We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting - not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waroeng Tan Poh

Waroeng Tan Poh
Ji Legian No. 355 | Legian, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 466 Restaurants in Kuta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Description: 'Under the mango tree waroeng
Restaurant details
Description: 'Under the mango tree waroeng
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice setting - not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice setting on a side street with trees and lights strung around. Was very quiet when we ate there and service was good and quick.

Food was good if a little on the small side. Good value though and very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UnderTheStairs
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“.nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice enough little place. The location and surroundings are relatively pleasant. The food is fairly average. They do a good tempe dish, cut thinner than some and the hot sauce is pretty good. Average marks overall, you can get better for less just nearby so I certainly wasn't rushing back. Staff seemed bored core and disinterested, this is unusual for Bali.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world traveler
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice place if you are feeling peckish ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This small Indonesian style cafe is down a quiet side street just off Legian and near Benesari and Lebak Bene. The seating is mostly outdoors under the mango trees and some of the tables are under cover.. There is also a small indoor seating area but it has no atmosphere at all. The staff will thoughtfully give you some mosquito spray to use if you need it (I went there at night and did). My friend and I met there for dinner and we were the only customers at 9 pm. To be fair, it had been a rainy day so maybe that is why it was deserted. The waitress was attentive and handled our order well though we ordered in two different languages, English and Indonesian. She took our requests to reduce or eliminate spiciness and when our food came it was as we had wanted. For drinks we had iced ginger tea and mango juice which we both enjoyed. Neither was too sweet or overly loaded with sugar as happens frequently. We started with spring rolls which were cooked well and not greasy. My friend's pineapple fried rice was only "so-so" in her opinion but my Ayam Pelecing with water spinach and fried rice were delicious. The portions were quite large for the reasonable prices which are very good value for money. The one thing I will say is that we felt quite rushed and the waitresses cleared our plates and started closing down the cafe even though we were told the place stayed open til 11 pm.

It can be a little hard to find the entrance to the small street it is on off Legian. It is after Patih Jelantik and just before Cafe Etnik and there is a small sign but in the traffic chaos of Kuta it is easy to miss. There is plenty of parking for cars or bikes and the street is wide enough to drive on with ease. You can exit out the back way onto Lebak Bene to avoid the normal traffic tie ups.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasir Ris, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

We've been to Bali 4 times now and we visited this place on our 2nd Bali Trip. It was AMAZING...! All of us love it (except for the waiting time). Food and drinks are very cheap. On average, for 2A and 2C, will cost about IDR 200k to IDR 250k. (Abt SGD $30)

I still remember that it cost abt IDR 350k for 8 of us...!

Food was delicious but don't try the Fish and Chips cos I think they used Tuna Fish instead of the normal Dory/White fish.

Nasi Goreng (fried rice) was what we usually order. Drinks are cheap too. Do take note tho, this is open air dining tho they have seats inside, the mosquitos are a killer...! They provide repellants. Overall, we love this place to bits. Very peaceful and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipu, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This place does some very nice food at very good prices (no added tax). It's located in a quiet street just off Jl. Legian. There is indoor seating but most is outside. On the other side of the lane the food is cooked. They have live music a couple of nights a week. The staff are polite and friendly. They also have free wi-fi. It's my wife's and my favourite place in Kuta for lunch and dinner.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waroeng Tan Poh also viewed

 

Been to Waroeng Tan Poh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waroeng Tan Poh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.