note for the new manager, I hope he has the decency to reply.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We booked 2 rooms at the Nameste Villa for a quick week in Bali.
We have visited Bali many times and this is NOT one of the best. We booked through the Naseste directly and were not informed of the constructin work.
Very Overpriced
Our friends had to change rooms because of workers peering into their villa absoultly no privacy. But with all the construction work would br very hard to find what we were looking for in Kuta
Maybe in time they will make the villas private but in the meantime give it a miss

Positives -
Great location close to Kuta and Legien
Opposite Beach
Same friendly smile that you get all over Bali
Rooms large and adequate

Negatives
Construction Site has clear view into all villas
Construction work from 6:00am til midnight
Never once got the breakfast we ordered ( but what we received was good)
Power went off at different times
no water in shower 3 times had to ask for the water to be turned on
No towels in rooms
no toilet paper in rooms
Safe in room useless can pick it up and walk out with it
If you need a taxi to kuta or any where else it can take up to an hour to return from eg legien taxi 40 mins, only because of the way the streets are .

All in all i wouldnt stay at the Nameste Villa again
Their seems to be a huge communication problem between the Staff and Guests and rooms were not to the standard for Price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas

Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta No. 99X, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Namaste Villa & Spa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#28 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kuta Playa Hotel & Villas is the latest hotel icon directly located at the world famous Kuta Beach in Bali. We are located in the heart of Kuta, close to the Airport and with easy access to nightlife, shopping and entertainment. Our exclusive 4 star Hotel offers 143 elegant and spacious sea view Deluxe Rooms and Junior Suites as well as comfortable Superior rooms. Our property boasts 13 private pool villas in 3 different sizes, ideal for a sophisticated vacation experience, unique in Kuta. Start your day with a complete and healthy breakfast buffet at our international Restaurant “Kubu Bene”; discover culinary delights of the Far East at “Rinas Japanese Fusion”. Round off your day with a romantic Dinner or a drink at “Sky Deck – Fine Dining and Bar” overlooking the sunset at Kuta Beach. Enjoy an authentic Tapas and the cozy atmosphere at “Warung Kacang” and take the pleasure in our night entertainment and DJ lounge music. The Kuta Playa Hotel & Villas feature a roof top Spa with sea view, one Meeting Room for up to 100 persons, Swimming Pools and the “D_D Snack bar”, the “Hot Shot Spot” Internet Corner, “The Kuta Playa Gallerias” and a Bicycle Rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namaste Villa And Spa
Namaste Villa Hotel Kuta
The Kuta Playa Hotel And Villas Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kuta Playa Hotel and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.