We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel near airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Sari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pondok Sari to your Saves list
Pondok Sari
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nyangnyang Sari St, No 7B, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 151 Kuta B&B and Inns
Kimberley, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value hotel near airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived in to Bali after 8pm so we wanted a cheap hotel close to airport and we found one. This little hotel down a quiet street on way to Kuta is perfect for any traveler. Great service. Clean and large room. Bed is comfortable and bathroom clean and does not have that Bali smell.
We were impressed with the quality of this hotel and staff helpful both day and night time. Pool area is lovely. All I can say is good value for money.
The only down side and this is me saying when in Asia I eat local food. And because I am non Asian I was not asked what breakfast I wanted and given a western breakfast. So be nice to have a choice. But beside this as I like to eat Asian breakfast when in Bali. This hotel is well worth the stay if wanting a easy place to stay near the airport. And still many choices to eat at on the main rd.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was good for a breeze,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rama_Garden, Manager at Pondok Sari, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

warmest greetings from Pondok Sari Hotel,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your holiday experience in Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our hotel.

We really appreciate your comments and constructive feedback which we are now working on taking the accomodation into a new level of services and standard.
Your note for the breakfast already we share and discuss to our team member to fulfill the guests satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and we hope to see you again for your next trip to Bali.

Save travels.

Yours sincerely,

Eddy
(Asst Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pondok Sari has a small room but - in my opinion - almost has anything you need.
The location is 10 minutes to airport. Some reviews about room has ants,cockroach etc did make us worry at the first time but in the end all was just fine.

We stayed in the new Superior room on second floor (our request) and were quite satisfied. The bed is queen-sized, a flat screen television with international channels and DVD player, safety box, mini bar, tea/coffee maker. The bathroom is spacious, has shower with cold and hot water which is nice. It has an outside swimming pool,large parking area,24 hours in watch security, I mean, what else do you expect from this budget hotel that cost you only $25-35 per night include superb breakfast?

Recommended for travelers on tight budget but wanted star facilities. They have also new family room which is perfect for a short or long stay.Over all ,our stay was perfect except we noticed that the bath towel was a bit "old", the AC remote was not working,AC was noisy and not at maximum cold.

Room Tip: * Room on higher floor is better. Deluxe Room is larger and has a small sofa with only a few $ diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondok B, Manager at Pondok Sari, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Pondok sari Hotel,

We are really appreciate on your great review regarding to our hotel. We really happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and had a nice experience.
We have no word to impress our greatest thanks for you had been choosing Pondok Sari Hotel to stay and for spending your time to share this review in which all of these are very valuable for us for our further improvement.

The excellent service for the guests always become our main concern neither regarding to the facilities nor the service from our teams.

We do hope that we have another chance to welcome you again in Pondok Sari Hotel in the near future.

We wish you great days ahead.

Yours sincerely,

Eddy Kusuma
(Asst Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pondok Sari is top value and only one Australian dollar via blue bird taxi, away from Kuta central. The property is easily found by cab drivers if you mention that it is located near Super Nova and Mandiri Bank. Yes the rooms are small but this didn't worry us because they are complete with ironing board and iron, new TV, DVD player, air conditioner, hair dryer, coffee making, fridge and a cleaned room daily. How good is that? Bathrooms are lovely with, in our experience, plenty of hot water. Breakfast is a super little buffet with fresh fruit, noodles, rice, omelette if wished and a meat dish. Also available is water, fruit juice, coffee, tea, croissants and small cakes. We communicated well with the staff who spoke adequate English for our needs. We after all don't speak a second language as they do. We are elderly and found the staff to be kind and considerate at all times. Pondok Sari is great for dropping off your luggage and exploring Bali. When you come back to the room you are hot as anything so you jump in the shower, turn on the air-conditioning, wander out to the sparkling pool and then relax in a freshly cleaned room. We love our stay at Ponkok Sari and hope to return for our third time. Kind regards to all staff including Mr Eddy, Mimi, Marni and Herman. Cheers Silvia

Room Tip: We are elderly and required a room on the ground floor. We were right next to the lobby and found n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondok B, Manager at Pondok Sari, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Mrs Silvia Davidson,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding Pondok Sari hotel, Tuban, Bali.

We try always give the best services to our valuable guests and i shall convey the good news to the staffs mentioned.
We hope to see you again for your next trip to Bali.
Once again, we highly appreciate your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is really great, with new refurbished rooms, the staffs is very friendly, the breakfast is really delicious and there is free wifi connection in this hotel.

The hotel also really near to the airport, just five minutesfrom the airport to this hotel.
Everyone is smile and greets to us, it is so Balinese. The room so modern with aircon, hot cold water, coffe tea maker, safe, iron and also the important thing Comfy Double Bed.

Definately will go back again to see eddy and his staffs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondok B, Manager at Pondok Sari, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear valued Pondok Sari guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Pondok Sari Hotel, Tuban, Bali.
Your constructive feedback is important to improve our services and facilities.

Again, thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to Pomdok Sari Hotel, Tuban in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Eddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central District, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived late at night after a long journey and at midnight we decided to go to bed: surprise! beddings where dirty and full of hairs.... Two days later we were heading to the Temples when had to go back to the Hotel: surprise! 3 cleaning boys supposed to make up the rooms where in fact making up their eyes and lips with our make ups.... Hotel is definitely poor and dirty.

Fazit: disgraceful!

Room Tip: Look for another place where to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondok B, Manager at Pondok Sari, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear valued guest, we sincerely regret that your visit to Pondok Sari Hotel was not what you expected. I am very sorry that the inconveniences and service shortfalls you encountered marred what could have been a perfect stay experience.
We very much appreciate your candid and honest feed back which helps us to take the necessary corrective actions where they are needed. Please rest assured that all the relevant staffs are aware of your comments and continue to work hard to uphold the high standars of our products and services expected of the hotel.
Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the oppotunity of again welcoming you back to Pondok Sari Hotel, Kuta-Bali in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Łodź
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Was stressed after reading reviews on TripAdivsor but very surprised after check-in.
Hotel is located in small road which may a bit scare n the beginning, however next to Pondok Sari there is also Best Western located.

Room was very small - even tiny I would say but had everything: airconditioning (working fine;), TV, satelite set, minibar, large bed (clean), bathroom.

I think that some opinions may be affected by the style of the furnishing as this is kind of rustic like light wood with rustic - retro finishing. Floor was clean, bathroom small but comfortable.

The only thing which I could complain was not that hot shower. It was rather cool :( Anyway it is very hot in Bali so this did not make a problem for me.

Next thing which was surprised was WIFI. In my booking confirmation from booking.com there was info that it is payable $1,5 per hour - in fact it was for free.

Breakfast was tasty in very small restaurant next to the lobby. Unfortunatelly there were many other clients and when I came for breakfast at 9.00 they already ate all croissants :( I think it was not problem of too little food served, because when after my request of additional croissants staff gave to the plate...all those other clients jumped for them lstraight away. Do not know if they were that hungry or the croissants that delicious ;)
Generally there was a selection of different food so I would go for the second idea.

Staff in Lobby and reception desk was very friendly, when asked for a taxi cab they orderred blue bird for me for which I paid 30 000 Rp to the airport.

Someone complained here a bout pool. Well personally had no time to use it but saw that it was not a problem for other guests. Pool looked clean, water was clear...no green tint or sth like this.

Room Tip: Hotel is next to the large bank so it is very helpfull when no ATM in Kuta accept your card (which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived at Pondok Sari at 01.00am, so it was late and dark outside. The taxidriver didnt know where the hotel was, but manage to find it eventually. The check in went great and the room we had was a family room with one double bed and 2 twin bed. The room was big and clean, but a little with smelly. The smell went away when the aircon was up and running. The bathroom was so-and-so. It was clean, but you could see that some painting or two wont hurt the place.

The staff was really nice. They didnt speak well english, but can be understood if you just take some time and some finger movement. They were really helpsome with order the taxi for us. We didn't manage to try out the breakfast because of a little bit misunderstanding when it comes to breakfast time the first night. So the next day (after we went out in Kuta), the manager call us in our room and ask us if we want to have breakfast since they are going to clean it soon...service ;)

The hotel was great, but the location is poor. It's about 15 min walk to the beach and 15 min walk to the city center and the facts that the hotel was situate in a dark ally isnt helping at all when you're travelling with only girls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Sari

Address: Nyangnyang Sari St, No 7B, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Sari 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Sari provides comfortable and affordable accomodation and is located 10 minutes to the airport, Kuta Beach, Supermarket and various exotic restaurants and malls. It offers 30 well maintained and spacious rooms with a large swimming pool and perfect for short and long term staying guests. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, Hot & Cold Showers, International TV Channels, Wi-Fi and a large parking area. A very relaxing and a peaceful abode. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Pondok Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Sari Hotel Kuta
Pondok Sari Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.