We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Japanese Food Ever! OK if you like cream cheese and mayo!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge

Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge
Jalan Kartika Plaza | Complex Kuta Sidewalk, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361764100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 374 restaurants in Kuta
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy modern Japanese fusion and traditional cooking in cool comfort. Our chefs will pamper you with only the finest cuts of meat or fish and the freshest of ingredients. Watch our skilled chefs at the Teppanyaki tables prepare your meals. Whether it’s traditional, fusion, or sushi dishes, we have wines to match.
Ruffec, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Worst Japanese Food Ever! OK if you like cream cheese and mayo!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The welcome was great, reminiscent of Bumbu Bali (I apologise to Bumbu Bali for mentioning them in the same breath as this awful place) where the chefs call out as you enter the restaurant To cut to the chase, the complementary starter was a little tuna roll oozing mayonnaise, a sign of things to come...we should have walked at that stage. My husband's seafood salad was served first and I waited a good ten minutes for the shrimp dumplings as apparently the kitchen couldn't prepare the two dishes simultaneously. When the five dumplings arrived they were quite literally oozing water when bitten into and essentially tasteless. My husband's salad was so-so. My main course grilled calamari was rubbery and overcooked but the other main course of seared Tuna was quite nice. We had also ordered a crab rice dish which was again, tasteless and had two seriously over-cooked bits of crab on the side. We had 3 beers and the total was just under 400000 rupiah or around 30 euros. Quite expensive by Bali standards and this sad excuse for restaurant food is rather amusingly described as FUSION (variously mis-spelled as fussion and fushion but they seemed to mean fusion), fused with what we wonder? The waitress was very nice and apologetic but shared in our frustration and there was little she could do. Apart from the food being, in the main, dreadful, the music was strange, James Blunt, and an eclectic collection of elevator music. So, so sorry we stopped here when there were so many better, cheaper alternatives close by. Keep walking!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaRestaurantsBali, Marcomm at Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing in and sharing your displeasure. Of course, we will check up on what you have considered to be most unpleasant. My sincere apologies for your unfavourable dining experience. Our Chefs do call out as a Greeting to all who come.

Warmest regards from Rama Restaurants Bali. All about Food, Fun and Passion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    105
    36
    12
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place was fantastic. I don't eat a lot of seafood and most of the restaurant is seafood, however they did have some other options to choose from. Someone I travelled with had chicken, and myself and my fiance had beef. The food was amazing, and the layout of it was fantastic. They have chefs cooking meals right in front of you. We were 1 table away but could easily see and the chefs were such entertainers. They flipped food and did all sorts of fancy things. They got my dad out of his seat to try to catch some food in his mouth as they flicked it to him. They juggled an egg in the air and behind their back using food servers and it didn't break. They had someone at the table get up to do it (it broke on him though). These guy were professionals and just great. We ordered the banana fritter for dessert and they got us up to the table where they cooked meals and set it on fire. Anyway I could go on and on but it was just great. Oh and the cocktails tasted amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaRestaurantsBali, Marcomm at Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

That was one fun message to read. You seem to have enjoyed your dining experience there. Our Teppanyaki Chefs are great at showing off and dishing out high quality food at the same time. For non seafood diners our Cold Japanese Noodle dish is worth having. We hope to see you back soon.

Warmest regards from Rama Restaurants Bali. All about Food, Fun and Passion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

its the first time I,ve tried it and I loved it the chef was very funny and obviously loved his job...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaRestaurantsBali, Marcomm at Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I take it you had dinner at the Teppanyaki counter? Yes, our Chefs really love to make excellent meals and show off at the same time. That's about lovin' and doing your job at the same time. We are looking forward to your next visit. Come and try our superb sushi and sashimi.

Warmest regards from Rama Restaurants Bali. All about Food, Fun and Passion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Plenty to choose form but a tad expensive for Bali”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

really nice set up, wouldnt even know your in down town Kuta sitting in here, menu has plenty of options but is rather expensive,... pretty much what you'd expect to pay in australia you'll pay here,,, but again good quality food with good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaRestaurantsBali, Marcomm at Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing in and sharing your views with us. Our venue is cool comfort to match good quality food. People can come in form the heat and hustle & bustle to relax over good food. In the evening our Teppanyaki meal is another smashing alternative. Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Warmest regards from Rama Restaurants Bali. All about Food, Fun and Passion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tepanyaki show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great Tepanyaki show and delicious food, not very expensive. You can participate in cooking. Sushi and rolls are also very tasty

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamaRestaurantsBali, Marcomm at Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so glad to have read that your dining experience here was a great one. From the Teppanyaki show to delicious meals. Most of all we're satisfied to know that you found our prices just right. Our sushi and sashimi dishes are fabulous, too. Have a long, safe trip back home. And we hope to see you on your next vacation to Bali.

Warmest regards from Rama Restaurants Bali. All about Food, Fun and Passion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluefin Japanese Fusion and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.