We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in a busy part of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Un's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Un's Hotel
Save
You added Un's Hotel to your Saves list
Jl. Benesari no. 16, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 165 Kuta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sanctuary in a busy part of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

i have stayed at Un's on several occaisions in recent years and keep coming back.The rooms all have fab balcony's, great views over the garden to the pool.The restaurant is brilliant and so is the free breaky. All staff are on the ball ,knowledgeable, efficient and helpful.And have the elusive "common sense". I'd employ them myself. Close to everything and the famous beach...yet tucked away quietly on jl Benesari. As a business creature...the free & efficient Wi-Fi is very useful & appreciated.I will stay here again. Thanks to all at Un's...see you again soon.

Room Tip: All the room are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    53
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
40
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel has a good location. 5 minute walk to the surf and close to restaurants and massage shops. The balcony restaurant which is attached to Uns does a great Rendang and snapper. Also the margarita's are good value. The staff make you feel like family. It's well priced and I will have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Bring goggles for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The place is wicked, nice pool, nice people and the rooms were big and lovely. They had safes and the location was AMAZING and the balcony was our favourite place to eat and drink in the whole legian strip.
The only downside is the price, its just not worth the money.
Such a shame because its beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Un's Hotel a few times and recommend it for its boutique size, Bali feel (as opposed to resort feel), cleanliness and great location (away from the nightclubs but walking distance to just about everywhere!) A few tips, you can only book via email - google Un's Hotel Kuta to find address and request the quiet side away from the traffic! Traffic side very noisy, quiet side no probs!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Un's in one of the family bungalows. The hotel is split into two sides with the pool in the middle, office at one end and entrance at the other. The side of the hotel closest to the office would be fine for noise as it is further away from the lane way. However, our side in the family bungalow is right beside this very busy lane way. There was a small break in traffic between 3:30am and 5 but otherwise, the motorbike noise was so loud it sounded like they were coming through the 2nd floor master bedroom! My wife and I gave up and slept on the main floor for the second and third nights which was a bit better but not much. If you have ear plugs or sleep extremely soundly, maybe you won't have a problem. Otherwise, the location is perfect - 5 minutes walk from great surfing on Kuta Beach, lovely gardens, nice pool, excellent, friendly staff and a great restaurant, The Balcony. I'd definitely stay there again but on the side opposite the lane way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Running out of options we stayed here for two nights. We got the family room at the rate of a double room, which was still too much in our opinion. The room was spacious but also a little bit of run down - so far, so good. The missing but very necessary mosquito net and the weird smell (potatoes mixed with mold, mothballs and perhaps something dead?) were the real drawbacks. At a rate of almost 63 USD (yes I know, it's high-season...) the value drops pretty quickly. The smell didn't even go away after opening the main door and the one to the outdoor bathroom for hours. The strange scent balls hung up by the staff were useless if not as strange as the room's smell itself.

Speaking of the former: staff are "really nice". Or as long as they try to sell you anything, e.g. their brother's taxi-service, their cousins bike rental, just whatever. Nepotism to its perfection. Being bothered to death by the hotel staff to such an extent is really annoying - worse than the hawkers at the beach.

It's incomprehensible to see this place having so good rankings on Tripadvisor and being Lonely Planet's Top Choice. Just avoid.

Only good things: courtyard is nice and well kept and the nearby restaurant "The Balcony" serves really delicious food, which unfortunately comes with almost the same kind of hawkers as a side dish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Un’s Hotel is a clean, quiet place that is well-run. Breakfast upstairs at the Balcony restaurant is substantial enough and in a fun place, being surfer-bar themed. The hotel has a nice pool and the upgraded room was large, if not well-lit. The bathroom was large and satisfactory, although it was not part of the air-conditioned room. This is common in Bali, and one needs to place the “door bar” on when leaving. The location is fine, just a few minutes walk from the beach, far enough from the Poppies craziness to feel like a haven, and near enough to the action that it wasn’t hard to get there. It is not super fancy, but then neither is the price. I recommend it wholeheartedly, in part because the staff was very nice and the grounds and pool were well-kept.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#21 of 194 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#14 of 194 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#3 of 194 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Un's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un's Hotel

Address: Jl. Benesari no. 16, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Un's Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Un's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.