We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one nighter!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Sari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pondok Sari to your Saves list
Pondok Sari
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Nyangnyang Sari St, No 7B, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 151 Kuta B&B and Inns
Geelong
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A one nighter!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Arrived from the airport early evening so got cab straight to hotel. Not far from airport but still too far to walk. Hotel hidden around the back of other shops, homes etc. Very dark room, with only one lamp in working order, which was just as well as it hid most of the broken, & dirty furniture & fittings. It was really not up to any standard. In the morning we noticed the pool was totally filthy & dark green so no chance of a swim! The words Repairs & Maintenance are obviously unknown in these parts. Breakfast was included which was at poolside, (overlooking the green pool) but quite nice with fresh fruit, toast & tea etc. Certainly a one night only but I am sure you will find better for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Pluses: if you book online thru accomodation booking sites, you can get pretty cheap price. The room has AC, hot water, TV and fridge.
Minuses: bad location far from the beach, close to the airport but it's hard to find, smelly, the fridge was really old -it's rusted everywhere, the AC was not very cold, The internet connection was not free.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I'll start off by saying the 5 reviewers below obviously had pretty high expectations of this place, with a bit of research you will easily find what type of hotel this is, what it's usefulness is and what you can expect. I expected a 2 star hotel (I don't know why it's listed as a B&B/Inn on Trip Advisor, it's not, it's just your normal hotel), and I got a 2 star hotel. We used this place as a stop over, a place to sleep, before our hotel transfer to a much more lavish place in Changu.

We paid $30 US for 2 nights, a hotel such as this never books out so leave your booking to the last few weeks when your due, not doing so will cost you an extra $15US a night if you book to far ahead via there website. We went during the peak season and I would say it wasn't even half full. It will also cost you 50,000 INR from the airport (way to much, should be around 30,000 INR) for a 10 minute drive to here.

We arrived at 1:00am and staff were still in the small lobby, check-in was smooth enough with someone who speaks very little English. They do not accept credit cards as payment, either US$ or INR will have to do, unusual since we reserved the room online with a credit card.

Our room, for one word, was pretty bad, a tad worse than I expected, but nothing to bad that we would leave. The floor tiles were heavily stained, the electrical wiring was dodgy, cracks in the walls, some of them huge! are some obvious things wrong with the room, but not that important.

What we wanted, we got, bottled water in the room, a flushing clean toilet, shower pressure with hot water and a large bed with no bed bugs (even thought it was rock solid, as well as the pillows and some of the sheet were stained we just pushed those ones aside)

There is no change of contracting legionnaires disease here, the functioning air cons are reverse cycle and work very well and are not noisy.

There is no mini bar, but soft drink, beer and snacks can be purchased in the lobby for very good prices.

Even though it is situated in a bit of a slum, the grounds themselves including the pool area, were pretty good, well I mean I would never go for a swim in their pool, but it looked very tempting, there was no green sludge as mentioned in other reviews. The reason I opted not to swim as I was unsure if the water had been properly treated and wasn't prepared to take that risk at the start of a holiday.

Breakfast is included with the room, and is located to the right of the lobby. No western style breakfast here, just Asian style, with rice, Mi-Goreng, chicken etc.

Staff were always friendly and helpful, no complaints there.

So to conclude, treat this place as it is, don't be a fool and book 10 days and expect a 5 star resort, treat it as just a place to stay, close to the airport, before you depart or after you arrive after a late flight, and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book only 30 days in advance, the price drops by $15US a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

hated it! didnt even stay one hour let alone one night, rooms dirty and smelly, mould everywhere blood stains on one set of bed sheets, one of our party was told she would have to come back and check in tomorrow despite having booked and paid for her room well in advance, the service was nonexistent there was no staff to speak of and the ones that were there didnt speak any english and just laughed constantly, they did not provide transfer even though we had arranged that and confirmed it the week before, the pool was full of algae and the hotel was in the middle of a little village there were no shops or restaurants around, definetly not worth the heartache you will end up spending more money on transport than you saved on the room

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Travelling with a large group of girls the first warning sign for this hotel was when our arranged transport by the hotel from the airport never showed and we had to arrange lifts with several taxis and the drivers just laughed when we told them where we were staying. The hotel is located in a slum neighbourhood down the dodgiest dirtiest little back alley. The rooms were dirty, tiny and stunk badly like mould. It looks nothing like the pictures showed and had nothing in them but two beds stained with what we are pretty sure was blood and a microwave. One of our party didn't even have her pre-booked room available and was informed she'd have to come back the next day when they had a manager on and laughed at. Needless to say, we found a lot safer accommodation else where, with a pool that wasn't growing and lovely staff. I wouldn't recommend this "hotel" to anyone.

Room Tip: Just stay else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Booked accommodation through Agoda.com. Photos looked great but should have researched it a little more. Arranged transfers with the Hotel for 11 people. Hotel failed to pick us up - 4 taxis later we arrived a the hotel in the middle of nowhere, down a back alley.
No reception staff to assist with our check in. People that were there seemed to be locals who lived in some of the rooms. Rooms were moldy and had a musky smell to them. One bed had dirt and what looked like blood stains on the sheets! There didn't appear to be anywhere to eat breakfast (which was supposed to be provided). Pool had algae growing in it and they looked as though they were trying to conduct reservations (They should be knocking it down and starting again!).Were unable to check in due to language barriers so moved ourselves to another hotel. Thank goodness.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

1. we paid for transfers - we never got picked up
2. blood stains on sheets
3. rude staff
4. no reception until the day after we arrived
5. one of our friends was told that she had to come back the next day when the receptionist was working and laughed at when she asked were she was to sleep that night.
6.all the rooms we had ( there was 12 people 6 rooms) smelt of mould
7. all rooms had visible mould.
8. pool had algae growing in it and was poorly tiled.
9. all room barely fit the bed in the room let alone 2 people and 2 suitcases
10. the staff spoke little to none english and just laughed at our misfortune
11. there was renovation work going on which they told us was starting at 6am everyday and going until 8pm every night right next to our rooms.
12. the paths we were suppose to walk on with our luggage were being paved so we had to walk through the garden.
13. none of the staff helped us take our baggage up the 3 staircases to our rooms. they just put the keys in the doors and basically let us find our own way.

Worst place i have ever been too in the middle of nowhere. Feared for my safety if i had stayed there. Luckily we went into Kuta and for an extra $10 per night stayed at the Barong Bali Hotel on Poppies 2.

Do not stay at this hotel!

(ps if you look up photos of this hotel they are not accurate they look like they were taken 20 years ago when the hotel was new)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Sari

Address: Nyangnyang Sari St, No 7B, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Sari 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Sari provides comfortable and affordable accomodation and is located 10 minutes to the airport, Kuta Beach, Supermarket and various exotic restaurants and malls. It offers 30 well maintained and spacious rooms with a large swimming pool and perfect for short and long term staying guests. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, Hot & Cold Showers, International TV Channels, Wi-Fi and a large parking area. A very relaxing and a peaceful abode. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Pondok Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Sari Hotel Kuta
Pondok Sari Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.