We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoying staff, smelly and expensive room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Un's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Un's Hotel
Save Saved
You added Un's Hotel to your Saves list
Jl. Benesari no. 16, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 150 Kuta B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Annoying staff, smelly and expensive room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Running out of options we stayed here for two nights. We got the family room at the rate of a double room, which was still too much in our opinion. The room was spacious but also a little bit of run down - so far, so good. The missing but very necessary mosquito net and the weird smell (potatoes mixed with mold, mothballs and perhaps something dead?) were the real drawbacks. At a rate of almost 63 USD (yes I know, it's high-season...) the value drops pretty quickly. The smell didn't even go away after opening the main door and the one to the outdoor bathroom for hours. The strange scent balls hung up by the staff were useless if not as strange as the room's smell itself.

Speaking of the former: staff are "really nice". Or as long as they try to sell you anything, e.g. their brother's taxi-service, their cousins bike rental, just whatever. Nepotism to its perfection. Being bothered to death by the hotel staff to such an extent is really annoying - worse than the hawkers at the beach.

It's incomprehensible to see this place having so good rankings on Tripadvisor and being Lonely Planet's Top Choice. Just avoid.

Only good things: courtyard is nice and well kept and the nearby restaurant "The Balcony" serves really delicious food, which unfortunately comes with almost the same kind of hawkers as a side dish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
33
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Un’s Hotel is a clean, quiet place that is well-run. Breakfast upstairs at the Balcony restaurant is substantial enough and in a fun place, being surfer-bar themed. The hotel has a nice pool and the upgraded room was large, if not well-lit. The bathroom was large and satisfactory, although it was not part of the air-conditioned room. This is common in Bali, and one needs to place the “door bar” on when leaving. The location is fine, just a few minutes walk from the beach, far enough from the Poppies craziness to feel like a haven, and near enough to the action that it wasn’t hard to get there. It is not super fancy, but then neither is the price. I recommend it wholeheartedly, in part because the staff was very nice and the grounds and pool were well-kept.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would firstly like to outline the Pro's and Con's.

Pro's
1. Nice Breakfast
2. Good Pool Area
3. Outside area well kept
4. Air Conditioning worked well

Con's
1. Dark
2. Damp
3. Doors did not close very securely
4. Staff were too pushy about transport
5. Room not cleaned properly
6. Very poorly lit area, and narrow road for walking back at night
7. Noise right outside our room for 2 nights
8. Outdoor Bathroom!

This review is based on Room 2 which is considered a family room, we stayed for 3 nights- $54.50USD per night.

My partner and I picked Un's Hotel based on the Lonely Planets guide and the good reviews here.
We were coming from Sanur, our driver found the area easily but it was hard to determine where the entrance was as it was up a narrow road.
We went straight to reception to get our room. We were warmly greeted there and were passed over to someone else to take us to our room. The guy took us to the room and said he was also a driver and we advised we were going to Ubud next, he kept telling us what his best price would be, as if we didn't get enough hassle on the roads from drivers!!
We later realised this guy was also cleaning the rooms, and every time we saw him he kept asking when were we going to Ubud and saying he'd take us.

Our room smelled funny, poorly lit and not clean. We were not given any towels or toilet paper on the first and third day. There was a pair of contact lenses stuck to the mirror for the duration of our stay! The furniture was old and smelly inside.. the bed was comfortable but the sheets felt damp. there was also one other double bed in the room.
The bathroom is an outdoors style bathroom which we were not used to. The toilet was horrible (see pictures) the whole place needed a good scrub!
The doors were locked with a large pad-lock but you could still push in the doors and see inside.
On the second morning while eating breakfast we were approached by a different member of staff saying he was also a driver and he would take us to Ubud.

We had a loud buzzing noise outside our room for two nights, nobody knew what it was, nothing was done about it while we were there.

However, the outside area was kept well at all times. The pool area was nice. The breakfast was really good a great variety and tasted well. Our air conditioning kept us cool which is just what we needed.

Room Tip: Don't get room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had not been to Bali for many years as we were put off by (the still ongoing ) over development of what was our favourite destination. However we tried it again this year and though still disappointed with the island's seemingly mad rush to loose its' very soul, Uns was still the lovely place it always was. The only changes were for the better and we think it is now being run by the family's daughter. Her attention to detail along with Putu and Nyoman from the old days, sweep the place spotless and the flowers are still put out on the balconies. Though it breaks our hearts to see Bali becoming more and more a loud traffic jammed party playground and adjusting its values to accommodate the yahoo element we hope that in the end the Uns type of atmosphere will continue to change Bali back to the island of the Gods

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I picked this place after reading the recommendation out of a travel guidebook. It was my first night in kuta so I didn't want to be roaming the streets looking for a hotel. I liked the traditional feel of the place, the grounds were beautiful, and breakfast was yummy. I didn't like how dark the room was and the outdoor bathroom was a bit dank. The service didn't WOW me like is has in other places in Bali. I would likely not stay here again given the other options available in the area. It was very overpriced for low season.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed 3 nights. Its strategic as it is located in Kuta town. During free time without activity, we just can walk around the Kuta street conveniently. Everything is nearby. Delicious breakfast provided with the room. Room very spacious. We stayed in family room. People very friendly. They would even plan activities if do not have planned activities. Clean and a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: If your are 4/5 people, take the family room. Its cheap. Only around 800K Rupiah. If more people, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed ay Un's many times. Both as a couple and as a family. It has everything that you need for a great stay and is located close to dozens of eating places and close to the beach.
It has a restaurant called the Balcony. They do a great breakfast and the dinners are very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Un's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un's Hotel

Address: Jl. Benesari no. 16, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Also Known As:
Un's Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Un's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.